You are not logged in.

#1 2005-09-28 07:21:55

sudman1
Member
From: Huntingdon, UK
Registered: 2005-02-18
Posts: 143

Memory not recognized correctly on boot

Okay, I have 2 sticks of memory in my main computer: 1G and 512M. On boot, the BIOS says I only have 1G. I've heard that you can't mix the size of mem modules so I removed the 512M stick, but then the system says I only have 512M mem installed! Sensors sees the 1G stick.
I tried passing mem=1536M to the kernel, but free still shows only 1G.

Anyone have any ideas on why this might be?


v/r
Suds

Offline

#2 2005-09-28 11:30:10

T-Dawg
Forum Fellow
From: Wilmington, NC
Registered: 2005-01-29
Posts: 2,734

Re: Memory not recognized correctly on boot

Did you look at your MB manual? Usually they're very picky about how much of what at certain frequencies go in certain banks.
Mine will only except sticks at 400mhz only in bank one, anything else will be rejected. That avatar rocks.

Offline

#3 2005-09-28 12:20:00

ghostwalker
Member
From: Tacoma, WA
Registered: 2004-07-28
Posts: 140

Re: Memory not recognized correctly on boot

In all likelyhood your kernel does not have 'high memory' support with the '4gb' enabled to recongnise the 1.5gb of memory. Just recompile your kernel with those options enabled.


P4 2.8Ghz @ 2.8Ghz SL6WT
Zalman CNPS7000-Cu
865PE Neo-2 LS BIOs 2.4
512mb Mushkin Level II
160GB Maxtor HD
Geforce 4 440MX
Antec 3700 1 exhaust and 1 intake fans
Linux 2.6.x
Linux user 314187
ArchLinux

Offline

#4 2005-09-28 13:31:13

sudman1
Member
From: Huntingdon, UK
Registered: 2005-02-18
Posts: 143

Re: Memory not recognized correctly on boot

Ghostwalker, the problem is that not only linux, but also the BIOS is detecting 1G. But I just assumed that Arch's default kernel would have High Memory enebled anyway.

Penguin, I just looked at my MB manual and it's good on my PC2700 RAM and says it takes up to 1G per stick, so that should be good.

Maybe I'll swap out all the memory with another system and see what happens.


v/r
Suds

Offline

#5 2005-09-28 15:26:01

ghostwalker
Member
From: Tacoma, WA
Registered: 2004-07-28
Posts: 140

Re: Memory not recognized correctly on boot

Is the memory the same manufacture? and CAS Latency?


P4 2.8Ghz @ 2.8Ghz SL6WT
Zalman CNPS7000-Cu
865PE Neo-2 LS BIOs 2.4
512mb Mushkin Level II
160GB Maxtor HD
Geforce 4 440MX
Antec 3700 1 exhaust and 1 intake fans
Linux 2.6.x
Linux user 314187
ArchLinux

Offline

#6 2005-09-29 06:47:58

sudman1
Member
From: Huntingdon, UK
Registered: 2005-02-18
Posts: 143

Re: Memory not recognized correctly on boot

Not the same manufacturer - I'm not sure of the CAS latency. But even if that were an issue, why would it see a single 1G module as 512M when there's only 1 stick in the banks?


v/r
Suds

Offline

#7 2005-09-29 07:38:56

ghostwalker
Member
From: Tacoma, WA
Registered: 2004-07-28
Posts: 140

Re: Memory not recognized correctly on boot

What is brand/company of the M/B and BIO's #. What is brand/company name of that 1gb stick of ram? Also what is the voltage set to in you BIO's for the ram. If it adjustable try bumping it upto 1.75+- .25.

Walt


P4 2.8Ghz @ 2.8Ghz SL6WT
Zalman CNPS7000-Cu
865PE Neo-2 LS BIOs 2.4
512mb Mushkin Level II
160GB Maxtor HD
Geforce 4 440MX
Antec 3700 1 exhaust and 1 intake fans
Linux 2.6.x
Linux user 314187
ArchLinux

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB