You are not logged in.

#1 2012-09-25 14:09:06

Invie
Member
From: Carnage, Destruction USA
Registered: 2012-09-08
Posts: 70

[SOLVED]Systemd issues

My system before an accident that occured in English was working just fine. I have a few very important documents that I would not want to lose.

/dev/sda1: clean, 225275/942848 files, 1921691/3769242 blocks
ERROR: root device mounted successfully, but /bin/systemd ro does not exist
Bailing out, you are on your own. Good luck.

sh: can't access tty; job control turned off

Last edited by Invie (2012-09-30 14:11:39)


Just living is not enough... one must have sunshine, freedom, and a little flower.  ~Hans Christian Andersen

Offline

#2 2012-09-25 14:35:22

lilsirecho
Veteran
Registered: 2003-10-24
Posts: 5,000

Re: [SOLVED]Systemd issues

Perhaps you need only to add it in the kernel line as:  init=/bin/systemd....

To make it permanent, enter it in grub.cfg after bootup.


Sign of the times: Navajo blanket..made in China
Hard work does not kill people but why risk it: Charlie Mccarthy
A man is not complete until he is married..then..he is finished.
When ALL is lost, what can be found? Even bytes get lonely for a little bit!     X-ray confirms Iam spineless!

Offline

#3 2012-09-25 14:58:53

tomk
Forum Fellow
From: Ireland
Registered: 2004-07-21
Posts: 9,838

Re: [SOLVED]Systemd issues

What accident occurred? Why does the language matter?

Post your bootloader configuration, at the very least, and any other details that you consider relevant.

Offline

#4 2012-09-25 15:16:26

Invie
Member
From: Carnage, Destruction USA
Registered: 2012-09-08
Posts: 70

Re: [SOLVED]Systemd issues

lilsirecho wrote:

Perhaps you need only to add it in the kernel line as:  init=/bin/systemd....

To make it permanent, enter it in grub.cfg after bootup.


Where exactly can I add these lines? Grub is not present when I ls in /etc.

 [rootfs /etc]#
fstab initrd-release mtab udev

[Edit]

Boot loader configuration? I cannot find it as it seems that in the root file system possesses only these directories:

#
bin dev init new_root run tmp 
bin config hooks lib root sys
sbin usr proc

[Details]

Laptop battery popped out in the middle of systemd upgrade. Was in the middle of creating the configuration files after adding the init=/bin/systemd line.

Last edited by Invie (2012-09-25 15:24:50)


Just living is not enough... one must have sunshine, freedom, and a little flower.  ~Hans Christian Andersen

Offline

#5 2012-09-25 16:07:50

teateawhy
Member
From: GER
Registered: 2012-03-05
Posts: 1,048
Website

Re: [SOLVED]Systemd issues

Probably the systemd files needed for boot are corrupted due to the crash. You will be able to start using sysvinit hopefully. Bring your bootloader to stop before loading anything and modify the kernel line. Remove init=/bin/systemd , then try to boot it.

Offline

#6 2012-09-25 16:17:50

tomegun
Developer
From: France
Registered: 2010-05-28
Posts: 661

Re: [SOLVED]Systemd issues

If you still cannot boot, try booting with "init=/bin/bash" on the kernel command line. You then have to mount your root read-write: "mount -o remount,rw /", reinstall systemd (which should already be downloaded): "pacman -S systemd", before syncing your fs and remounting it read-only again: "sync ; mount -o remount,ro /" and then reboot.

Offline

#7 2012-09-30 14:11:24

Invie
Member
From: Carnage, Destruction USA
Registered: 2012-09-08
Posts: 70

Re: [SOLVED]Systemd issues

Ah, I apologize for the waste of everyone's time, I decided to just reinstall Arch. I simply could not find any solutions to this problem. Thanks for the help.


Just living is not enough... one must have sunshine, freedom, and a little flower.  ~Hans Christian Andersen

Offline

#8 2012-09-30 14:56:01

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,412

Re: [SOLVED]Systemd issues

I think that situations like these should not really be marked as solved, since it is kind of a windowsy solution of "nuke and replace".... I thought that not doing that was one of the draws of a rolling release. 

BTW, I am glad you solved your problem.

Last edited by WonderWoofy (2012-09-30 14:57:10)

Offline

#9 2013-05-14 14:30:28

jimmy00784
Member
From: Smyrna, TN
Registered: 2012-02-10
Posts: 6
Website

Re: [SOLVED]Systemd issues

Ran into this very issue couple nights ago. The issue occurred after I rebooted from a massive update.
/bin/systemd doesn't exist anymore. Not sure if it was a symlink or a binary file itself, however, the file is located under the path /usr/lib/systemd/systemd.

For immediate relief, on the Grub boot loader screen, enter the configuration editor by hitting "e" and then find and modify init=/bin/systemd to init=/usr/lib/systemd/systemd
Hit F10 to boot using this new temporary configuration.

Once in, you'll need to update your /etc/defaults/grub.cfg file to change the reference init=/bin/systemd to init=/usr/lib/systemd/systemd and regenerate grub config using grub-mkconfig. Review ArchWiki for actual steps


Linux karim-bonobo-extreme 3.19.2-1-ARCH #1 SMP PREEMPT Wed Mar 18 16:21:02 CET 2015 x86_64 GNU/Linux

Offline

#10 2013-05-14 14:32:47

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,428

Re: [SOLVED]Systemd issues

jimmy00784, please always carefully read pacman's output.
https://bugs.archlinux.org/task/35195

Offline

#11 2013-05-14 14:41:19

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 12,944

Re: [SOLVED]Systemd issues

I am going to go ahead and close this thread because it is a different problem with the same symptom. 

This is new issue is a known artifact and is addressed in the pacman output and is immortalized in the pacman logs.


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Like you, I have no idea what you are doing, but I am pretty sure it is wrong...Jasonwryan
----
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB