You are not logged in.

#1 2012-09-29 16:21:20

Klemvor
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2012-09-29
Posts: 9

Driver GMA 3600 for x86_64 (ASUS eee 1255C)

I everybody, that's my first post, because I'm having a serious problem with the X terminal with my new ASUS 1255C. This netbook has the new Atom N2600 as processor, which uses as GPU the infamous GMA 3600. It comes with Ubuntu 12.04 installed, but yesterday I partition it and moved to Arch. The whole process of installation has gone fine without any error, and notingly the Alsa audio driver worked even finer than under Ubuntu, where the speakers were muted (although the headphones were still working).
Problems comes out when I first try to install the X system. Indeed I was following the Beginner's guide (it was my second Arch installation, and the first with the new method) and I installed the packages xorg-server xorg-xinit xorg-server-utils xorg-video-vesa and xorg-video-fbdev. Then the I followed the procedure for testing the X using Xterm and I found the first problem. Indeed the X started and seem to work fine, but I was unable to escape from it. Both the combination alt+ctrl+f1 and the command pskill X produced black screen. So looking for the errors I found out on this forum that the drivers for the GMA are new and tried to follow the installation procedure of the thread https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=144445&p=1/. What went wrong was that I was unable to build every package except libudev0 because in the PKGBUILD they all included the line arch=('i686'). I tried to change this line to arch=('x86_64') but only the linux32 package was installed, all the other were refused by pacman saying the architecture was not correct. My question is: there is a manner to get this driver compatible with the x86-64bit structure? Thank you in advice.


“Violence,” came the retort, “is the last refuge of the incompetent.”
- I. Asimov -

Offline

#2 2012-09-29 16:33:23

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,433

Re: Driver GMA 3600 for x86_64 (ASUS eee 1255C)

Offline

#3 2012-09-29 16:37:27

Klemvor
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2012-09-29
Posts: 9

Re: Driver GMA 3600 for x86_64 (ASUS eee 1255C)

Something goes wrong still when I try to install the linux32-headers, and I finally can't make the linux32 go on boot...


“Violence,” came the retort, “is the last refuge of the incompetent.”
- I. Asimov -

Offline

#4 2012-09-29 16:41:20

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,433

Re: Driver GMA 3600 for x86_64 (ASUS eee 1255C)

Klemvor wrote:

Something goes wrong still when I try to install the linux32-headers, and I finally can't make the linux32 go on boot...

What exactly goes wrong? How are you booting linux32? Maybe you should ask axs: https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php … 7#p1148477

Offline

#5 2012-09-29 16:54:37

Klemvor
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2012-09-29
Posts: 9

Re: Driver GMA 3600 for x86_64 (ASUS eee 1255C)

karol wrote:
Klemvor wrote:

Something goes wrong still when I try to install the linux32-headers, and I finally can't make the linux32 go on boot...

What exactly goes wrong? How are you booting linux32? Maybe you should ask axs: https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php … 7#p1148477

I use the syslinux bootloader, so I create a boot entry for linux32 in the following way adding to the syslinux.conf file the following entry:
LABEL arch
        LINUX ../vmlinuz-linux32
        APPEND root=/dev/sda3 ro
        INITRD ../initramfs-linux32.img
where vmlinuz-linux32 and initramfs-linux32.img where generated using the mkinitramfs command as explained in the guide. The root is sd3 because in repartioning my HD I made 4 partitions, a boot, sda1, a swap, sda2, the root, sda3 and the home, sda4. Then I tried to reboot and appeared the error:
[ 1.547790] request_module: runaway loop modprobe binfmnt-464c
... (similar)
Kernel pani - not syncing: No init found. Try passing the init = option to the kernel.
and I have no idea how to correct this error.


“Violence,” came the retort, “is the last refuge of the incompetent.”
- I. Asimov -

Offline

#6 2012-09-29 21:04:28

Thanoulis
Member
From: Thessaloniki, Greece
Registered: 2009-05-03
Posts: 31
Website

Re: Driver GMA 3600 for x86_64 (ASUS eee 1255C)

Klemvor wrote:

My question is: there is a manner to get this driver compatible with the x86-64bit structure? Thank you in advice.

Hi there. IIRC, Intel has released only a 32bit driver (http://downloadcenter.intel.com/Detail_ … ldID=21519) using 3.1 kernel and 1.11 Xorg (http://downloadmirror.intel.com/21519/e … enotes.pdf)

The problem with this, is that it has closed source embedded, so no recompiling for x86_64 there.

You can try with Arch32 and see what happens tho. Good luck smile


-- Beware of he who would deny you access to information, for in his heart he dreams himself your master.

Offline

#7 2012-09-30 07:33:23

Klemvor
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2012-09-29
Posts: 9

Re: Driver GMA 3600 for x86_64 (ASUS eee 1255C)

I tried to install the new Linux Kernel, 3.6 RC-7, and I have seen that it has the support for the gma 500, which is very similar to mine (except for the clock, which is 200MHz inferior), how could I say to Linux to try to use these drivers?


“Violence,” came the retort, “is the last refuge of the incompetent.”
- I. Asimov -

Offline

#8 2012-10-02 00:24:13

DoctorSamulus
Member
Registered: 2010-11-04
Posts: 53

Re: Driver GMA 3600 for x86_64 (ASUS eee 1255C)

Klemvor wrote:

I tried to install the new Linux Kernel, 3.6 RC-7, and I have seen that it has the support for the gma 500, which is very similar to mine (except for the clock, which is 200MHz inferior), how could I say to Linux to try to use these drivers?

AFAIK that's not possible. The GMA 3600 drivers are pretty much only good for HD videos, video out, minetest and openarena. Otherwise they're extremely unstable. You might want to consider just using fbdev if you don't play on doing any of these things.

Offline

#9 2012-10-02 10:21:47

Gusar
Member
Registered: 2009-08-25
Posts: 3,500

Re: Driver GMA 3600 for x86_64 (ASUS eee 1255C)

@DoctorSamulus: Klemvor is talking about the in-kernel driver, not the one released by intel.

@Klemvor: The in-kernel driver is modesetting only. You use it with xf86-video-fbdev or xf86-video-modesetting. You get native resolution, but no acceleration whatsoever.

Online

#10 2012-10-22 06:09:57

Loumnam
Member
Registered: 2012-10-22
Posts: 1

Re: Driver GMA 3600 for x86_64 (ASUS eee 1255C)

Gusar wrote:

@Klemvor: The in-kernel driver is modesetting only. You use it with xf86-video-fbdev or xf86-video-modesetting. You get native resolution, but no acceleration whatsoever.

Hi everyone!

I'm an arch newbie, I installed it mainly because everything I found about gma 3600 was on archlinux forums.

What you said about the in kernel driver is exactly what I want: I can live without hardware acceleration, but I would greatly appreciate native resolution. (currently in 800x600, max is 1024x600).

So, I installed the mainline kernel (3.7rc2-1), booted in it, but don't know how to activate the driver

Thanks a lot!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB