You are not logged in.

#1 2012-09-30 20:58:54

Roken
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2012-01-16
Posts: 732

[SOLVED] SDD remounting

This has been driving me nuts, and I've tried dozens of things without luck.

I recently installed an OCZ Agility 3 128Mb SSD, and had trouble from the start, though I thought for a couple of days I'd fixed the problems.

The trouble is that the drive is unmounted, and remounted read only immediately. When this happens, the drives /dev assignment changes (e.g. from /dev/sda to /dev/sde), and this results in data corruption.

The problem can happen at any time, but can be accelerated by doing some heavy IO on the disc (e.g rsync). dmesg reports the following when it happens:

[ 5534.200908] sd 0:0:0:0: [sda] Synchronizing SCSI cache
[ 5534.629013] ata1: SATA link up 1.5 Gbps (SStatus 113 SControl 300)
[ 5535.006129] ata1.00: ATA-8: OCZ-AGILITY3, 2.22, max UDMA/133
[ 5535.006139] ata1.00: 234441648 sectors, multi 16: LBA48 NCQ (depth 31/32)
[ 5535.016124] ata1.00: configured for UDMA/133
[ 5535.016143] ata1: EH complete
[ 5535.016578] sd 0:0:0:0: [sda] Stopping disk
[ 5535.473708] scsi 0:0:0:0: Direct-Access     ATA      OCZ-AGILITY3     2.22 PQ: 0 ANSI: 5
[ 5535.475407] sd 0:0:0:0: [sde] 234441648 512-byte logical blocks: (120 GB/111 GiB)
[ 5535.475637] sd 0:0:0:0: [sde] Write Protect is off
[ 5535.475650] sd 0:0:0:0: [sde] Mode Sense: 00 3a 00 00
[ 5535.475696] sd 0:0:0:0: [sde] Write cache: enabled, read cache: enabled, doesn't support DPO or FUA
[ 5535.480588]  sde: sde1 sde2 sde3
[ 5535.481645] sd 0:0:0:0: [sde] Attached SCSI disk

I've tried disabling acpi on the kernel boot line (libata.noacpi=1), and have even rebuilt the kernel with libata acpi disabled at a kernel level, I've tried increasing the chipset voltage, setting max_power and min_power in link_power_management. Set the sata to each of ide mode and ahci, and even bought a PCIe sata controller (which uses a different chipset than my MB - Marvell v NVidia). Nothing I've tried prevents this issue, and I'm at the point now where I can't entrust my installation to the SSD and am back to running from a platter.

No SMART errors are reported, I've tried btrfs instead of ext4, and the drive has the latest firmware. Kernel currently in use is 3.6.0-rc7, although earlier kernels (from live CDs) produce the same error.

I'm out of ideas. Any other suggestions?

Last edited by Roken (2012-10-06 14:27:35)


[img=Speedtest]http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/5145583518[/img]

Nvidia GTX 670 2Gb, AMD Phenom II X4 (965BE) @ 3.6 Ghz (Overclocked) 8GB RAM
Linux user #545703

Offline

#2 2012-09-30 21:05:55

graysky
Member
From: The worse toilet in Scotland
Registered: 2008-12-01
Posts: 8,820
Website

Re: [SOLVED] SDD remounting

Sounds like a hardware problem.  Perhaps your SSD is damaged in some way?  I have a vertex4 on my current workstation and an G2 Intel on my other box.  Never experienced what you described. 

If you're certain that you're running the latest firmware on the SSD, and that you have AHCI enabled in the BIOS, I don't know what to say.  Have your tried erasing the SSD totally and reformatting?  There is a wiki page on this topic should you wish to try it.  I would be inclined to RMA it myself.


CPU-optimized Linux-ck packages @ Repo-ck  • AUR packagesZsh and other configs

Offline

#3 2012-09-30 21:19:23

Roken
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2012-01-16
Posts: 732

Re: [SOLVED] SDD remounting

It's what I was worried about. In the absence of further suggestions I'll take it back next week.


[img=Speedtest]http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/5145583518[/img]

Nvidia GTX 670 2Gb, AMD Phenom II X4 (965BE) @ 3.6 Ghz (Overclocked) 8GB RAM
Linux user #545703

Offline

#4 2012-10-01 18:07:03

Roken
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2012-01-16
Posts: 732

Re: [SOLVED] SDD remounting

Just an update, though we seem to have our answer. Trying a secure erase resulted in the driver dismounting part way through, and failing to remount. Now it simply isn't seen by BIOS, and hangs the PCIe sata controller at boot if I plug it into that (the MB ports take their time, but battle past it - still no sign of the drive though).

I think we have a dead drive. Will return it at weekend for replacement. If all goes well after that I'll mark as solved here.


[img=Speedtest]http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/5145583518[/img]

Nvidia GTX 670 2Gb, AMD Phenom II X4 (965BE) @ 3.6 Ghz (Overclocked) 8GB RAM
Linux user #545703

Offline

#5 2012-10-01 20:04:09

graysky
Member
From: The worse toilet in Scotland
Registered: 2008-12-01
Posts: 8,820
Website

Re: [SOLVED] SDD remounting

Cool... get the vertex4... my memory is that the 3 had all sorts of problem.


CPU-optimized Linux-ck packages @ Repo-ck  • AUR packagesZsh and other configs

Offline

#6 2012-10-01 20:29:02

Roken
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2012-01-16
Posts: 732

Re: [SOLVED] SDD remounting

I may, although for slightly less money and an apparently lower failure rate than OCZ, I may go for a Crucial instead.

I have to get something, though. Having experienced the massive speedup generally offered by an SSD housing root, I hate being back on a spinning platter now.


[img=Speedtest]http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/5145583518[/img]

Nvidia GTX 670 2Gb, AMD Phenom II X4 (965BE) @ 3.6 Ghz (Overclocked) 8GB RAM
Linux user #545703

Offline

#7 2012-10-02 14:49:57

windscape
Member
Registered: 2010-04-30
Posts: 69

Re: [SOLVED] SDD remounting

FWIW, I had a similar issue with an OCZ Vertex LE and an AMD chipset motheboard with ACHI. The filesystem kept getting corrupted, I think it was between boots. What resolved it was disabling C1E support in the BIOS. Oddly enough, it does not occur with C1E enabled on my new motherboard with an Intel Z68P chipset.

Offline

#8 2012-10-04 08:14:10

hunterthomson
Member
Registered: 2008-06-22
Posts: 794
Website

Re: [SOLVED] SDD remounting

I have a OCZ Vertex (original), Intel G2 80GB, and now Samsung 830. I have never had the problems you are talking about. I am vary confident when I say Linux has nothing to do with your problems.

Make sure you have the newest firmware on your SSD. Also, the OCZ forums are vary, vary good. I would highly sugjest you search/ask there.

I am 99.99% sure it is a hardware or firmware problem with your SSD. I would RMA that sucker. Try to get your money back, and buy a SSD that has a diffrent controler chip. The Crucial M4 is good and has a fair price.

Last edited by hunterthomson (2012-10-04 08:20:50)


OpenBSD-current Thinkpad X230, i7-3520M, 16GB CL9 Kingston, Samsung 830 256GB
Contributor: linux-grsec

Offline

#9 2012-10-06 14:28:44

Roken
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2012-01-16
Posts: 732

Re: [SOLVED] SDD remounting

Marking as solved. Returned the drive today and exchanged for a Crucial M4. Fitted, partitioned, OS cloned and now running from without a hitch.

The experience has soured me on OCZ drives now, but glad I'm back up & running.


[img=Speedtest]http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/5145583518[/img]

Nvidia GTX 670 2Gb, AMD Phenom II X4 (965BE) @ 3.6 Ghz (Overclocked) 8GB RAM
Linux user #545703

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB