You are not logged in.

#926 2012-09-15 20:48:22

Shinryuu
Member
From: 俺のコスモス
Registered: 2010-02-27
Posts: 338

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

Šaran wrote:

Bugs!
1. gtk-youtube-viewer spawns mplayer in floating fullscreen, even if mplayer is set not to float in config.h.
2. That same mplayer can't be tiled.
3. If I'm on some other workspace, windows from mplayer's workspace will be shown when song ends and it gets killed.

Mhh, can't reproduce your issue with gtk-youtube-viewer OR with videotop. Mplayer gets tiled as it should and it won't go fullscreen/deny any rules.

Offline

#927 2012-09-15 20:49:19

Shinryuu
Member
From: 俺のコスモス
Registered: 2010-02-27
Posts: 338

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

topcat-software wrote:

With git-hub commit 1d36523800:

When default mode is GRID (compiled in config.h), & I open a few xterms, then attempt to move (using mod + mouse) the first xterm opened, & after moving the others, a seg-fault always occurs...

I'll test your issue later and post my results into this post.

Offline

#928 2012-09-16 15:38:23

Šaran
Member
From: Bosnia
Registered: 2011-09-03
Posts: 407

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

Mplayer tiles when launched from console, but if spawned by gtk-youtube-viewer, there is no way I can tile it.

Offline

#929 2012-09-17 16:30:40

Cloudef
Member
Registered: 2010-10-12
Posts: 636

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

I'm having invisible windows with the xinerama-master when switching desktops.
I finally synced my stuff with you.

Offline

#930 2012-09-17 18:26:13

Shinryuu
Member
From: 俺のコスモス
Registered: 2010-02-27
Posts: 338

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

Cloudef wrote:

I'm having invisible windows with the xinerama-master when switching desktops.
I finally synced my stuff with you.

It happens on other branches as well. Our delicious cookieboy mentioned about it before he left but he'll be back next wednesday.

c00kiemon5ter wrote:

I spotted a bug! tongue
when changing desktops, floating clients will not be shown (unless you tile them)
I will try to fix this before I leave ..

Offline

#931 2012-09-17 18:56:06

stlarch
Member
From: hell
Registered: 2010-12-25
Posts: 1,250

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

The new option for click_to_focus seems to be a good solution (i think?). I'll try to test it out a little more when I have a chance. Thank you.

Last edited by stlarch (2012-09-17 19:32:32)

Offline

#932 2012-09-19 02:51:14

gholen
Member
From: Göteborg
Registered: 2011-07-26
Posts: 73
Website

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

Hi smile
Really really like monster (and who would not) but! I have a really annoing problem. I've been searching the forums (including FreeBSD and, of course, this one) and still. I cant seem to get it to work.

My monster is compiled "As is" from git, and starts as it should. No problem, right?
The problem is that I cant seem to pipe the bar. At all.

at first, I thought I did something wrong, and I probaply do, but I cant seem to find what.
So. My files:

ff="/tmp/monsterwm.fifo"
[[ -p $ff ]] || mkfifo -m 600 "$ff"

# desktop names
ds=("web" "dev" "foo" "null")

# layout names
ms=("T" "M" "B" "G" "F")

while read -t 60 -r wmout || true; do
                if [[ $wmout =~ ^(([[:digit:]]+:)+[[:digit:]]+ ?)+$ ]]; then
                read -ra desktops <<< "$wmout" && unset r
                for desktop in "${desktops[@]}"; do
                        IFS=':' read -r d w m c u <<< "$desktop"
                        ((c)) && fg="\\f4" i="${ms[$m]}" || fg="\\f3"
                        ((u)) && w+='\f5!'
                        r+="$fg${ds[$d]} ${w/#0/\\f8-} \\f3:: "
                done
                r="${r%::*}"
        fi
        printf "\\\l%s\\\r%s\n" "$r\\f5[\\f3$i\\f5]" "$(acpi -b | awk 'sub(/,/,"") {print $3, $4}') $(date +"%F %R")"
done < "$ff" | bar &

# pass output to fifo
monsterwm > "$ff"

Thats the code I use for the bar (as is only one thing added, the battery status thing). I've tried to remove that, but still no bar.
Help me here please smile

Edit: Nevermind, found the problem (offset in config.h). Fix'd it big_smile

Last edited by gholen (2012-09-19 02:57:54)

Offline

#933 2012-09-19 18:08:08

Šaran
Member
From: Bosnia
Registered: 2011-09-03
Posts: 407

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

Another one.
I can't focus text input field in java applications.
In geogebra I can input text in out of ten program launchs, and in flashtool (tool for flashing Sony androids) I wasn't able to input a single letter.
I'm exporting wmname LG3D in .xinitrc and _JAVA_AWT_WM_NONREPARENTING=1 in /etc/profile.d/{jre,jre7}.sh

Offline

#934 2012-09-19 19:05:37

kuraku
Member
From: planet Earth
Registered: 2012-01-03
Posts: 199

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

I just tried to fetch latest changes from git and i got this error message:

cleaning
monsterwm build options:
CFLAGS   = -std=c99 -pedantic -Wall -Wextra -I. -I/usr/include -I/usr/X11R6/include -DVERSION="cookies-git" -Os
LDFLAGS  = -L/usr/lib -lc -L/usr/X11R6/lib -lX11 -s
CC       = cc
CC monsterwm.c
monsterwm.c: In function ‘buttonpress’:
monsterwm.c:251:69: error: ‘FOCUS_BUTTON’ undeclared (first use in this function)
monsterwm.c:251:69: note: each undeclared identifier is reported only once for each function it appears in
monsterwm.c: In function ‘grabbuttons’:
monsterwm.c:586:63: error: ‘FOCUS_BUTTON’ undeclared (first use in this function)
monsterwm.c: At top level:
monsterwm.c:662:6: warning: ‘last_desktop’ defined but not used [-Wunused-function]
monsterwm.c:885:6: warning: ‘prev_win’ defined but not used [-Wunused-function]
make: *** [monsterwm.o] Error 1
─╼

Any ideas how to fix it?

Offline

#935 2012-09-19 19:12:05

Cloudef
Member
Registered: 2010-10-12
Posts: 636

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

kuraku wrote:

I just tried to fetch latest changes from git and i got this error message:

cleaning
monsterwm build options:
CFLAGS   = -std=c99 -pedantic -Wall -Wextra -I. -I/usr/include -I/usr/X11R6/include -DVERSION="cookies-git" -Os
LDFLAGS  = -L/usr/lib -lc -L/usr/X11R6/lib -lX11 -s
CC       = cc
CC monsterwm.c
monsterwm.c: In function ‘buttonpress’:
monsterwm.c:251:69: error: ‘FOCUS_BUTTON’ undeclared (first use in this function)
monsterwm.c:251:69: note: each undeclared identifier is reported only once for each function it appears in
monsterwm.c: In function ‘grabbuttons’:
monsterwm.c:586:63: error: ‘FOCUS_BUTTON’ undeclared (first use in this function)
monsterwm.c: At top level:
monsterwm.c:662:6: warning: ‘last_desktop’ defined but not used [-Wunused-function]
monsterwm.c:885:6: warning: ‘prev_win’ defined but not used [-Wunused-function]
make: *** [monsterwm.o] Error 1
─╼

Any ideas how to fix it?

Merge your config.h with the new default config

Offline

#936 2012-09-19 19:17:09

Shinryuu
Member
From: 俺のコスモス
Registered: 2010-02-27
Posts: 338

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

Šaran wrote:

Another one.
I can't focus text input field in java applications.
In geogebra I can input text in out of ten program launchs, and in flashtool (tool for flashing Sony androids) I wasn't able to input a single letter.
I'm exporting wmname LG3D in .xinitrc and _JAVA_AWT_WM_NONREPARENTING=1 in /etc/profile.d/{jre,jre7}.sh

Mhh geogebra works just fine and I can input text without any problems. Also I haven't noticed any weird behaviour with java applications they get focused etc., also no problems with input fields.

I have this installed and I don't export LG3D etc. at all.

openjdk6 6.b24_1.11.4-1

Last edited by Shinryuu (2012-09-19 19:18:29)

Offline

#937 2012-09-19 19:20:15

kuraku
Member
From: planet Earth
Registered: 2012-01-03
Posts: 199

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

Cloudef wrote:

Merge your config.h with the new default config

*facepalm*
Thank you Cloudef.


[Edit]
Also confirming the bug with invisible windows. Lucky for me, i got a few backups of working monsterwm packages (marked as "gold" (: ).

Last edited by kuraku (2012-09-19 19:45:00)

Offline

#938 2012-09-19 19:53:33

c00kiemon5ter
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2010-06-01
Posts: 562
Website

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

hey all,

there is no need to try building the current git. there are bugs, as I mentioned before I left.

@kuraku I explained the change on config here, but dont update yet.

@cloudef tongue bad timing

I'll be pushing fixes in a couple of hours. Floating windows should appear correctly, and windows on other desktops should appear fine after the push.
This should also fix cloudef's "invisible" windows

@topcatsoftware I can't reproduce the issue with grid layout, but I'll go over the code wink


.:[ git me! ] :.

Offline

#939 2012-09-19 19:58:46

Šaran
Member
From: Bosnia
Registered: 2011-09-03
Posts: 407

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

Shinryuu wrote:
Šaran wrote:

Another one.
I can't focus text input field in java applications.
In geogebra I can input text in out of ten program launchs, and in flashtool (tool for flashing Sony androids) I wasn't able to input a single letter.
I'm exporting wmname LG3D in .xinitrc and _JAVA_AWT_WM_NONREPARENTING=1 in /etc/profile.d/{jre,jre7}.sh

Mhh geogebra works just fine and I can input text without any problems. Also I haven't noticed any weird behaviour with java applications they get focused etc., also no problems with input fields.

I have this installed and I don't export LG3D etc. at all.

openjdk6 6.b24_1.11.4-1

Everything works perfectly with this version! Thanks.

Offline

#940 2012-09-19 20:03:23

Shinryuu
Member
From: 俺のコスモス
Registered: 2010-02-27
Posts: 338

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

Nice to hear it was that simple to fix, I also had problems with jdk7 (on any window manager) in the past.
One question c00kiemon5ter, I wonder why UP/DOWN etc. are mixed in config.h or I'm just doing something wrong. Or something reads my keys weirdly, also same goes for resizing.

    {  MOD1,             XK_Down,       moveresize,        {.v = (int []){   0,  50,   0,   0 }}}, /* move up == This is actually DOWN */ 
    {  MOD1,             XK_Up,         moveresize,        {.v = (int []){   0, -50,   0,   0 }}}, /* move down == This is actually UP*/
    {  MOD1,             XK_Right,      moveresize,        {.v = (int []){  50,   0,   0,   0 }}}, /* move right */
    {  MOD1,             XK_Left,       moveresize,        {.v = (int []){ -50,   0,   0,   0 }}}, /* move left  */
    {  MOD4,             XK_k,          moveresize,        {.v = (int []){   0,   0,   0,  50 }}}, /* height grow   */
    {  MOD4,             XK_i,          moveresize,        {.v = (int []){   0,   0,   0, -50 }}}, /* height shrink */
    {  MOD4,             XK_l,          moveresize,        {.v = (int []){   0,   0,  50,   0 }}}, /* width grow    */
    {  MOD4,             XK_j,          moveresize,        {.v = (int []){   0,   0, -50,   0 }}}, /* width shrink  */

Offline

#941 2012-09-19 20:05:09

kuraku
Member
From: planet Earth
Registered: 2012-01-03
Posts: 199

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

c00kiemon5ter wrote:

@kuraku I explained the change on config here, but dont update yet.

Okay, thank you for reference. I havent tracked all the changes since i dont have time at the moment.

Can you explain me please this:

- Windows are not hidden anymore as they used to, but instead they are dragged outside the screen space
  (also updated all the patches to match this new behaviour)

Thank you in advance.

Offline

#942 2012-09-19 20:09:50

Shinryuu
Member
From: 俺のコスモス
Registered: 2010-02-27
Posts: 338

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

kuraku wrote:
c00kiemon5ter wrote:

@kuraku I explained the change on config here, but dont update yet.

Okay, thank you for reference. I havent tracked all the changes since i dont have time at the moment.

Can you explain me please this:

- Windows are not hidden anymore as they used to, but instead they are dragged outside the screen space
  (also updated all the patches to match this new behaviour)

Thank you in advance.

There was a commit where windows were hidden iirc. So cookieboy fixed it up.

Last edited by Shinryuu (2012-09-19 20:14:57)

Offline

#943 2012-09-19 20:13:17

kuraku
Member
From: planet Earth
Registered: 2012-01-03
Posts: 199

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

@Shinryuu
Oh, that sounds neat. So many features and options in so little code smile

Offline

#944 2012-09-19 21:14:41

Cloudef
Member
Registered: 2010-10-12
Posts: 636

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

@c00kiemonster
No worries, and sounds great.
Will rebase your stuff whenever my life calms down again.

Offline

#945 2012-09-20 23:09:33

c00kiemon5ter
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2010-06-01
Posts: 562
Website

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

alright, sorry for the delay, got caught up by a friend's network/PC issues.
new code is up, and hopefully working, fixing the bugs after the last failed update tongue
if you see anything weird please report asap smile

@kuraku

- Windows are not hidden anymore as they used to, but instead they are dragged outside the screen space
  (also updated all the patches to match this new behaviour)

this is an internal thing, but I regularly say things so that I can easily find them later, uhm, like "markings" in time tongue

What this means is that windows have a visibility state. when a window is visible, it means it is 'mapped', while if its not - ie an "empty" window - then it is 'unmapped'.
Desktops in reality are not multiple! big_smile In reality there is only one desktop and what happens when one "changes desktop" is that the windows on the current desktop are hidden, and the windows of the new desktop are presented.
There are several ways to show and hide windows.
Monsterwm used to unmap all windows of the current desktop and then map the windows of the new desktop.
This was really nice and clean, and I broke it now tongue
What happens now is that instead of unmapping, windows are moved outside the visible screen space,
so you dont see them, like dragging a window to the edge of the screen.

This was needed in order for the scratchpad to work. There was no way to make a window "disappear", as it would create an empty space aka empty window.
Now that I've said all this, there might be a way to reverse all this tongue That is, instead of making the scratchpad disappear, move it out of the visible screen space.. but then again, one would be able to focus a window he's not seeing .. so yeah, I think there was no way to hide the scratchpad.
Anyway, the way it is now, should also fix any clients that unmap windows in a non-standard way.


Shinryuu wrote:

I wonder why UP/DOWN etc. are mixed in config.h or I'm just doing something wrong.
Or something reads my keys weirdly, also same goes for resizing.

    {  MOD1,             XK_Down,       moveresize,        {.v = (int []){   0,  50,   0,   0 }}}, /* move up == This is actually DOWN */ 
    {  MOD1,             XK_Up,         moveresize,        {.v = (int []){   0, -50,   0,   0 }}}, /* move down == This is actually UP*/
    {  MOD1,             XK_Right,      moveresize,        {.v = (int []){  50,   0,   0,   0 }}}, /* move right */
    {  MOD1,             XK_Left,       moveresize,        {.v = (int []){ -50,   0,   0,   0 }}}, /* move left  */
    {  MOD4,             XK_k,          moveresize,        {.v = (int []){   0,   0,   0,  50 }}}, /* height grow   */
    {  MOD4,             XK_i,          moveresize,        {.v = (int []){   0,   0,   0, -50 }}}, /* height shrink */
    {  MOD4,             XK_l,          moveresize,        {.v = (int []){   0,   0,  50,   0 }}}, /* width grow    */
    {  MOD4,             XK_j,          moveresize,        {.v = (int []){   0,   0, -50,   0 }}}, /* width shrink  */

fixed the comments smile
btw, I've changed the default keybinds for 'moveresize' long time now, to more vim-like ones.

Last edited by c00kiemon5ter (2012-09-20 23:26:59)


.:[ git me! ] :.

Offline

#946 2012-09-21 01:21:47

Shinryuu
Member
From: 俺のコスモス
Registered: 2010-02-27
Posts: 338

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

Nice, I guess it's time to update smile

c00kiemon5ter wrote:

btw, I've changed the default keybinds for 'moveresize' long time now, to more vim-like ones.

Heh, I changed them back into monkey business way wink

Offline

#947 2012-09-21 04:53:17

Cloudef
Member
Registered: 2010-10-12
Posts: 636

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

@c00kiemonster
Rebased, and seems to work fine.
Though it breaks xdotool's move functionality. Xdotool's resize still works, if done while window is unmapped.
I think there is a valid reason for this breakage though, such as making some annyoining windows behave like they should perhaps smile?

Anyways, I currently workaround this to make few of my xdotool'd daemon windows just center themselfes which actually is nicer.
I'll go through the recent code since I'm kinda out of loop with the changes when I get around to it.

Offline

#948 2012-09-21 11:02:47

bslackr
Member
Registered: 2012-01-27
Posts: 131

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

Could anyone recommend me a good panel to use for multihead? (Possibly providing a sample script?) I'm currently using bar but I don't see any way to make it only work right on both monitors, it simply stretches across both of them. Ideally I would like the panel to look the same on both monitors but of course reflecting the desktops that are on that monitor. Any help, tips, samples, etc. are very appreciated.

Offline

#949 2012-09-21 13:04:04

Shinryuu
Member
From: 俺のコスモス
Registered: 2010-02-27
Posts: 338

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

I used to abuse bar with my multihead setup but I do have no idea how you can "clone" the panels for each desktops. You can specify offset in config.def.h so the panel only shows on another desktop. cool

Last edited by Shinryuu (2012-09-21 13:05:07)

Offline

#950 2012-09-21 14:15:55

Shinryuu
Member
From: 俺のコスモス
Registered: 2010-02-27
Posts: 338

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

Hey! I noticed a weird bug, it happens with several applications such as pidgin and gimp.
Here's the pic what happens when a box opens:
tZmt0eA

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB