You are not logged in.

#1 2012-09-07 21:12:11

Freierfall
Member
Registered: 2012-09-07
Posts: 5

[SOLVED] Pacstrap fails retrieving *any* file...

Hi guys; I'm new here & kind of ashamed to open a thread because of the probably real stupid error I get.
(Yes, I read the wiki and searched inside the forum&google.)
I trying to install Arch in a Virtualbox VM; but I can't get past the initial pacstrap.

All I get is:
http://i.minus.com/igwm6vXdLZqPE.jpg
http://i.minus.com/iGEBrUyZ3JoxH.jpg

It always stops at about 88-90%.

Network is working (at least pinging google etc.)
I tried changing the mirror list (one of the mirrors is just 1km away and probably in the same university network as me... -.-)
Manually downloading the databases via wget (found links somewhere here...) so the "warning: database file does not exist" error stopped coming, but that was the only thing that changed.

I'm real perplexed about what's wrong. I'd be glad if you helped me^^



edit: Sorry about the images.
-- mod edit: read the Forum Etiquette and only post thumbnails http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/For … s_and_Code [jwr] --

Last edited by Freierfall (2012-09-08 09:50:29)

Offline

#2 2012-09-07 21:21:26

DSpider
Member
From: Romania
Registered: 2009-08-23
Posts: 2,273

Re: [SOLVED] Pacstrap fails retrieving *any* file...

Try:

# pacman -Syy

"How to Succeed with Linux"

I have made a personal commitment not to reply in topics that start with a lowercase letter. Proper grammar and punctuation is a sign of respect, and if you do not show any, you will NOT receive any help (at least not from me).

Offline

#3 2012-09-07 21:28:06

Freierfall
Member
Registered: 2012-09-07
Posts: 5

Re: [SOLVED] Pacstrap fails retrieving *any* file...

Oh, I forgot to mention that. Tried that, exactly same output.  fetching core.db seems succesfull, extra.db and community.db -> operation too slow and error.
with the --debug option:

http://i.minus.com/icOplpXGSDvVW.jpg


-- see above comment re image sizes...

Last edited by jasonwryan (2012-09-07 21:29:18)

Offline

#4 2012-09-07 21:30:05

jasonwryan
Forum & Wiki Admin
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 18,831
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Pacstrap fails retrieving *any* file...

Try using http mirrors...


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Github

Registered Linux User #482438

Offline

#5 2012-09-07 21:31:15

Freierfall
Member
Registered: 2012-09-07
Posts: 5

Re: [SOLVED] Pacstrap fails retrieving *any* file...

done this, generated new mirror list from the mirror generation tool in the wiki; saying I just want http mirrors. nothing changed.

edit: sorry about the pictures; haven't seen that. and can't copy-paste from the window right now.

Last edited by Freierfall (2012-09-07 21:54:12)

Offline

#6 2012-09-08 06:03:35

DSpider
Member
From: Romania
Registered: 2009-08-23
Posts: 2,273

Re: [SOLVED] Pacstrap fails retrieving *any* file...

Set VirtualBox to use NAT (which is the default).

Settings - Network - Adapter 1 - NAT (don't go poking into Advanced).


"How to Succeed with Linux"

I have made a personal commitment not to reply in topics that start with a lowercase letter. Proper grammar and punctuation is a sign of respect, and if you do not show any, you will NOT receive any help (at least not from me).

Offline

#7 2012-09-08 07:19:17

Freierfall
Member
Registered: 2012-09-07
Posts: 5

Re: [SOLVED] Pacstrap fails retrieving *any* file...

That was already the chosen option sad I've never changed anything there.
Last night I also thought that may have to do something withe a misconfiguration of Virtualbox, so i downloaded the trial version of parallels, nothing changed.
Err.. the only factor that hasn't changed is my network here. But I've never mentioned any problems with it in regular use; and It seems that syncing of the core-pacage has no such problems?

Offline

#8 2012-09-08 09:49:05

Freierfall
Member
Registered: 2012-09-07
Posts: 5

Re: [SOLVED] Pacstrap fails retrieving *any* file...

Ok. After some more messing arround (I've just selected the mirror that is inside my universitys network; but I have tried this before(!)), and now connecting my machine via ethernet instead of wifi it seems to work. I've no idea what the problem was, but anyway, thanks for the help.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB