You are not logged in.

#1 2005-10-03 20:28:41

napoleon
Member
Registered: 2005-04-03
Posts: 176

Is my fstab okay?

Don't know but can sombody have a look at my fstab to see if its okay. I have switched to udev. Thanks:

------------------------------------------------------------------------------
# This file is edited by fstab-sync - see 'man fstab-sync' for details
#
# /etc/fstab: static file system information
#
# <file system>        <dir>         <type>    <options>          <dump> <pass>
none                   /dev/pts      devpts    defaults            0      0
none                   /dev/shm      tmpfs     defaults            0      0
tmpfs                  /tmp          tmpfs     defaults            0      0
usbfs                  /proc/bus/usb usbfs  defaults            0      0

/dev/cdroms/cdrom0     /mnt/cd   iso9660   ro,user,noauto,unhide   0      0
/dev/cdroms/cdrom0     /mnt/dvd  udf       ro,user,noauto,unhide   0      0
/dev/floppy/0          /mnt/fl   vfat      user,noauto             0      0

/dev/discs/disc1/part2 swap swap defaults 0 0
/dev/discs/disc1/part1 / ext3 defaults 0 1
/dev/discs/disc1/part3 /home reiserfs defaults 0 0
/dev/discs/disc1/part4 /windows vfat defaults 0 0
/dev/hdd                /media/cdrecorder       auto    user,exec,noauto,comment=managed 0 0
/dev/hdc                /media/cdrom            auto    user,exec,noauto,comment=managed 0 0
/dev/fd0                /media/floppy           auto    user,exec,noauto,comment=managed 0 0


A good friend will come and bail you out of jail...BUT a true friend will be sitting next to you saying, "Damn...that was fun!"

Offline

#2 2005-10-03 20:35:24

Gullible Jones
Member
Registered: 2004-12-29
Posts: 4,863

Re: Is my fstab okay?

No, sorry... It isn't okay. You'll have to use the old naming scheme, the one used by a static /dev.

Offline

#3 2005-10-03 20:50:19

LB06
Member
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 435

Re: Is my fstab okay?

Yeah, instead of /dev/discs/disc1/part1 you should use /dev/hdb1, part2 should become hdb2, etc. You get the idea, right?

Offline

#4 2005-10-03 21:21:30

T-Dawg
Forum Fellow
From: Wilmington, NC
Registered: 2005-01-29
Posts: 2,734

Re: Is my fstab okay?

and if your using sata, it'll use sdxy instead of hdxy

Offline

#5 2005-10-03 21:36:16

napoleon
Member
Registered: 2005-04-03
Posts: 176

Re: Is my fstab okay?

Thanks but for the cd,dvd and cdwriter drives is that not a duplication? If so which ones do i have to get rid of?


A good friend will come and bail you out of jail...BUT a true friend will be sitting next to you saying, "Damn...that was fun!"

Offline

#6 2005-10-03 21:39:13

T-Dawg
Forum Fellow
From: Wilmington, NC
Registered: 2005-01-29
Posts: 2,734

Re: Is my fstab okay?

for secondary channel drives (ie cdroms), scheme goes to hdc for master and hdd for secondary.

Offline

#7 2005-10-04 11:12:16

sudman1
Member
From: Huntingdon, UK
Registered: 2005-02-18
Posts: 143

Re: Is my fstab okay?

The duplication of the cdrom device allows you to mount DVD or CDs from the same device.

If you put in a DVD, you run 'mount /mnt/dvd' and it will mount with the type set to udf.

If you want to mount a CD, you run 'mount /mnt/cd' and the type is then set to iso9660.

It's really just a convenience thing.


v/r
Suds

Offline

#8 2005-10-04 17:34:44

napoleon
Member
Registered: 2005-04-03
Posts: 176

Re: Is my fstab okay?

Below is my current fstab and it works fine:

# This file is edited by fstab-sync - see 'man fstab-sync' for details
#
# /etc/fstab: static file system information
#
# <file system>        <dir>         <type>    <options>          <dump> <pass>
none                   /dev/pts      devpts    defaults            0      0
none                   /dev/shm      tmpfs     defaults            0      0
tmpfs                  /tmp          tmpfs     defaults            0      0
usbfs                  /proc/bus/usb usbfs  defaults            0      0

/dev/hdc             /mnt/cd   iso9660   ro,user,noauto,unhide   0      0
/dev/hdd             /mnt/dvd  udf       ro,user,noauto,unhide   0      0
/dev/fd0             /mnt/fl   vfat      user,noauto             0      0

/dev/hdb2 swap swap defaults 0 0
/dev/hdb1 / ext3 defaults 0 1
/dev/hdb3 /home reiserfs defaults 0 0
/dev/hdb4 /windows vfat defaults 0 0


How ever when i try to play dvd i get the message:

Totem could not play 'dvd://'.
No URI handler implemented for "dvd://"


Help me out please.


A good friend will come and bail you out of jail...BUT a true friend will be sitting next to you saying, "Damn...that was fun!"

Offline

#9 2005-10-04 18:29:09

alcattle
Member
Registered: 2004-03-08
Posts: 32

Re: Is my fstab okay?

Do you have 2 optical drives or one? I have one and both line are set to same device


Big Al in Seattle

http://www.easylinuxguide.com

Very N00b Friendly Group of people

Offline

#10 2005-10-05 06:23:30

CyberTron
Member
From: Gotland ,Sweden
Registered: 2005-03-17
Posts: 645
Website

Re: Is my fstab okay?

why can't one use

/dev/hdc /mnt/cdrom auto ro,user,noauto,unhide 0 0

for both dvd and cd's , I mean then it will automatically detect if there is a cd or a dvd that is inserted

just my two cent big_smile


http://www.linuxportalen.com  -> Linux Help portal for Linux and ArchLinux (in swedish)

Dell Inspiron 8500
Kernel 2.6.14-archck1  (selfcompiled)
Enlightenment 17

Offline

#11 2005-10-08 23:10:47

napoleon
Member
Registered: 2005-04-03
Posts: 176

Re: Is my fstab okay?

Below is my current fstab:

# This file is edited by fstab-sync - see 'man fstab-sync' for details
#
# /etc/fstab: static file system information
#
# <file system>        <dir>         <type>    <options>          <dump> <pass>
none                   /dev/pts      devpts    defaults            0      0
none                   /dev/shm      tmpfs     defaults            0      0
tmpfs                  /tmp          tmpfs     defaults            0      0
usbfs                  /proc/bus/usb usbfs  defaults            0      0

/dev/hdc             /mnt/cdrom   auto ro,user,noauto,unhide   0      0
/dev/hdd             /mnt/cdrecorder auto user,exec,noauto,unhide   0      0
/dev/fd0             /mnt/floppy   vfat      user,noauto             0      0

/dev/hdb2 swap swap defaults 0 0
/dev/hdb1 / ext3 defaults 0 1
/dev/hdb3 /home reiserfs defaults 0 0
/dev/hdb4 /windows vfat defaults 0 0


I am still getting the same error if i try to play dvd or cd with Totem. Please help.


A good friend will come and bail you out of jail...BUT a true friend will be sitting next to you saying, "Damn...that was fun!"

Offline

#12 2005-10-09 08:40:00

Southern_Trendkiller
Member
Registered: 2005-09-27
Posts: 31

Re: Is my fstab okay?

I don't think you should blame the fstab file for the error you get. I've got exactly the same configuration with my dvd-drive, however, i don't get any errors doing anything in BMP or Xine. Try some other software, look what happens....

Offline

#13 2005-10-09 11:38:56

T-Dawg
Forum Fellow
From: Wilmington, NC
Registered: 2005-01-29
Posts: 2,734

Re: Is my fstab okay?

You can also try running dbus and hal deamons to automatically sync your fstab. Just add them in that order (hal relies on dbus up and running) in that order in the daemons array in rc.conf.
I've been using it for a while now without any problems.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB