You are not logged in.

#901 2012-09-04 20:14:06

Shinryuu
Member
From: 俺のコスモス
Registered: 2010-02-27
Posts: 338

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

Yeah I tried that out, also I deleted Medit's settings today. Took a while to find out where that window was, it seems it went really far to the right. Now everything's working.. mhh it's also possible I did use medit when I tried xinerama branch (a long time ago out) and it saved the position so it went off-screen.

Thanks for the useful info.

Last edited by Shinryuu (2012-09-04 20:15:32)

Offline

#902 2012-09-04 23:35:31

c00kiemon5ter
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2010-06-01
Posts: 562
Website

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

It is weird to do that though, I will probably open a bug report, asking
to place the open-window somewhere relative to the main-window.


.:[ git me! ] :.

Offline

#903 2012-09-08 18:54:51

Šaran
Member
From: Bosnia
Registered: 2011-09-03
Posts: 407

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

How do I bind script in config.h?
Following code does nothing.

static const char *synapticscmd[]   = { "sh", "$HOME/bin/toogle_synaptics", NULL };
...
{  0,     XF86XK_Tools,             spawn,             {.com = synapticscmd}},

Script is supposed to toogle touchpad on/off and works just fine when run from terminal or dmenu.

Offline

#904 2012-09-08 20:51:27

null
Member
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 283

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

If $HOME/bin is in your $PATH

 static const char *synapticscmd[] = { "toggle_synaptics", NULL }; 

should be sufficient.

If not, maybe it's the $HOME. Try using your username or getenv("HOME") (3) from stdlib.h

Last edited by null (2012-09-08 20:53:01)


⚑★⚓ my dotfile repo ⚓★⚑

Offline

#905 2012-09-09 00:19:37

kuraku
Member
From: planet Earth
Registered: 2012-01-03
Posts: 199

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

kuraku wrote:

Can someone, please, take a little test with wine working under monsterwm? I Noticed that some apps are really messing up with window numbers. In short: they are creating a bunch of windows and they are making clutter on workspaces. I will have to retest using gnome/kde to see what the problem might be.

So far i tried only one VB programm and there was no glitches. I also tried Progress Quest and there are issues with "explorer.exe /desktop" process that shows empty space as tiled window. You cant really get wm name from that client since it is not really present there. Let me share one sshot with you:
http://i.imgur.com/1gHB9.png

Notice the black square at the bottom of screen. That must be explorer.exe trying to show desktop yikes)

Offline

#906 2012-09-09 09:29:41

Šaran
Member
From: Bosnia
Registered: 2011-09-03
Posts: 407

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

null wrote:

If $HOME/bin is in your $PATH

 static const char *synapticscmd[] = { "toggle_synaptics", NULL }; 

should be sufficient.

If not, maybe it's the $HOME. Try using your username or getenv("HOME") (3) from stdlib.h

I have already tried that, but it doesn't work - not even with full path.

Offline

#907 2012-09-09 09:34:34

c00kiemon5ter
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2010-06-01
Posts: 562
Website

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

you probably need 'sh -c cmd' so


static const char *synapticscmd[]   = { "/bin/sh", "-c", "$HOME/bin/toogle_synaptics", NULL };

.:[ git me! ] :.

Offline

#908 2012-09-09 09:46:13

Šaran
Member
From: Bosnia
Registered: 2011-09-03
Posts: 407

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

It works with sh -c, but not on XF86XK_Tools (reported by xev).
Even though all these work:

    {  0,     XF86XK_Calculator,        spawn,             {.com = calculatorcmd}},
    {  0,     XF86XK_AudioLowerVolume,  spawn,             {.com = voldcmd}},
    {  0,     XF86XK_AudioMute,         spawn,             {.com = volmcmd}},
    {  0,     XF86XK_AudioRaiseVolume,  spawn,             {.com = volucmd}},
    {  0,     XF86XK_KbdBrightnessUp,   spawn,             {.com = kbdlightup}},
    {  0,     XF86XK_KbdBrightnessDown, spawn,             {.com = kbdlightdown}},

Is there any other way to define key?

Offline

#909 2012-09-09 12:16:36

robstwd
Member
From: Brisbane
Registered: 2010-10-31
Posts: 32

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

Check out the list of key codes in /usr/include/X11/XF86keysym.h for the tools key - mine has 0x1008FF81. I have used this to keybind my keyboard's tools key to a specific command; as so

{  0,       0x1008FF81,      spawn,      {.com = ncmpcppcmd}},

I reckon give that a try.
btw, found this in the wiki page on Extra keyboard keys in xorg.

Offline

#910 2012-09-09 12:36:25

Šaran
Member
From: Bosnia
Registered: 2011-09-03
Posts: 407

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

It doesn't work. I guess something is broken. big_smile

Offline

#911 2012-09-11 12:16:39

Ypnose
Member
From: Jailed in the shell
Registered: 2011-04-21
Posts: 353
Website

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

This is similar to my previous post:
https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php … 4#p1141914

I didn't solve it. I gave up.


Github -- My terminal font Envypn

Offline

#912 2012-09-13 06:26:57

maevius
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2009-09-10
Posts: 134
Website

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

Šaran wrote:

It doesn't work. I guess something is broken. big_smile

Have you tried xbinkeys?

Btw, I switched from xmonad and I'm loving it so far smile
Maybe it's already answered previously, but how do I spawn urxvt as a scratchpad?

Offline

#913 2012-09-13 17:36:29

c00kiemon5ter
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2010-06-01
Posts: 562
Website

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

I created this (posix/sh) script to make a scratchpad available.
It depends on xdotool, but should work with any terminal that allows to set the instance name.

Setup for the script (optional if you specify full path below):

1. add it to your PATH,
2. preferably make it executable

Setup for monsterwm:

update to the latest version on git pushed today
edit config.h and

1. add a scratchpad rule on the 'rules[]' array

    { "scratchpad",   -1,   -1,   False,   True  }, 

2. add a new command -- if you specify full path to scratchpad.sh it doesn't have to be executable.

static const char *dropterm[] = { "/bin/sh", "-c", "scratchpad.sh", NULL }; 

3. add a keybind

    {  MOD1,             XK_grave,      spawn,             {.com = dropterm}}, 

and that's it. now using ' Alt+` ' brings up a terminal, floating and centered.
the same combination hides the terminal keeping its state.
If one exits that terminal (ie presses 'Ctrl+d') the terminal is closed and the state
is lost, but the same combination will bring up a new terminal when pressed again.

---------------

on other news I fixed a small bug for xinerama-* branches
that would cause a window that was set to be followed and spawn on the
current active desktop of a non-focused terminal to not be followed.

I've been kindof busy lately, also seeking a job cause things in Greece are generally bad..

My todo for mosnterwm is two things mainly:
1. better follow mouse behavior, which is tricky
2. automatic setup of new plugged in/out screens for xinerama-* branches (probably a patch first)

If I've missed something important please remind me smile

Also, some issues with empty/transparent windows that, iirc kurarku reported, when using
wine, should be fixed now - not tested but the latest changes, fix "withdrawn" windows.

Last edited by c00kiemon5ter (2012-09-13 17:46:49)


.:[ git me! ] :.

Offline

#914 2012-09-13 18:17:40

Cloudef
Member
Registered: 2010-10-12
Posts: 636

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

Yay for bug fixes, I should update my ancient fork again.

I've been kindof busy lately, also seeking a job cause things in Greece are generally bad..

Good luck for that.

Offline

#915 2012-09-13 20:34:07

Shinryuu
Member
From: 俺のコスモス
Registered: 2010-02-27
Posts: 338

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

There's something really silly going on.. everytime I switch to different desktop my windows and applications disappears (the most interesting part is that they are still there but I cannot bring them back.. oh well it's possible to bring pidgin back)

This is not a monsterwm's issue but part of scratchpad script. When I invoke "urxvt -name whatever" command, it doesn't read .Xresources file. Why's that?

Also thanks for the updates cool

Last edited by Shinryuu (2012-09-13 20:41:51)

Offline

#916 2012-09-13 21:04:39

c00kiemon5ter
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2010-06-01
Posts: 562
Website

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

mhm, right tongue How did I miss that tongue
will fix it asap


.:[ git me! ] :.

Offline

#917 2012-09-13 21:32:26

Shinryuu
Member
From: 俺のコスモス
Registered: 2010-02-27
Posts: 338

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

Hehe, sometimes coding kicks yer balls! cool

Note about urxvt behaviour (this might help someone)

I figured out that urxvt won't honor it's settings pretty well if you have "URxvt/urxvt*youroption" in your .Xresources.

Doesn't honor when "scratchpad" or "urxvt -name whatever" command is used

urxvt*termName: screen-256color
urxvt*scrollBar: false
urxvt*font: -*-terminusmodx-medium-r-normal-*-12-*-*-*-*-*-*-*

This works if you remove urxvt's before "*", but there might be a possibility that something breaks

*termName: screen-256color
*scrollBar: false
*font: -*-terminusmodx-medium-r-normal-*-12-*-*-*-*-*-*-*

So it seems commands such as "urxvt -name" overwrites the original configuration partially which is kinda weird.

Last edited by Shinryuu (2012-09-14 00:17:42)

Offline

#918 2012-09-14 03:37:37

c00kiemon5ter
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2010-06-01
Posts: 562
Website

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

fixed and pushed some (many) changes smile

There is a change on the config.def.h that you need to add to your personal config.h
I added a new configuration option

#define FOCUS_BUTTON    Button3   /* mouse button to be used along with CLICK_TO_FOCUS */

This sets the mouse button that when pressed and if CLICK_TO_FOCUS is True then the window is focused.
The reason for this is that clicking to focus windows maybe useful sometimes,
but I still like being able to use button 1 and not focus windows.
As I've explained before, that behaviour allows one to surf the web, select/copy stuff, click on buttons etc
without losing focus of the current window (ie an irc session).
Before the default and hardcoded button to use with CLICK_TO_FOCUS was Button1, by default now
it is Button3, but it is also configurable, so you can get the old behaviour back (just set it to Button1).

Other changes are
- Windows are not hidden anymore as they used to, but instead they are dragged outside the screen space
  (also updated all the patches to match this new behaviour)
- There should be no empty windows ever now, except if the application actually wants to have an empty window.
- Some code refactoring, simplifications and shortcuts -- (core is 525loc)


I hope everything is working good big_smile
I suggest making a backup of the current executable, in case problems occur, because
I will be missing till Wednesday (except if I manage to get access to the web somehow)
I tested as time allowed, but I need to rest (it's 6.35am dammit tongue).
If you report any bugs early today, I may be able to fix them in midday.

-------

about the ~/.Xdefaults , ~/.Xresources settings:
a setting in those files can match
- everything ('*') -- example: *font: -foo-bar-*-*-...
- the application's class -- example: URxvt.font: -foo-bar-*-*-...
- the application's instance name -- example: urxvt.font: -foo-bar-*-*-...
- a combination -- example: urxvt*font: -foo-bar-*-*-...

One most probably wants to use the class matcher (URxvt.font: -foo-bar-*-*-...),
or the class-everything matcher (URxvt*font: -foo-bar-*-*-....)
That way settings are applied to the application class, and not the instance,
so changing the name of the application won't change its settings.

this also allows for [GAH, I was just bitten by a mosquito] special customization based on the application name.
so, using the above script, you can have separate settings for the urxvt named 'scratchpad' with:
scratchpad.font: -foo-bar-*-*-....

Just to be clear, this is not specific to urxvt. This applies to all applications that can be
configured through .Xdefaults/.Xresources and allow to change their instance name.

To get the instance name(first) and class(second) of an application try:

 xprop WM_CLASS 

and click on the application window.

Last edited by c00kiemon5ter (2012-09-14 03:49:18)


.:[ git me! ] :.

Offline

#919 2012-09-14 10:32:10

Šaran
Member
From: Bosnia
Registered: 2011-09-03
Posts: 407

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

maevius wrote:

Have you tried xbinkeys?

Btw, I switched from xmonad and I'm loving it so far smile
Maybe it's already answered previously, but how do I spawn urxvt as a scratchpad?

I don't want any additional programs for what mwm can already do. One non-functional key is not a big deal.

And scratchpad is great! I just realised how much I missed it. smile

Offline

#920 2012-09-14 12:53:29

c00kiemon5ter
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2010-06-01
Posts: 562
Website

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

I spotted a bug! tongue
when changing desktops, floating clients will not be shown (unless you tile them)
I will try to fix this before I leave ..


.:[ git me! ] :.

Offline

#921 2012-09-14 13:13:23

dnuux
Member
Registered: 2012-07-22
Posts: 17

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

c00kiemon5ter wrote:

I spotted a bug! tongue
when changing desktops, floating clients will not be shown (unless you tile them)
I will try to fix this before I leave ..

Seems that also clients that are spawned to other desktop than the current aren't shown when changing to that desktop.

Offline

#922 2012-09-14 13:23:11

c00kiemon5ter
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2010-06-01
Posts: 562
Website

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

yep, it's all related.
I dont think I'll have the time to push the fix hmm
I will be back on Wednesday and fix it then most probably


.:[ git me! ] :.

Offline

#923 2012-09-14 13:45:27

maevius
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2009-09-10
Posts: 134
Website

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

Thanks for the scratchpad, I'll test it asap smile

Offline

#924 2012-09-15 18:22:03

Šaran
Member
From: Bosnia
Registered: 2011-09-03
Posts: 407

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

Bugs!
1. gtk-youtube-viewer spawns mplayer in floating fullscreen, even if mplayer is set not to float in config.h.
2. That same mplayer can't be tiled.
3. If I'm on some other workspace, windows from mplayer's workspace will be shown when song ends and it gets killed.

Offline

#925 2012-09-15 19:45:05

topcat-software
Member
Registered: 2011-12-17
Posts: 20
Website

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

With git-hub commit 1d36523800:

When default mode is GRID (compiled in config.h), & I open a few xterms, then attempt to move (using mod + mouse) the first xterm opened, & after moving the others, a seg-fault always occurs...

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB