You are not logged in.

#1 2005-10-03 20:17:31

molinero
Member
From: Copenhagen/Denmark
Registered: 2004-09-19
Posts: 110

Upgrade /boot

Hi

I've just upgraded and thought I did everything right - but apparently I didn't. I've changed my menu.lst according to udev but I get the kernel panic init error and the WARNING: Unable to open an initial console.

My bootline points to /dev/hda1 because is was /dev/discs/disc0/part1 before. If I change /dev/hda1 to /dev/hda3 I can boot but then nothing works - not even the keyboard.
I've tried to chroot into /dev/hda3 but I do have the console and null in /dev. I cannot mount /dev/hda1 and I am pretty sure that is where my /boot is.

Am I doing it all wrong?

Could someone please advice - I need the computer for school.

Offline

#2 2005-10-03 20:25:51

molinero
Member
From: Copenhagen/Denmark
Registered: 2004-09-19
Posts: 110

Re: Upgrade /boot

Okay - I got the /boot mounted by using chroot and the Arch installation cd.

My menu.lst looks like this

# (0) Arch Linux
title Arch Linux [/boot/vmlinuz26]
root  (hd0.2)
kernel (hd0,0)/vmlinuz26 root=/dev/hda1 vga=791 ro devfs=nomount

The only thing I've changed is the /dev/hda1 part.

Offline

#3 2005-10-03 20:26:14

dtw
Forum Fellow
From: UK
Registered: 2004-08-03
Posts: 4,431
Website

Re: Upgrade /boot

/dev/hda1 because is was /dev/discs/disc0/part1

That's not right.  It should be hda2.  part0 == hda1

Offline

#4 2005-10-03 20:28:09

dtw
Forum Fellow
From: UK
Registered: 2004-08-03
Posts: 4,431
Website

Re: Upgrade /boot

root == boot - so if boot is hda2 OR disc0/part1 that should be 0,1...

Offline

#5 2005-10-03 20:32:52

molinero
Member
From: Copenhagen/Denmark
Registered: 2004-09-19
Posts: 110

Re: Upgrade /boot

Yes it says boot - just a typing error. But howcome in the wiki he has:

kernel /vmlinuz26 root=/dev/discs/disc0/part3 ro devfs=nomount

and changes it to:

kernel /vmlinuz26 root=/dev/hda3 ro devfs=nomount

And is it correctly understood that the (hd0,0)/vmlinuz26 should point to /boot and root=/dev/something should point to /

Offline

#6 2005-10-03 20:51:24

molinero
Member
From: Copenhagen/Denmark
Registered: 2004-09-19
Posts: 110

Re: Upgrade /boot

Got the boot thing worked out.

My mistake it should be /dev/hda3 not /dev/hda1 - I think. Thanks

Offline

#7 2005-10-03 21:26:50

T-Dawg
Forum Fellow
From: Wilmington, NC
Registered: 2005-01-29
Posts: 2,734

Re: Upgrade /boot

dibblethewrecker wrote:

/dev/hda1 because is was /dev/discs/disc0/part1

That's not right.  It should be hda2.  part0 == hda1

you sure? I thought it started at part1 wink

Offline

#8 2005-10-03 21:38:23

dtw
Forum Fellow
From: UK
Registered: 2004-08-03
Posts: 4,431
Website

Re: Upgrade /boot

you sure?

No lol

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB