You are not logged in.

#1 2012-08-30 22:41:47

OpenBSD
Member
Registered: 2009-02-04
Posts: 43

tp_smapi and stock kernel - not working

sudo modprobe tp_smapi
Password: 
ERROR: could not insert 'tp_smapi': No such device or address
pacman -Ql linux tp_smapi
local/linux 3.5.3-1 (base)
    The linux kernel and modules
local/tp_smapi 0.41-5
    Modules for ThinkPad's SMAPI functionality
$ cat /etc/modules-load.d/tp_smapi.conf
tp_smapi
systemctl list-units
systemd-...s-load.service loaded failed failed        Load Kernel Modules

Any ideas?
Previous AUR tp_smapi was working fine.

Thanks in advance.

Offline

#2 2012-08-31 16:54:18

teateawhy
Member
From: GER
Registered: 2012-03-05
Posts: 1,045
Website

Re: tp_smapi and stock kernel - not working

I wonder what the update in July was about, there has not been any commit on github since 10 months to tp_smapi.
Edit: Sorry, it was not an update but the first time it was included in the repos, so there should not be a difference between aur and repo version.

Last edited by teateawhy (2012-08-31 17:01:03)

Offline

#3 2012-09-02 11:57:18

Firestone
Member
From: Amsterdam
Registered: 2009-07-26
Posts: 20

Re: tp_smapi and stock kernel - not working

I cannot provide a solution, unfortunately, but I can limit the problem to your own Thinkpad or config as it works fine here with the stock kernel. Note that I am not using systemd, so you might want to look at that first.

Some info that might help(T60):

$ uname -a
Linux Host 3.5.3-1-ARCH #1 SMP PREEMPT Sun Aug 26 08:15:06 UTC 2012 i686 GNU/Linux

$ pacman -Qs tp_smapi
local/tp_smapi 0.41-5
    Modules for ThinkPad's SMAPI functionality

$ lsmod | grep tp_smapi
tp_smapi               15700  0 
thinkpad_ec             4339  2 hdaps,tp_smapi

Offline

#4 2012-12-04 14:37:43

joksnet
Member
From: Paris, France
Registered: 2010-11-21
Posts: 5

Re: tp_smapi and stock kernel - not working

I have the same problem. I'm using a ThinkPad X200 and when I didn't have systemd everything worked fine.

In the wiki for the T420 says:

When using systemd, you may want to blacklist the tp_smapi module if your systemd-modules-load.service fails, as new ThinkPads handle everything over acpi.

Is this true for "not that new" ThinkPads?


Juan Manuel

Offline

#5 2012-12-04 14:55:46

joksnet
Member
From: Paris, France
Registered: 2010-11-21
Posts: 5

Re: tp_smapi and stock kernel - not working

Found.

The module tp_smapi didn't work because the thinkpad_ec wasn't load. I just force it:

% cat /etc/modprobe.d/modprobe.conf
# Force thinkpad_ec
options thinkpad_ec force_io=1

Hope it helps.


Juan Manuel

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB