You are not logged in.

#1 2005-10-03 23:18:48

usedtire
Member
Registered: 2004-02-12
Posts: 50

pacman upgraded kernel now modules gone

:shock: I let pacman upgrade the kernel and just so happens we had a power outage and my my box rebooted.  When it boots back up  all my modules are gone and it will not find modules.dep.

Can someone help me out with this?

Offline

#2 2005-10-03 23:39:18

dtw
Forum Fellow
From: London, UK
Registered: 2004-08-03
Posts: 4,428
Website

Re: pacman upgraded kernel now modules gone

Reinstall the kernel - it should still be in /var/cache/pkgs/pacman.  If you cannot boot then use a livecd to chroot in and simply untar the pkg in the root of your drive.  Of course if you have several partitions for your install you may need to mount those first.  You should then be able to boot normally and then you can reinstall the kernel using pacman - it will give you file conlficts cos the files are still there but you can just force it.

Offline

#3 2005-10-04 00:05:39

T-Dawg
Forum Fellow
From: Wilmington, NC
Registered: 2005-01-29
Posts: 2,734

Re: pacman upgraded kernel now modules gone

after you chroot

pacman --root=/path/to/root -U /var/cache/pacman/pkg/kernelwhatever

should work too

Offline

#4 2005-10-04 00:16:00

dtw
Forum Fellow
From: London, UK
Registered: 2004-08-03
Posts: 4,428
Website

Re: pacman upgraded kernel now modules gone

I never knew that...

Offline

#5 2005-10-04 08:30:51

STiAT
Member
From: Vienna, Austria
Registered: 2004-12-23
Posts: 603

Re: pacman upgraded kernel now modules gone

Ran into the same troubles on my workstation (notebook working fine though).

Modules arel gone. Boottime i get a lot of errors concerning kernel modules and (i should look up dmesg) and hotplug needs about 10 minutes to start.

Dont know, may i ran into some troubles since i didn't update for a while. I'll play some when i'm at home again...

Still, your hint didn't help me out at all. But its not as if i need my workstation, since i still have this notebook to fulfill my tasks.

// STi


Ability is nothing without opportunity.

Offline

#6 2005-10-04 14:00:35

usedtire
Member
Registered: 2004-02-12
Posts: 50

Re: pacman upgraded kernel now modules gone

Pacman fixed the kernel.  Any idea why this happened and what we can do to fix it in the future?

Thanks for your help

Offline

#7 2005-10-04 15:27:38

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: pacman upgraded kernel now modules gone

Penguin wrote:

after you chroot

pacman --root=/path/to/root -U /var/cache/pacman/pkg/kernelwhatever

That should work *before* you chroot as well - I recently mucked my system up mid-library install.  bash or sh wouldn't work, so I couldn't chroot.  What I ended up doing was:

for f in /mnt/hda3/var/cache/pacman/pkg/*; do
   pacman -Ufr /mnt/hda3 $f
done

Of course, I had to clean out older versions first.

usedtire wrote:

Pacman fixed the kernel. Any idea why this happened and what we can do to fix it in the future?

This happened, probably because you use lilo or something and didn't rerun it.

Whenever a kernel is upgraded it removes your modules.  Think of it like this: if some-package-1.7 had a file /usr/bin/something-1.7, and you upgraded to version 1.9, you would most likely be left with /usr/bin/something-1.9.

There is no difference with kernel modules - if you upgrade, all the files from the old kernel go bye bye, and the new files are put in their place.

Kernel modules are not and never will be binary compatible, so when you upgrade your kernel, reboot as soon as you can (and run lilo if it applies)

Offline

#8 2005-10-04 22:24:23

usedtire
Member
Registered: 2004-02-12
Posts: 50

Re: pacman upgraded kernel now modules gone

thanks, didn't think to run lilo.  Live and learn.

Offline

#9 2005-10-05 08:46:53

Moo-Crumpus
Member
From: Hessen / Germany
Registered: 2003-12-01
Posts: 1,442

Re: pacman upgraded kernel now modules gone

dibblethewrecker wrote:

I never knew that...

Me too. I will immediately check 'man secrets'.


Frumpus addict
[mu'.krum.pus], [frum.pus]

Offline

#10 2005-10-05 21:11:32

usedtire
Member
Registered: 2004-02-12
Posts: 50

Re: pacman upgraded kernel now modules gone

well, it doesn't work yet again.   I get this now
Warning: Primary channel requires an 80-pin cable for operation

And no boot.  Woohoo.  I love pacman.

Offline

#11 2005-10-06 10:47:49

dtw
Forum Fellow
From: London, UK
Registered: 2004-08-03
Posts: 4,428
Website

Re: pacman upgraded kernel now modules gone

That seems bugger all to do with pacman to me!

Offline

#12 2005-10-06 12:09:29

usedtire
Member
Registered: 2004-02-12
Posts: 50

Re: pacman upgraded kernel now modules gone

That seems bugger all to do with pacman to me!

It has every thing to do with Pacman.

I managed to get the system working again.  Then thought it best to make sure I get it upgraded correctly.  Ran pacman again and bam nothing works again. 

I managed to get it finally working tried to roll it back to the previous kernel again and now nothing.  It gets to Loading Linux  and then it's done.  Nothing.  Blank screen, with an error that I can't remember off of the top of my head.  I will post it later.

If I have done nothing but work on that kernel what else could it be?  It's either pacman or that kernel package, but why should I worry about what is being placed in stable?  I thought it was stable?

Offline

#13 2005-10-06 12:25:01

mpie
Member
From: 404 Not found
Registered: 2005-03-06
Posts: 649

Re: pacman upgraded kernel now modules gone

did you edit your /etc/lilo.conf before running lilo

Offline

#14 2005-10-06 20:34:10

usedtire
Member
Registered: 2004-02-12
Posts: 50

Re: pacman upgraded kernel now modules gone

just out of curiosity what should I be editing?    Nothing changed as far as I can tell.  I booted with Knoppix and nothing is different as far as lilo.conf should be concerned.

It reads now when it boots. 
Uncompress Linux ....

ran out of input data

---system halted

Offline

#15 2005-10-07 01:54:42

usedtire
Member
Registered: 2004-02-12
Posts: 50

Re: pacman upgraded kernel now modules gone

OK, sorry if I insulted someone, but it was very frustrating.

It looks as if I somehow corrupted lilo or the kernel.  (not sure which)

Even booting with the Arch CD I couldn't get lilo to run.  Anyway.  Using the Arch CD I reinstalled the kernel and Lilo.  Now everything is fine.

Thanks for all your help.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB