You are not logged in.

#51 2012-09-21 15:15:11

sas
Member
Registered: 2009-11-24
Posts: 153

Re: Humble Indie Bundle 6

alex404 wrote:

The game no longer crashes on startup, but it still doesn't seem to detect mods when I slide them into the Mods directory. Has anyone been able to get mods to work? (In torchlight I mean)

This is discussed on the official Torchlight forum: http://forums.runicgames.com/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=33539
According to that thread, the only available workaround currently is to inject the mod files into the main game archive (/opt/Torchlight/pak.zip or /usr/local/games/Torchlight/pak.zip depending on how you installed it), so the game loads them like any other game data.


my AUR packages ~~ my community contributions ~~ my referral link for Copy.com (an Arch Linux compatible free cloud storage service - if you sign up via this link both of us get 5GB bonus storage!)

Offline

#52 2012-09-22 15:15:57

wh1t3
Member
Registered: 2012-09-22
Posts: 1

Re: Humble Indie Bundle 6

@pyro539

I had the same error, for me it was having the AA set too high. I had it set to 8x and that caused the error, reducing it to 4 worked for me, maybe you need to completely disable it, you can change the settings with the SettingsEditor distributed with the game. This seems like a general error code though, so perhaps it's another issue for you.

Offline

#53 2012-09-22 15:17:04

pyro539
Member
Registered: 2011-08-08
Posts: 18

Re: Humble Indie Bundle 6

sas wrote:

@pyro539

That error message unfortunately doesn't say anything about what went wrong, only that a crash occurred.

Anyways, I did some funky stuff in that PKGBUILD, like removing most of the bundled libraries (to force usage of system-wide libraries), in the hopes that it would reduce headaches in the long term. But just in case this is what is causing your problem, can you try installing the game by running the installer directly (simply call sh shatter-linux-1347954459.sh in a terminal, and follow the instructions), and then see if that version works?

Also, can you do

sudo pacman -S strace
cd /opt/Shatter/
strace ./Shatter.bin.x86 2>/tmp/shatter.log

and then upload /tmp/shatter.log somewhere and link it here (or send it to me)? Not sure if it'll help, but it's the easiest way I can think of to get some info on what it was trying to do when the crash occurred.

PS: Also, make sure that your system is up-to date and that OpenGL with hardware acceleration works properly.

Hi,

thanks for your work and for your help.. I just removed the package and installed the game using the installer. The same error occurs.

The output of strace can be found here: http://sprunge.us/VPKd
Additionally, output of a gdb backtrace: http://paste.debian.net/191903/
And the output of glxinfo: http://paste.debian.net/191904/

Offline

#54 2012-09-22 18:26:15

hooya
Member
Registered: 2011-10-09
Posts: 95

Re: Humble Indie Bundle 6

Two things about torchlight I'm experiencing.

1. No faces. No big deal, just confirming it's still a problem. I know this isn't a support forum.

2. Scroll wheel? Does it work for anyone else? It's supposed to zoom your view in and out but mine does nothing. Any ideas?

Offline

#55 2012-09-22 21:11:04

oi_wtf
Member
From: /home/wtf
Registered: 2012-03-11
Posts: 190

Re: Humble Indie Bundle 6

Zooming with the keyboard doesn't work, too.


Laptop:   Arch Linux (x86_64) and Win8.1 (x86_64);  Intel Core i7-3630QM @ 2.40GHz, 8 GiB RAM, NViDiA GeForce GT 650M 2 GiB
Desktop: Arch Linux (x86_64) and Win8.1 (x86_64);  Intel Core i7-4771  @ 3.50GHz, 8 GiB RAM, NViDiA GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GiB

Offline

#56 2012-09-22 21:12:54

zainin
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2010-10-23
Posts: 31

Re: Humble Indie Bundle 6

Oh man, there's supposed to be zoom? I just assumed it was isometric without zoom.

Offline

#57 2012-09-23 10:44:35

MisterAnderson
Member
Registered: 2011-09-04
Posts: 284

Re: Humble Indie Bundle 6

zainin wrote:

Oh man, there's supposed to be zoom? I just assumed it was isometric without zoom.

It's like finding out there's quick travel in oblivion! (oh man I can't believe I did the main quest before I found out about it...)


D:

Offline

#58 2012-09-24 15:19:08

xintron
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2008-09-25
Posts: 32
Website

Re: Humble Indie Bundle 6

I have a problem where Torchlight doesn't take my DISPLAY-variable into
consideration. I have a tripple-head setup with two GPU's and it just keeps
loading the game on screen 1 (which is the screen served by the weakest of the
GPUs ofc...). Have any other had this issue and have a solution for it? Not
using xinerama or stuff like that.

Offline

#59 2012-09-24 16:20:52

Procyon
Member
Registered: 2008-05-07
Posts: 1,819

Re: Humble Indie Bundle 6

@xintron: did you export DISPLAY?

Offline

#60 2012-09-24 17:11:18

xintron
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2008-09-25
Posts: 32
Website

Re: Humble Indie Bundle 6

Procyon wrote:

@xintron: did you export DISPLAY?

Yes. Even trying to start it with DISPLAY=:0.2 doesn't work, it still uses :0.0 for some weird reason.

Offline

#61 2012-09-24 19:11:56

Apos
Member
Registered: 2011-05-31
Posts: 13

Re: Humble Indie Bundle 6

Did anyone find out how to fix the texture bug in shatter? (Where some of the textures appear black.)

Examples:
Menu:
shattermenu.th.png
In Game:
shatteringame.th.png

Ignore the fact that the horizontal and vertical alignment may be messed up in the screen-shots.

Also, sorry about posting images of that size, I couldn't find the spoiler bbcode. Nvm, thanks mod!



-- mod edit: read the Forum Etiquette and only post thumbnails http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/For … s_and_Code [jwr] --

Last edited by Apos (2012-09-25 13:16:12)

Offline

#62 2012-09-24 21:15:47

Forgotten Path
Member
Registered: 2012-02-07
Posts: 18

Re: Humble Indie Bundle 6

Is anyone having an issue with S.P.A.Z. and Gnome shell?  When trying to start the game in full screen, the mouse is snapped to the hot corner and opens the Activities menu.  Then selecting the S.P.A.Z. window, all I get is a black (full)screen.  The only solution is then to switch to another VT and use "kilall SPAZ" to get back to the desktop.  I really would prefer to play the game in fullscreen (I can't see all of the window), and starting in windowed mode and switching to fullscreen won't work since you have to restart S.P.A.Z.!

Offline

#63 2012-09-24 22:29:47

jikbag
Member
Registered: 2010-04-27
Posts: 3

Re: Humble Indie Bundle 6

If Torchlight is crashing on you when you try to enter a portal, try installing libtxc_dxtn from the AUR. It fixed it for me and a few other people in the Torchlight forums.

Offline

#64 2012-09-25 23:02:47

stqn
Member
Registered: 2010-03-19
Posts: 1,189
Website

Re: Humble Indie Bundle 6

Torchlight’s installer doesn’t work, wether I choose to “register” or not, it gets stuck in an infinite loop or something at the time of installing. top shows that “gtk” is using 100% cpu time.

Edit: unchecking “register” and selecting a directory that doesn’t require root access seems to solve it.

Edit2: both Torchlight and GSB seem to be working pretty well on my Core i3 with Intel HD Graphics.

Last edited by stqn (2012-09-26 13:57:31)

Offline

#65 2012-09-26 07:23:07

whoops
Member
Registered: 2009-03-19
Posts: 822

Re: Humble Indie Bundle 6

Anyone else have no text rendered in Rochard? I get occasional yellow stripes but nothing that even remotely resembles a font... and that despite the fact that the game - according to strace - seems to opens ALL the ttf fonts that are installed on my system.

Last edited by whoops (2012-09-26 07:23:27)

Offline

#66 2012-09-26 08:24:10

ChemBro
Member
Registered: 2008-10-22
Posts: 675

Re: Humble Indie Bundle 6

whoops wrote:

Anyone else have no text rendered in Rochard?

Maybe has something to do with the font news on the Arch Linux frontpage?

Offline

#67 2012-09-26 09:40:18

TimorLee
Member
Registered: 2012-07-05
Posts: 46

Re: Humble Indie Bundle 6

whoops wrote:

Anyone else have no text rendered in Rochard? I get occasional yellow stripes but nothing that even remotely resembles a font... and that despite the fact that the game - according to strace - seems to opens ALL the ttf fonts that are installed on my system.

I have the same issue. Also, when ingame, there are a bunch of graphical issues. Textures are weirdly stretched, background stuff "pops" up, and the polygons seem to be distorted. When in actual gameplay, only the UI is rendered correctly, the rest is a glob of orange/yellow.

Haven't had the time to find out why...

Offline

#68 2012-09-26 09:51:18

ChemBro
Member
Registered: 2008-10-22
Posts: 675

Re: Humble Indie Bundle 6

Or it might be a problem with your video driver. Sounds more like it.

Offline

#69 2012-09-26 10:07:41

whoops
Member
Registered: 2009-03-19
Posts: 822

Re: Humble Indie Bundle 6

ChemBro wrote:

Or it might be a problem with your video driver. Sounds more like it.

*facepalm/sigh*
Yes. I did it AGAIN... updated nvidia driver, planning to "restart later because I don't need it right now" and forgot all about it.

thx, problem solved, +sry T_T

Offline

#70 2012-09-26 11:10:23

TimorLee
Member
Registered: 2012-07-05
Posts: 46

Re: Humble Indie Bundle 6

Indeed, problem was the Nvidia update. Restart fixed it... *palmface*

Offline

#71 2012-09-27 01:26:06

gavinhungry
Member
Registered: 2011-02-13
Posts: 6
Website

Re: Humble Indie Bundle 6

EDIT: disregard

Last edited by gavinhungry (2012-09-27 18:29:57)

Offline

#72 2012-09-27 11:07:31

KBrown
Member
Registered: 2012-09-27
Posts: 1

Re: Humble Indie Bundle 6

pyro539 wrote:
sas wrote:

@pyro539

That error message unfortunately doesn't say anything about what went wrong, only that a crash occurred.

Anyways, I did some funky stuff in that PKGBUILD, like removing most of the bundled libraries (to force usage of system-wide libraries), in the hopes that it would reduce headaches in the long term. But just in case this is what is causing your problem, can you try installing the game by running the installer directly (simply call sh shatter-linux-1347954459.sh in a terminal, and follow the instructions), and then see if that version works?

Also, can you do

sudo pacman -S strace
cd /opt/Shatter/
strace ./Shatter.bin.x86 2>/tmp/shatter.log

and then upload /tmp/shatter.log somewhere and link it here (or send it to me)? Not sure if it'll help, but it's the easiest way I can think of to get some info on what it was trying to do when the crash occurred.

PS: Also, make sure that your system is up-to date and that OpenGL with hardware acceleration works properly.

Hi,

thanks for your work and for your help.. I just removed the package and installed the game using the installer. The same error occurs.

The output of strace can be found here: http://sprunge.us/VPKd
Additionally, output of a gdb backtrace: http://paste.debian.net/191903/
And the output of glxinfo: http://paste.debian.net/191904/

Are you using Catalyst on Arch 64? I was having the same problem until I installed lib32-catalyst-utils.

Offline

#73 2012-09-27 20:37:04

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,428

Re: Humble Indie Bundle 6

I saw https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=149672 and was a bit baffled by Linkas mentioning Gratuitous Space Battles being in HIB 6. Turns out, if you

Pay more than the average of $6.16 to unlock these five games!

(obviously the average should be rising as a result of this)

The extra games are Bit Trip Runner, Dustforce, Gratuitous Space Battles, Jamestown and Wizorb.

Offline

#74 2012-09-28 09:54:26

TimorLee
Member
Registered: 2012-07-05
Posts: 46

Re: Humble Indie Bundle 6

The good news is that the Aur packages for Gratuitous Space Battles, Jamestown and Wizorb work.
Bad news: Bit Trip Runner is umaintained and marked as out of date. Although I admit, I haven't tried it yet (Too many games!).

Any update to that package would be appreciated!

Offline

#75 2012-09-28 12:12:56

sas
Member
Registered: 2009-11-24
Posts: 153

Re: Humble Indie Bundle 6

pyro539 wrote:

I just removed the package and installed the game using the installer. The same error occurs.

The output of strace can be found here: http://sprunge.us/VPKd
Additionally, output of a gdb backtrace: http://paste.debian.net/191903/
And the output of glxinfo: http://paste.debian.net/191904/

Sorry for not getting back to this sooner.
From that output, it seems that it gets through the library loading and sound initialization phase fine, but crashes when it tries to initialize some OpenGl textures.

Do any other 32bit applications work with OpenGL on your system?

Are you sure you have the correct 32bit libgl library installed? (i.e. in your case, lib32-catalyst-utils instead of lib32-libgl)

Last edited by sas (2012-09-28 12:22:46)


my AUR packages ~~ my community contributions ~~ my referral link for Copy.com (an Arch Linux compatible free cloud storage service - if you sign up via this link both of us get 5GB bonus storage!)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB