You are not logged in.

#1 2012-10-05 05:29:51

sheomualjy
Member
Registered: 2011-12-23
Posts: 37

systemd and gnome 3 time settings?

Hi

I am having issues with the timezone/time in the gnome 3 time settings, and by searching the forums, it seems I am not alone. My system is a brand new 64 bit Arch installation (I installed it yesterday) and the problem is as follows:

1. Click on the time at the center/top of the screen
2. Click on "date and time settings"
3. Unlock
4. Choose timezone as "Region: Australia, City: Perth"
5. Close out
6. Repeat steps one and 2
7. Timezone is still set to London, but it should be set to Perth, Australia

None of the solutions posted on this forum helped except one: Post #5, here: https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?pid=1100623

I followed the instructions and after updating grub and rebooting, the timezone worked fine, except the booting sequence looked weird (text did not fill the screen, each line just flashed at the top and then cleared itself) and my wireless network did not work.

I am guessing that systemd needs to be installed but I must have not set it up properly. How do I go about doing that? If systemd/lack-of-systemd is not the cause of the problem, what could it be?

Thanks for any help,
James

Offline

#2 2012-10-05 05:35:16

Scimmia
Bug Wrangler
Registered: 2012-09-01
Posts: 4,977

Re: systemd and gnome 3 time settings?

I don't see how systemd should effect, but it's not a bad idea to go head and switch. The systemd page in the wiki is very good.

As to what else could cause time issues:
1. Is your RTC set to localtime or UTC
2. Is your adjtime set to localtime or UTC?

Last edited by Scimmia (2012-10-05 05:39:20)

Online

#3 2012-10-05 05:40:36

sheomualjy
Member
Registered: 2011-12-23
Posts: 37

Re: systemd and gnome 3 time settings?

People have been saying that gnome 3 now depends on systemd for some things to work.

BTW, my hardware clock is set to UTC (I ran hwclock --systohc --utc when I set up arch) and so is the adjtime.



>> hwclock --show && cat /etc/adjtime

Fri 05 Oct 2012 13:45:15 WST  -0.626015 seconds
0.320197 1349440653 0.000000
1349440653
UTC

Last edited by sheomualjy (2012-10-05 05:46:17)

Offline

#4 2012-10-05 05:49:36

Scimmia
Bug Wrangler
Registered: 2012-09-01
Posts: 4,977

Re: systemd and gnome 3 time settings?

I know gnome 3.6 is going to require systemd, but I didn't think it was required on previous versions. I should probably let someone who still runs gnome talk about that, though. I've never been a fan.

Anyway, since you mentioned editing grub, I assume you're now starting up with systemd? If so, make sure to read the wiki page on systemd: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Systemd

It describes how to use unit files. I'm guessing this is why your wireless network doesn't work. Clearing after every line during boot is one I haven't seen. It is happening during kernel startup or just during systemd?

Online

#5 2012-10-05 07:09:37

sheomualjy
Member
Registered: 2011-12-23
Posts: 37

Re: systemd and gnome 3 time settings?

Ok, I just reinstalled arch completely, and am writing this on a brand-new, 100% according-to-beginners-guide system. I only installed gnome, not gnome-extra, if that helps.

The problem is still there - I can't set the timezone to Perth, Australia. What should I do to start troubleshooting this? How do I set up systemd?

Offline

#6 2012-10-05 07:48:55

hadrons123
Member
From: chennai
Registered: 2011-10-07
Posts: 1,249

Re: systemd and gnome 3 time settings?


LENOVO Y 580 IVYBRIDGE 660M NVIDIA
Unix is user-friendly. It just isn't promiscuous about which users it's friendly with. - Steven King

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB