You are not logged in.

#1 2012-10-03 12:52:23

trunneml
Member
From: Germany Stuttgart
Registered: 2010-02-09
Posts: 21

CUPS systemd socket activation

Hi,

I'm currently using systemd. Normaly I don't need cups, so my idea was to use Systemds socket activation for cups.
But unfortunately I don't know how to activate it the right way. :-(
I enabled cups.socket and cups.path (and not cups.service), but on the next reboot cups was started as before when the gdm login screen was shown ( I switch to the Console and searched for cups in the ps aux output ).

What must I do that cups only starts when anything is looking for it?

Greez

Michael

Offline

#2 2012-10-03 13:42:10

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,412

Re: CUPS systemd socket activation

Answer me these questons three, there the other side you see...

What is your name?
In your quest, did you find this?
http://0pointer.de/blog/projects/socket-activation.html
What is the air speed velocity of an unladen swallow?

Last edited by WonderWoofy (2012-10-03 13:42:41)

Offline

#3 2012-10-03 14:07:57

trunneml
Member
From: Germany Stuttgart
Registered: 2010-02-09
Posts: 21

Re: CUPS systemd socket activation

WonderWoofy wrote:

What is your name?

I believe you can read. ;-)

Yes, I did. That's the reason why I disabled cups.service and enabled cups.socket and cups.path. But it didn't work. Cups started on startup, like before. There are posts about broken cups.service file versions and how to fix them. But they don't helped me to fix my current problem.

What is the air speed velocity of an unladen swallow?

Wikipedia should help you to find the answer of that question. Did it?

Offline

#4 2012-10-03 14:48:20

Agamemnon
Member
From: France
Registered: 2011-05-05
Posts: 42

Re: CUPS systemd socket activation

WonderWoofy wrote:

What is the air speed velocity of an unladen swallow?

An african or an european swallow?
http://style.org/unladenswallow/

I've enable cups.service cups.socket and cups.path and it works like a charm.
I have read that cups doesn't support socket activation actually.
In this case, you need to enable cups.service like me indeed...

Can anyone confirm this?


Pc: Intel core i7, 8Gb RAM, Archlinux 64bits, Gnome 3
Laptop 1: Intel Core2Duo, 4Gb RAM, Archlinux 64bits, Gnome 3
Laptop 2: Intel P4 HT, 512Mb RAM, Archlinux 32 bits, Gnome 3 too

Offline

#5 2012-10-03 15:00:42

trunneml
Member
From: Germany Stuttgart
Registered: 2010-02-09
Posts: 21

Re: CUPS systemd socket activation

Agamemnon wrote:

I've enable cups.service cups.socket and cups.path and it works like a charm.
I have read that cups doesn't support socket activation actually.
In this case, you need to enable cups.service like me indeed...
Can anyone confirm this?

Cups works for me, even without the cups.service file (only with the socket and path). My problem is that it starts on bootup and not when I want to print.

On https://bbs.archlinux.de/viewtopic.php? … 09#p288309 I found a hint that Gnome/GMD triggers the socket/path activation. This way cups is started when gdm is started and not on demand. It seems that the problem isn't directly cups or systemd, it is more gdm that for some reason triggers the socket activation of cups.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB