You are not logged in.

#1 2012-10-05 18:53:40

utops
Member
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 41

[SOLVED] Reinstalling Arch on pure systemd - Localization problem.

Hi
I have accident regarding today filesystem update, so I decide to install arch again on pure systemd from the begining.
I am now on freshly installed xfce  and i just noticed my userspace is totally not localized, despite proper localization steps.

/etc/locale.gen
pl_PL.UTF-8 UTF-8
# cat /etc/vconsole.conf      
KEYMAP=pl
FONT=lat2-16
CONSOLEFONT=lat2a-16
FONT_MAP=8859-2
# locale -a       
locale: Cannot set LC_CTYPE to default locale: No such file or directory
locale: Cannot set LC_COLLATE to default locale: No such file or directory
C
POSIX
pl_PL.utf8
#
locale: Cannot set LC_CTYPE to default locale: No such file or directory
locale: Cannot set LC_ALL to default locale: No such file or directory
LANG=pl_PL.utf8@euro
LC_CTYPE="pl_PL.utf8@euro"
LC_NUMERIC="pl_PL.utf8@euro"
LC_TIME="pl_PL.utf8@euro"
LC_COLLATE="pl_PL.utf8@euro"
LC_MONETARY="pl_PL.utf8@euro"
LC_MESSAGES=C
LC_PAPER="pl_PL.utf8@euro"
LC_NAME="pl_PL.utf8@euro"
LC_ADDRESS="pl_PL.utf8@euro"
LC_TELEPHONE="pl_PL.utf8@euro"
LC_MEASUREMENT="pl_PL.utf8@euro"
LC_IDENTIFICATION="pl_PL.utf8@euro"
LC_ALL=

What i should do?

Last edited by utops (2012-10-06 11:46:37)

Offline

#2 2012-10-05 19:00:57

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,423

Re: [SOLVED] Reinstalling Arch on pure systemd - Localization problem.

What happens if you use 'pl_PL.UTF-8' instead of 'pl_PL.utf8@euro'?

Offline

#3 2012-10-05 19:11:23

utops
Member
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 41

Re: [SOLVED] Reinstalling Arch on pure systemd - Localization problem.

# locale
LANG=pl_PL.UTF-8
LC_CTYPE="pl_PL.UTF-8"
LC_NUMERIC="pl_PL.UTF-8"
LC_TIME="pl_PL.UTF-8"
LC_COLLATE="pl_PL.UTF-8"
LC_MONETARY="pl_PL.UTF-8"
LC_MESSAGES=C
LC_PAPER="pl_PL.UTF-8"
LC_NAME="pl_PL.UTF-8"
LC_ADDRESS="pl_PL.UTF-8"
LC_TELEPHONE="pl_PL.UTF-8"
LC_MEASUREMENT="pl_PL.UTF-8"
LC_IDENTIFICATION="pl_PL.UTF-8"
LC_ALL=

No errors like in previous output,but still im in foreign userspace. Nothing really change in that matter.

Offline

#4 2012-10-05 19:13:32

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,423

Re: [SOLVED] Reinstalling Arch on pure systemd - Localization problem.

What do you mean by 'foreign userspace'? What exactly isn't localized? Are there any language options in xfce?
Read https://plus.google.com/114015603831160 … zKCcnTWDpa on how do you set locale in Arch.

Last edited by karol (2012-10-05 19:13:51)

Offline

#5 2012-10-05 19:20:45

utops
Member
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 41

Re: [SOLVED] Reinstalling Arch on pure systemd - Localization problem.

Nothing is localized. Just nothing.
First time i installed arch everything regarding localization was out of the box after proper adjustments in rc.conf. Now it's like arch don't give a crap what i put in to locale.conf and locale.gen nor vconsole.conf,system is in english from roots to the xfce desktop.

Offline

#6 2012-10-05 19:26:25

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,423

Re: [SOLVED] Reinstalling Arch on pure systemd - Localization problem.

Post your /etc/locale.conf and $HOME/.config/locale.conf + the output of 'grep LOCALE /etc/rc.conf'.

Last edited by karol (2012-10-05 19:26:43)

Offline

#7 2012-10-05 19:40:17

utops
Member
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 41

Re: [SOLVED] Reinstalling Arch on pure systemd - Localization problem.

cat /etc/locale.conf 
LANG="pl_PL.UTF-8"
LC_MESSAGES="C"

$HOME/.config/locale.conf  is absent.

rc.conf is gone due fully system.d conversion.  It is now depricated.
But here:

# cat /etc/rc.conf.pacsave |grep LOCALE
LOCALE="pl_PL.UTF.8"

Offline

#8 2012-10-05 19:42:30

Mr.Elendig
#archlinux@freenode channel op
From: The intertubes
Registered: 2004-11-07
Posts: 3,709

Re: [SOLVED] Reinstalling Arch on pure systemd - Localization problem.

utops wrote:
LC_MESSAGES="C"

Change this if you want the output of applications to be in polish instead of engrish.

Edit: I think what you really meant to have there was LC_COLLATE=C

Last edited by Mr.Elendig (2012-10-05 19:43:53)


Evil #archlinux@freenode channel op and general support dude.
. files on github, Screenshots, Random pics and the rest

Offline

#9 2012-10-05 19:44:34

progandy
Member
Registered: 2012-05-17
Posts: 2,143

Re: [SOLVED] Reinstalling Arch on pure systemd - Localization problem.

If it doesn't help, how do you run xfce?

Last edited by progandy (2012-10-05 19:45:02)

Online

#10 2012-10-05 19:45:44

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,423

Re: [SOLVED] Reinstalling Arch on pure systemd - Localization problem.

Create ~/.config/locale.conf

$ cat $HOME/.config/locale.conf
LANG="pl_PL.UTF-8"

and reboot.

I know nothing about xfce, but can you tell me what part of the console stuff is in English? Can you copy / paste an example?

Offline

#11 2012-10-05 19:55:58

utops
Member
Registered: 2012-09-24
Posts: 41

Re: [SOLVED] Reinstalling Arch on pure systemd - Localization problem.

karol wrote:

Create ~/.config/locale.conf

$ cat $HOME/.config/locale.conf
LANG="pl_PL.UTF-8"

and reboot.

I know nothing about xfce, but can you tell me what part of the console stuff is in English? Can you copy / paste an example?

$HOME config don't work either.

From grub to login and from using CLI apps like nano and wifi-menu,mc,no polish language there.

Everything is in english...

Like system sudenly goes blind and don't see what i put in to configs.
Everything worked well on my old pretty instalation i already miss that times.

EDIT:
Sudenly it worked again.
Dunno what happened,just working again...
Ok,so thx for tips guys,have a good evening...

Last edited by utops (2012-10-05 20:02:08)

Offline

#12 2012-10-05 23:18:52

Mr.Elendig
#archlinux@freenode channel op
From: The intertubes
Registered: 2004-11-07
Posts: 3,709

Re: [SOLVED] Reinstalling Arch on pure systemd - Localization problem.

utops wrote:
karol wrote:

Create ~/.config/locale.conf

$ cat $HOME/.config/locale.conf
LANG="pl_PL.UTF-8"

and reboot.

I know nothing about xfce, but can you tell me what part of the console stuff is in English? Can you copy / paste an example?

$HOME config don't work either.

From grub to login and from using CLI apps like nano and wifi-menu,mc,no polish language there.

Everything is in english...

Like system sudenly goes blind and don't see what i put in to configs.
Everything worked well on my old pretty instalation i already miss that times.

EDIT:
Sudenly it worked again.
Dunno what happened,just working again...
Ok,so thx for tips guys,have a good evening...

  • see my previous post.

  • please mark the thread as solved.


Evil #archlinux@freenode channel op and general support dude.
. files on github, Screenshots, Random pics and the rest

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB