You are not logged in.

#1 2012-07-30 19:49:06

maevius
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2009-09-10
Posts: 135
Website

Anyone tried Gitlab on Arch?

For those unfamiliar with, gitlab [0] is a web interface for git, based on gitolite [1] and written in rails.

Official install guide is here [2], and so far I've written this script [3] based on the instructions for debian. The problem is that I got stuck at

bundle exec rake gitlab:app:setup RAILS_ENV=production

where the error is exactly the same as described in googlegroups[4]. This guy solved it by installing python-dev, but our python ships with headers included.

Any thoughts?

[0] http://gitlabhq.com/
[1] https://github.com/sitaramc/gitolite
[2] https://github.com/gitlabhq/gitlabhq/bl … llation.md
[3] https://gist.github.com/3187409
[4] https://groups.google.com/forum/?fromgr … WeSKPT40wJ

Offline

#2 2012-08-08 23:39:55

billyburly
Member
Registered: 2011-08-27
Posts: 8

Re: Anyone tried Gitlab on Arch?

I finally got it working, here are some of the changes I made.

Change line 7 in ~/.bundler/ruby/1.9.1/pygments.rb-2cada028da50/lib/pygments/ffi.rb (the pygments.rb directory might be a little different, I'm not sure)

def start(pygments_path = nil, opts = {})

to:

def start(pygments_path = nil, opts = {:python_exe => 'python2.7'})

Install and start redis.

pacman -S redis
rc.d start redis

Add redis to rc.conf if you want it starting automatically on boot.

If you installed gitolite following the Arch wiki, change the repo path in gitlab.yaml to match your path.
config/gitlab.yaml:35

  base_path: /srv/git/repositories/

Set the UMASK variable in /srv/git/.gitolite.rc to 0007, its on line 21.

References:
http://howto.basjes.nl/linux/installing … n-centos-6
https://github.com/gitlabhq/gitlabhq/bl … llation.md
http://stackoverflow.com/questions/7086 … 99#7103499

Offline

#3 2012-08-22 14:51:47

maevius
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2009-09-10
Posts: 135
Website

Re: Anyone tried Gitlab on Arch?

Thanks! It worked fine so far. I haven't yet succeeded to run it with apache or nginx. Have you tried the init script, does it work?
I started crafting a wiki entry. It's still in beta fase but I'll get there smile

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB