You are not logged in.

#1 2012-10-08 14:36:10

pulce
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2011-02-14
Posts: 64

conky on i3: alignment problem

Hi everyone,
I googled this without success so I bother the forum users.
I'm currently using the i3 window manager, the problem is: I can't find a way to position conky the way I want.
The alignment option seems to be overridden by the wm, except if I use the

own_window_type override

but with that option conky get's covered by other windows.

Here's what I tried so far:
1) running conky as a normal window (didn't find a way to make it visible on all workspaces)
2) running conky as dock (it just sticks to the top of the screen)
3) running all other modes (desktop, panel) without success
4) running out of ideas (and choosing to ask the forum)

Anyone had the same problem or knows 1) if it can be solved 2) a way to solve it?

Thanks to everyone

Offline

#2 2012-10-08 14:39:59

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,412

Re: conky on i3: alignment problem

So what is it doing?  Is it tiling it like i3 does?

Offline

#3 2012-10-08 14:46:19

pulce
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2011-02-14
Posts: 64

Re: conky on i3: alignment problem

it behaves two ways:
1) with desktop, normal it behaves like a regular windows (tiles or floats)
2) with dock, panel it occupies the whole screen width for its height (the screen is vertically split, the top half is occupied by conky)

Offline

#4 2012-10-08 14:54:45

pulce
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2011-02-14
Posts: 64

Re: conky on i3: alignment problem

I should start with another question: is anyone using conky in i3 with working alignment?

Offline

#5 2012-10-08 15:04:13

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,412

Re: conky on i3: alignment problem

I think you need to tell i3 to always handle conky in a preferred way.  In this case it sounds like you want it to be floating so that you can mave it to your desired position. 

In any case, it would probably be good to actually give the relevent information needed to invesitgate this problem.  Like maybe your whole config.  Also whatever else you may think is relevent.  You will probably end up getting little to no help if you don't do this.

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Fo … troduction

Offline

#6 2012-10-08 15:08:27

2ManyDogs
Member
Registered: 2012-01-15
Posts: 1,683

Re: conky on i3: alignment problem

pulce wrote:

I should start with another question: is anyone using conky in i3 with working alignment?

Most I3 users pipe conky to the I3 status bar. http://i3wm.org/docs/userguide.html#_configuring_i3bar

Offline

#7 2012-10-08 15:11:53

pulce
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2011-02-14
Posts: 64

Re: conky on i3: alignment problem

Sorry, my bad.

Here is .i3/config

# This file has been auto-generated by i3-config-wizard(1).
# It will not be overwritten, so edit it as you like.
#
# Should you change your keyboard layout somewhen, delete
# this file and re-run i3-config-wizard(1).
#

#force_xinerama no

# i3 config file (v4)
#
# Please see http://i3wm.org/docs/userguide.html for a complete reference!

set $mod Mod4

# font for window titles. ISO 10646 = Unicode
font -misc-fixed-medium-r-normal--13-120-75-75-C-70-iso10646-1

# Use Mouse+$mod to drag floating windows to their wanted position
floating_modifier $mod

# start a terminal
# bindsym $mod+Return exec i3-sensible-terminal
bindcode $mod+53 exec xterm -fg white -bg black

# kill focused window
bindsym $mod+Shift+Q kill

# start dmenu (a program launcher)
#bindsym Mod1+F2 exec dmenu_run
bindcode 108 exec dmenu_run

# change focus
#bindsym $mod+h focus left
bindsym $mod+j focus left 
bindsym $mod+k focus right
bindsym $mod+l focus down

# alternatively, you can use the cursor keys:
bindsym Mod4+Tab focus right
bindsym Mod4+Left focus left
bindsym Mod4+Down focus down
bindsym Mod4+Up focus up
bindsym Mod4+Right focus right

# move focused window
bindsym $mod+Shift+J move left
bindsym $mod+Shift+K move down
bindsym $mod+Shift+L move up
bindsym $mod+Shift+colon move right

# alternatively, you can use the cursor keys:
bindsym $mod+Shift+Left move left
bindsym $mod+Shift+Down move down
bindsym $mod+Shift+Up move up
bindsym $mod+Shift+Right move right

# split in horizontal orientation
bindsym $mod+h split h

# split in vertical orientation
bindsym $mod+v split v

# enter fullscreen mode for the focused container
bindsym $mod+f fullscreen

# change container layout (stacked, tabbed, default)
bindsym $mod+s layout stacking
bindsym $mod+w layout tabbed
bindsym $mod+e layout default

# toggle tiling / floating
bindsym $mod+Shift+space floating toggle

# change focus between tiling / floating windows
bindsym $mod+space focus mode_toggle

# focus the parent container
bindsym $mod+a focus parent

# focus the child container
bindsym $mod+d focus child

# switch to workspace
bindsym $mod+1 workspace 1
bindsym $mod+2 workspace 2
bindsym $mod+3 workspace 3
bindsym $mod+4 workspace 4
bindsym $mod+5 workspace 5
bindsym $mod+6 workspace 6
bindsym $mod+7 workspace 7
bindsym $mod+8 workspace 8
bindsym $mod+9 workspace 9
bindsym $mod+0 workspace 10

# move focused container to workspace
bindsym $mod+Shift+exclam move workspace 1
bindsym $mod+Shift+at move workspace 2
bindsym $mod+Shift+numbersign move workspace 3
bindsym $mod+Shift+dollar move workspace 4
bindsym $mod+Shift+percent move workspace 5
bindsym $mod+Shift+asciicircum move workspace 6
bindsym $mod+Shift+ampersand move workspace 7
bindsym $mod+Shift+asterisk move workspace 8
bindsym $mod+Shift+parenleft move workspace 9
bindsym $mod+Shift+parenright move workspace 10

# reload the configuration file
bindsym $mod+Shift+C reload
# restart i3 inplace (preserves your layout/session, can be used to upgrade i3)
bindsym $mod+Shift+R restart
# exit i3 (logs you out of your X session)
bindsym $mod+Shift+E exit

# resize window (you can also use the mouse for that)
mode "resize" {
        # These bindings trigger as soon as you enter the resize mode

        # They resize the border in the direction you pressed, e.g.
        # when pressing left, the window is resized so that it has
        # more space on its left

bindsym j resize shrink left 10 px or 10 ppt
bindsym Shift+J resize grow   left 10 px or 10 ppt

bindsym k resize shrink down 10 px or 10 ppt
bindsym Shift+K resize grow   down 10 px or 10 ppt

bindsym l resize shrink up 10 px or 10 ppt
bindsym Shift+L resize grow   up 10 px or 10 ppt

bindsym semicolon resize shrink right 10 px or 10 ppt
bindsym Shift+colon resize grow   right 10 px or 10 ppt

        # same bindings, but for the arrow keys
bindsym Left resize shrink left 10 px or 10 ppt
bindsym Shift+Left resize grow   left 10 px or 10 ppt

bindsym Down resize shrink down 10 px or 10 ppt
bindsym Shift+Down resize grow   down 10 px or 10 ppt

bindsym Up resize shrink up 10 px or 10 ppt
bindsym Shift+Up resize grow   up 10 px or 10 ppt

bindsym Right resize shrink right 10 px or 10 ppt
bindsym Shift+Right resize grow   right 10 px or 10 ppt

        # back to normal: Enter or Escape
bindsym Return mode "default"
bindsym Escape mode "default"
}

bindsym $mod+r mode "resize"

# Start i3bar to display a workspace bar (plus the system information i3status
# finds out, if available)
#bar {
#	position bottom
#	workspace_buttons yes
#	status_command conky
#}

# change master volume
bindcode 122 exec amixer set Master 5-
bindcode 123 exec amixer set Master 5+

for_window [class="(?i)chromium"] border none
for_window [class="(?i)xterm"] border 1pixel
for_window [class="(?i)mplayer"] border none
for_window [class="(?i)firefox"] border none
for_window [class="(?i)uzbl-browser"] border none
for_window [class="(?i)conky"] floating enable border none

assign [class="(?i)chromium"] 1
assign [class="(?i)uzbl"] 1
assign [class="(?i)xterm"] 2
assign [class="(?i)gvim" ] 3
assign [class="(?i)gimp"] 4
assign [class="(?i)vlc"] 5
assign [class="(?i)mplayer"] 5
assign [class="(?i)thunderbird"] 6
# change keyboard layout
bindcode 210 exec switchLayout

# sleep
bindcode 124 exec sudo pm-suspend

# lock screen
bindcode $mod+47 exec xlock -mode rain
bindsym $mod+u exec uzbl-browser
bindcode 107 exec scrot
bindcode 121 exec amixer set Master toggle
bindcode 232 exec xbacklight -dec 40
bindcode 233 exec xbacklight -inc 40
#bindcode 235 exec mpc toggle

bindcode 235 exec /home/mb/script/monitor.sh
bindsym $mod+Mod1+k workspace next
bindsym $mod+Mod1+j workspace prev

# class	       border  bg      text
client.focused #dddddd #dddddd #000000 #cccccc

and here is .conkyrc

alignment top_right
use_xft yes
xftfont Terminus:size=9
update_interval 1
total_run_times 0
own_window yes
own_window_type override
own_window_transparent yes
double_buffer yes
border_inner_margin 10
border_outer_margin 0
minimum_size 250
maximum_width 300

TEXT

${font :bold:size=14} ${time %Y-%m-%d}
${font :bold:size=26}${time %H:%M:%S}
$font
${execi 600 cal -m}
$hr
${color grey}Uptime:$color $uptime
${color grey}RAM Usage:$color $mem/$memmax - $memperc%
${color grey}CPU Usage:$color ${cpu cpu0}% 
${cpugraph cpu0 20}
${color grey}Processes:$color $processes  ${color grey}Running:$color $running_processes
$hr
${color grey}File systems:
 / $color${fs_used /}/${fs_size /} ${fs_bar 6 /}
 /home/ $color${fs_used /home/}/${fs_size /home} ${fs_bar 6 /home}
${color grey}Networking:
Up:$color ${upspeed wlan0} ${color grey} - Down:$color ${downspeed wlan0}
${upspeedgraph wlan0 5555ff ffffff 120KiB -l}
${downspeedgraph wlan0 5555ff ffffff 1200KiB -l}

I don't know what kind of other information could be relevant, anyway I'm running Arch 64 on Intel i5 with Nouveau drivers for Nvidia 520mx.

Thank you

Offline

#8 2012-10-08 15:17:12

2ManyDogs
Member
Registered: 2012-01-15
Posts: 1,683

Re: conky on i3: alignment problem

Have you looked at this topic: https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=99064 ?

The first part is about using conky in I3.

Last edited by 2ManyDogs (2012-10-08 15:18:23)

Offline

#9 2012-10-08 15:17:32

pulce
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2011-02-14
Posts: 64

Re: conky on i3: alignment problem

2ManyDogs wrote:

Most I3 users pipe conky to the I3 status bar. http://i3wm.org/docs/userguide.html#_configuring_i3bar

Thank you for your answer. I used piped conky in the past but as far as I understand the i3status can't be used as a side panel (or can it?)

2ManyDogs wrote:

Have you looked at this topic: https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=99064 ?

The first part is about using conky in I3.

I've tried the configuration from Army, without success. I'll just read it again, it's likely that I missed something.

Last edited by pulce (2012-10-08 15:25:40)

Offline

#10 2012-10-08 15:18:58

2ManyDogs
Member
Registered: 2012-01-15
Posts: 1,683

Re: conky on i3: alignment problem

See my post just above yours about the I3 thread.

Offline

#11 2012-10-08 16:25:30

pulce
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2011-02-14
Posts: 64

Re: conky on i3: alignment problem

Looks like conky alone can't be aligned unless the own_window_type override option is used (but that way other windows overlap conky), I guess I'll look for a way to have a side panel on i3.

Thanks to everyone for your answers!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB