You are not logged in.

#401 2012-07-03 12:08:10

skanky
Member
From: WAIS
Registered: 2009-10-23
Posts: 1,841

Re: Scrotwm / Spectrwm

Thanks keenerd. Just waiting for the repos to update.

* Fix status bar flicker by double-buffering the output.
* Add horizontal_flip and vertical_flip layout options.
* Kill references before focusing on a new window.
* Add new options to change focus behavior on window open and close.
* Increase workspace hard limit to 22.
* Tons of wart removals

EDIT: updated, and bar_format is nice. About all the customisation I'd want to do.

Last edited by skanky (2012-07-03 13:45:52)


"...one cannot be angry when one looks at a penguin."  - John Ruskin
"Life in general is a bit shit, and so too is the internet. And that's all there is." - scepticisle

Offline

#402 2012-07-21 07:34:33

Pyxir
Member
Registered: 2010-08-04
Posts: 11

Re: Scrotwm / Spectrwm

@keenerd: Thanks for the hint, just updated and everything is fine.

Offline

#403 2012-08-02 17:35:17

OU812
Member
Registered: 2009-11-19
Posts: 47

Re: Scrotwm / Spectrwm

Hello.

I installed spectrwm on my netbook using the wiki; i.e., I followed the wiki for adding spectrwm to slim, copying spectrwm.conf to ~/, editing .conf so that bar action and bar delay were enabled, and set up conky using the supplied config. The only other edit I made was to set lxterminal for the terminal program. It works well and I'm happy with it.

Then I did the same things on my desktop. It doesn't work - at least not immediately. After logging into spectrwm from slim, feh sets the background image (done in .xinitrc same as on my netbook) and the status bar appears along the top. After a 5 second delay, conky pipes info into the status bar. The keyboard seems frozen. But if I press the power button on my tower, the keyboard becomes unfrozen.

I've tried:
1. Removing "dbus-launch" in my .xinitrc
2. Editing conky down to only displaying uptime
3. Commenting out the bar_action and bar_delay lines in spectrwm.conf so conky isn't used at all

Same issue of frozen keyboard. Any ideas? Thanks.

john

Offline

#404 2012-08-02 17:44:08

2ManyDogs
Member
Registered: 2012-01-15
Posts: 1,706

Re: Scrotwm / Spectrwm

Try going back to the original spectrwm.conf (just rename your ~/.spectrwm.conf to .spectrwm.bak). Spectrwm does strange things if there are any syntax errors in spectrwm.conf -- it doesn't report errors, it just doesn't work. If it works after you do this, you have a syntax error somewhere in spectrwm.conf (probably around where you changed the terminal).

Offline

#405 2012-08-02 22:56:51

OU812
Member
Registered: 2009-11-19
Posts: 47

Re: Scrotwm / Spectrwm

I copied the config file as suggested, but I still have the problem. Thanks.

john

SOLVED: The only difference between my two spectrwm setups is that on the desktop I have numlock set to yes in /etc/slim.conf. Setting numlock to off works.

Last edited by OU812 (2012-08-02 23:09:21)

Offline

#406 2012-08-03 13:37:10

keenerd
Trusted User (TU)
Registered: 2007-02-22
Posts: 647
Website

Re: Scrotwm / Spectrwm

1.2.0 is out!  Here are the release notes:

This is a BETA release which will turn into 2.0.0 in a few weeks. It completely rewrites the entire window manager to switch from Xlib to xcb, resulting in a much snappier experience. The configuration file is 100% backwards-compatible and now supports Xft fonts in bar_font. This release also fixes a couple of long-standing minor issues.

Offline

#407 2012-08-05 04:29:39

h4ckm3
Member
From: Everywhere
Registered: 2012-04-10
Posts: 5

Re: Scrotwm / Spectrwm

After the 1.2.0-1 update the auto starts in my spectrwm.conf cause it to crash back into the login shell. anyone else with this?  http://sprunge.us/DDEb < my conf


If a man will begin with certainties, he shall end in doubts; but if he will be content to begin with doubts he shall end in certainties. -Bacon

Offline

#408 2012-08-05 16:09:42

zcal
Member
Registered: 2010-01-13
Posts: 44

Re: Scrotwm / Spectrwm

I have a few new bugs as well.  Thinking about filing some bug reports but maybe I'm just overlooking something.

spectrwm ignores my Xcursor.theme defined in ~/.Xdefaults.  Applications still abide by it, but when I hover over the root window or bar I lose my Vanilla DMZ pointer.

spectrwm does not restore the desktop screen resolution after running an application that runs fullscreen and changes it.  This issue actually appeared for me in version 1.1.2.

Any ideas?

h4ckm3 wrote:

After the 1.2.0-1 update the auto starts in my spectrwm.conf cause it to crash back into the login shell. anyone else with this?  http://sprunge.us/DDEb < my conf

Does X crash, or are you saying that it kicks you back into your display manager?  Does it work correctly if you use the new /etc/spectrwm.conf?

Edit: grammar

Last edited by zcal (2012-08-05 16:35:29)

Offline

#409 2012-08-05 16:24:06

anonymous_user
Member
Registered: 2009-08-28
Posts: 3,058

Re: Scrotwm / Spectrwm

The cursor issue might be related to spectrwm being rewritten in xcb. Afaik awesomewm is also affected.

Offline

#410 2012-08-05 19:01:16

h4ckm3
Member
From: Everywhere
Registered: 2012-04-10
Posts: 5

Re: Scrotwm / Spectrwm

zcal wrote:

I have a few new bugs as well.  Thinking about filing some bug reports but maybe I'm just overlooking something.

spectrwm ignores my Xcursor.theme defined in ~/.Xdefaults.  Applications still abide by it, but when I hover over the root window or bar I lose my Vanilla DMZ pointer.

spectrwm does not restore the desktop screen resolution after running an application that runs fullscreen and changes it.  This issue actually appeared for me in version 1.1.2.

Any ideas?

h4ckm3 wrote:

After the 1.2.0-1 update the auto starts in my spectrwm.conf cause it to crash back into the login shell. anyone else with this?  http://sprunge.us/DDEb < my conf

Does X crash, or are you saying that it kicks you back into your display manager?  Does it work correctly if you use the new /etc/spectrwm.conf?

Edit: grammar

Hey I figured it out, for some reason it was reading my autorun lines as one line hmm inserted a 'return' and blamo problem solved. weird though..


If a man will begin with certainties, he shall end in doubts; but if he will be content to begin with doubts he shall end in certainties. -Bacon

Offline

#411 2012-08-06 09:23:18

skanky
Member
From: WAIS
Registered: 2009-10-23
Posts: 1,841

Re: Scrotwm / Spectrwm

Still might be worth reporting as a bug, though.


"...one cannot be angry when one looks at a penguin."  - John Ruskin
"Life in general is a bit shit, and so too is the internet. And that's all there is." - scepticisle

Offline

#412 2012-08-15 22:30:07

h4ckm3
Member
From: Everywhere
Registered: 2012-04-10
Posts: 5

Re: Scrotwm / Spectrwm

okay, so it wasn't the autostart function in spectrwm that broke, it is just when I try to autostart firefox maybe other browsers. Again what it does is just kick me back out to slim.  This also occurs if I try to call firefox via xchat (open link in browser)  I will research a little tonight and submit a bug if it is something to do with spectrwm  I haven't looked at any error messages yet I'm doing that now. smile


If a man will begin with certainties, he shall end in doubts; but if he will be content to begin with doubts he shall end in certainties. -Bacon

Offline

#413 2012-08-16 06:55:53

skanky
Member
From: WAIS
Registered: 2009-10-23
Posts: 1,841

Re: Scrotwm / Spectrwm

There's a known bug that's fixed in git, that crashed spectrwm when opening a tab on ffx in a different workspace. This may be related. See the spectrwm forum for more details.


"...one cannot be angry when one looks at a penguin."  - John Ruskin
"Life in general is a bit shit, and so too is the internet. And that's all there is." - scepticisle

Offline

#414 2012-08-24 04:09:43

keenerd
Trusted User (TU)
Registered: 2007-02-22
Posts: 647
Website

Re: Scrotwm / Spectrwm

So the big 2.0.0 release happened.  Unfortunately it seems to segfault on startup every time.  Even with a stock config.  This is slightly disappointing, as 1.2.0 was supposed to be the unstable beta and 2.0.0 the solid release.

Has anyone gotten 2.0.0 to run?

Offline

#415 2012-08-24 20:49:09

skanky
Member
From: WAIS
Registered: 2009-10-23
Posts: 1,841

Re: Scrotwm / Spectrwm

keenerd wrote:

So the big 2.0.0 release happened.  Unfortunately it seems to segfault on startup every time.  Even with a stock config.  This is slightly disappointing, as 1.2.0 was supposed to be the unstable beta and 2.0.0 the solid release.

Has anyone gotten 2.0.0 to run?

Not tried yet, I'll see if I can later this weekend or early next week. Need to use my second machine that's elsewhere to do that.


"...one cannot be angry when one looks at a penguin."  - John Ruskin
"Life in general is a bit shit, and so too is the internet. And that's all there is." - scepticisle

Offline

#416 2012-08-24 23:00:05

anonymous_user
Member
Registered: 2009-08-28
Posts: 3,058

Re: Scrotwm / Spectrwm

I have built Spectrwm 2.0.0 using abs and it seems to work fine. The only change I made to the PKGBUILD was change the version number and md5sum. That's it.

screenshot_08_24_2012_035829.jpg

Edit: BTW 2.0.0 added focus_mode = manual. Thank you so much!!!!

Last edited by anonymous_user (2012-08-24 23:04:22)

Offline

#417 2012-08-26 14:45:39

keenerd
Trusted User (TU)
Registered: 2007-02-22
Posts: 647
Website

Re: Scrotwm / Spectrwm

2.0.1 is out.  Seems a little better - this one just locks up for me instead of instafaulting.  Starting to wonder if there is something odd with my setup.

edit: Yup, it is my test rig.

Last edited by keenerd (2012-08-26 14:48:38)

Offline

#418 2012-08-26 19:40:59

h4ckm3
Member
From: Everywhere
Registered: 2012-04-10
Posts: 5

Re: Scrotwm / Spectrwm

Yea 2.0.1 working great, fixed the old firefox bug. So I am stoked spectrwm is so simple.


If a man will begin with certainties, he shall end in doubts; but if he will be content to begin with doubts he shall end in certainties. -Bacon

Offline

#419 2012-09-09 03:21:59

babak518i
Member
Registered: 2012-09-09
Posts: 3

Re: Scrotwm / Spectrwm

I have got a problem with my spectrwm: Whenever I close one of the child dialogs of an open application, the whole program gets closed/crashed.

For example, if I'm composing a new email in Thunderbird, and want to close that "new message" dialog, the whole Thunderbird gets closed and I get the following error:

 thunderbird: Fatal IO error 11 (Resource temporarily unavailable) on X server :0. 

Your help is appreciated.

Offline

#420 2012-09-16 16:10:36

zcal
Member
Registered: 2010-01-13
Posts: 44

Re: Scrotwm / Spectrwm

babak518i wrote:

I have got a problem with my spectrwm: Whenever I close one of the child dialogs of an open application, the whole program gets closed/crashed.

For example, if I'm composing a new email in Thunderbird, and want to close that "new message" dialog, the whole Thunderbird gets closed and I get the following error:

thunderbird: Fatal IO error 11 (Resource temporarily unavailable) on X server :0.

Your help is appreciated.

Does this happen when you click the dialog's "close" button or when you use spectrwm's M-x to kill the window?  I've found some programs to be inter-dependent with their windows, and M-x'ing them kills the whole application.

Offline

#421 2012-09-18 20:13:39

babak518i
Member
Registered: 2012-09-09
Posts: 3

Re: Scrotwm / Spectrwm

Thanks zcal for replying. It only happens when I use spectrwm's M-x to close the window.

Offline

#422 2012-09-20 03:46:42

zcal
Member
Registered: 2010-01-13
Posts: 44

Re: Scrotwm / Spectrwm

babak518i wrote:

Thanks zcal for replying. It only happens when I use spectrwm's M-x to close the window.

Might be worth a bug report.

Offline

#423 2012-09-20 17:40:35

babak518i
Member
Registered: 2012-09-09
Posts: 3

Re: Scrotwm / Spectrwm

I just reported it. Thanks

Offline

#424 2012-10-01 14:15:04

ianhoolihan
Member
Registered: 2011-08-20
Posts: 85

Re: Scrotwm / Spectrwm

Hi all,

For some reason I can't use worksheet two. For example, I can't move a window to worksheet two (mvws_2). I can still switch to it (ws_2), and can open windows in it.

Any ideas?

Cheers.

Offline

#425 2012-10-05 08:19:46

Feigr
Member
Registered: 2012-04-26
Posts: 7

Re: Scrotwm / Spectrwm

Hi, I've been trying out spectrwm for a bit now, and coming from awesome I find myself lacking some functionality.

In awesome I would use one of two set layouts and that let me switch the positions of the clients and change the size of the windows and they would all change with each other. In spectrwm all layouts seem to want to move the clients around freely whenever I try to alter the layout. Am I expecting functionality that spectrwm just doesn't have or are there other layouts that I have not come upon?
I am basically not ever interested in having things float (except maybe mplayer but there are always quirks for individual programs).

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB