You are not logged in.

#1 2012-10-08 02:26:57

caerolle
Member
Registered: 2012-09-28
Posts: 19

(SOLVED!) Did I install systemd?

Hi, sorry, have a very dumb question, I think...

I did an install today from the September iso, then tonight I see that the October iso seems to install systemd? I have been reading a lot about systemd on the Forum and in the Wiki, and was planning to convert as soon as I could, but maybe I already have it? It does seem that my rc.conf is mostly empty, and I have a lot of the systemd files, but I used the current Beginner's Installation Guide, and my rc.conf does still have network info.

So, do I have full systemd, or am I in the mixed systemd/initscripts installation, and need to finish the migration, as described in the systemd Wiki entry?

Sorry if this is a question I should have been able to answer on my own, but thanks if you can enlighten me!

Love Arch, BTW, so much great info, and such a nice transparent system!

caerolle  smile

Last edited by caerolle (2012-10-08 02:55:48)

Offline

#2 2012-10-08 02:28:50

2ManyDogs
Member
Registered: 2012-01-15
Posts: 1,658

Re: (SOLVED!) Did I install systemd?

You have the systemd package, but you're not using it until you do the steps in the systemd wiki page to enable it.

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Sy … stallation

You'll know when systemd is running -- your boot messages will change from blue to green, and your system will probably boot and shutdown much faster (especially shutdown).

Last edited by 2ManyDogs (2012-10-08 02:30:25)

Offline

#3 2012-10-08 02:29:34

headkase
Member
From: Canada
Registered: 2011-12-06
Posts: 1,428
Website

Re: (SOLVED!) Did I install systemd?

If you have initscripts installed then you are not fully systemd.  If you have initscripts installed and systemd installed and use the kernel boot parameter "init=/path/to/systemd" then you are mixed.  If you install systemd-sysvcompat that will remove initscripts and you remove the "init=..." kernel parameter and then you are full systemd.


We all make choices, but in the end, our choices make us.

Offline

#4 2012-10-08 02:31:01

caerolle
Member
Registered: 2012-09-28
Posts: 19

Re: (SOLVED!) Did I install systemd?

Wow, thanks guys, for the amazingly fast response! At least I am very close to having full systemd.

Thanks so very much!

caerolle  smile

Offline

#5 2012-10-08 02:32:46

2ManyDogs
Member
Registered: 2012-01-15
Posts: 1,658

Re: (SOLVED!) Did I install systemd?

Please mark your thread [solved] (edit the title of your first post) if you are satisified with the answers.

Offline

#6 2012-10-08 02:42:53

headkase
Member
From: Canada
Registered: 2011-12-06
Posts: 1,428
Website

Re: (SOLVED!) Did I install systemd?

Ok, when I converted over to systemd installing systemd-sysvcompat prompted the removal of initscripts which I did.  I can see now that that is no longer the case.  So, once you install systemd-sysvcompat remove initscripts to make your systemd installation pure.

Last edited by headkase (2012-10-08 02:44:45)


We all make choices, but in the end, our choices make us.

Offline

#7 2012-10-08 02:57:40

caerolle
Member
Registered: 2012-09-28
Posts: 19

Re: (SOLVED!) Did I install systemd?

I still need to figure out how to replace the last three daemons, syslog-ng, network, and crond, then I can. Reading several Wiki entries ATM.

Thanks again!  smile

Offline

#8 2012-10-08 03:03:07

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,412

Re: (SOLVED!) Did I install systemd?

look into the systemctl command

Offline

#9 2012-10-08 03:08:58

caerolle
Member
Registered: 2012-09-28
Posts: 19

Re: (SOLVED!) Did I install systemd?

Yes, I have wound up at systemctl, and am thoroughly confused. I think I saw a topic in the Forum earlier about writing a script to run these at boot or something. Probably going to take me a few days of research to figure out, but it isn't so urgent, I guess. I'll work through it eventually!

Offline

#10 2012-10-08 03:09:57

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,412

Re: (SOLVED!) Did I install systemd?

# systemctl enable whatever

BTW, do not run these at boot, it will not work.

Last edited by WonderWoofy (2012-10-08 03:10:24)

Offline

#11 2012-10-08 03:10:35

Scimmia
Bug Wrangler
Registered: 2012-09-01
Posts: 4,900

Re: (SOLVED!) Did I install systemd?

syslog-ng and crond have service files already. They're very, very simple to move from initscripts to systemd, just issue the enable command.

Offline

#12 2012-10-08 03:13:02

headkase
Member
From: Canada
Registered: 2011-12-06
Posts: 1,428
Website

Re: (SOLVED!) Did I install systemd?

Basically to make a service start at boot you do:

sudo systemctl enable <servicename>.service

You can replace enable with disable if you want to do the reverse.

The "<servicename>.service" is a unit.  See here.


We all make choices, but in the end, our choices make us.

Offline

#13 2012-10-08 03:13:55

caerolle
Member
Registered: 2012-09-28
Posts: 19

Re: (SOLVED!) Did I install systemd?

Yes, I found the replacements in the DAEMONS: systemd services cross-reference Wiki, but have to figure out where to put them.

And for the systemctl enables, seems those would have to be run somewhere from something at boot? I just need to sort through it all to make it work together.  smile

Last edited by caerolle (2012-10-08 03:14:34)

Offline

#14 2012-10-08 03:15:59

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,412

Re: (SOLVED!) Did I install systemd?

Did you read the systemd wiki page.  It has everything you need to know.

Offline

#15 2012-10-08 03:16:14

headkase
Member
From: Canada
Registered: 2011-12-06
Posts: 1,428
Website

Re: (SOLVED!) Did I install systemd?

The beauty of systemd is that you just enable them.  And from there systemd is magic.  It all happens from that one command providing that the unit itself is correct.

Last edited by headkase (2012-10-08 03:16:40)


We all make choices, but in the end, our choices make us.

Offline

#16 2012-10-08 03:16:16

caerolle
Member
Registered: 2012-09-28
Posts: 19

Re: (SOLVED!) Did I install systemd?

So, headkase, systemctl is persistent, then?

I get the use of it when you are already running and want to start a service, but am missing the connection to start-up, sorry.

Offline

#17 2012-10-08 03:17:57

headkase
Member
From: Canada
Registered: 2011-12-06
Posts: 1,428
Website

Re: (SOLVED!) Did I install systemd?

If you enable, as root or with sudo, a unit then it is persistent across reboots.  To disable it use "disable" instead of "enable" and then that is persistent across reboots.

Probably the best thing you can do right now is read the whole systemd wiki page - there's a lot of good information there.


We all make choices, but in the end, our choices make us.

Offline

#18 2012-10-08 03:18:30

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,412

Re: (SOLVED!) Did I install systemd?

That is why you enable it.  It means you are enabling it upon boot.

Offline

#19 2012-10-08 03:19:55

caerolle
Member
Registered: 2012-09-28
Posts: 19

Re: (SOLVED!) Did I install systemd?

(laughs)

Yes, WonderWoofy, I have read it many, many times. I am stupid, not lazy!  wink

Have been trying to wrap my brain around it for days. I have to say, I consider waiting until the installs just do full systemd and no initscripts, and re-install Arch (I have already installed like five times due to playing with multiple distros anyhow, have gotten pretty fast at it, and learned so much along the way).

Offline

#20 2012-10-08 03:22:43

Scimmia
Bug Wrangler
Registered: 2012-09-01
Posts: 4,900

Re: (SOLVED!) Did I install systemd?

systemctl start == start something immediately
systemctl enable == start something at boot.

Offline

#21 2012-10-08 03:23:03

caerolle
Member
Registered: 2012-09-28
Posts: 19

Re: (SOLVED!) Did I install systemd?

Wow, awesome, that is so easy! I guess I was just making it more complicated than it is. I know systemd is the future, but the one nice thing about the initscripts is you just go look at text files, and edit them. I will probably just give it a go, worst-case, I have to re-install if I make a non-bootable system.

Thanks so much for all your patience and persistence in helping me, guys!  smile

Offline

#22 2012-10-08 03:23:07

headkase
Member
From: Canada
Registered: 2011-12-06
Posts: 1,428
Website

Re: (SOLVED!) Did I install systemd?

Stupidity is curable, I'm almost proof! wink  If you need some things clarified I'll definitely try to help - as best I can!


We all make choices, but in the end, our choices make us.

Offline

#23 2012-10-08 03:24:14

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,412

Re: (SOLVED!) Did I install systemd?

Yeah, but I think if you just wait for it to become the default, you will be in much more distress because then you will *have to* learn it quickly.  So I think it is probably good that you are doing it now.

So systemd has different names for runlevels. (ie multi-user.target, graphical.target, shutdown.target, etc.).  If you look in the service files, it indicates in what runlevel/target it need to start with.  So when you enable something, it symlinks the service file to the necessary folder. 

So for instance, if you boot to the multi-user.target, it will start all the necessary runlevels/targets, then then everything that is in the multi-user.target.wants directory.

Offline

#24 2012-10-08 03:26:57

caerolle
Member
Registered: 2012-09-28
Posts: 19

Re: (SOLVED!) Did I install systemd?

WonderWoofy wrote:

(clip)...So systemd has different names for runlevels...(clip)

Ah, I wondered where those went! Thanks so much, I have learned hours worth from you guys in just a few minutes! I truly do appreciate all your help! I have book marked this thread, will use it to help me make the transition!

caerolle  smile

Last edited by caerolle (2012-10-08 03:27:55)

Offline

#25 2012-10-08 03:38:48

headkase
Member
From: Canada
Registered: 2011-12-06
Posts: 1,428
Website

Re: (SOLVED!) Did I install systemd?

caerolle wrote:

I still need to figure out how to replace the last three daemons, syslog-ng, network, and crond, then I can. Reading several Wiki entries ATM.

Thanks again!  smile

I originally enabled syslog-ng.service too.  I disabled it after however as systemd has a built-in journal:

sudo journalctl

We all make choices, but in the end, our choices make us.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB