You are not logged in.

#1 2012-10-09 02:02:48

nouh
Member
Registered: 2012-10-09
Posts: 6

xmodmap config doesn't work[solved]

I use awesome as my WM, and I make some xmodmap tweak and put them in .Xmodmap file, and add this line in my .xinitrc
   /usr/bin/xmodmap $HOME/.Xmodmap
but every time the system startup, my config have not been loaded. how should I  load my xmodmap config ?

Last edited by nouh (2012-10-09 05:22:26)

Offline

#2 2012-10-09 02:13:24

2ManyDogs
Member
Registered: 2012-01-15
Posts: 1,654

Re: xmodmap config doesn't work[solved]

Welcome to Arch.

Is it possible that the $HOME environment variable is not set correctly? What happens if you specify the path directly:

 /usr/bin/xmodmap /home/nouh/.Xmodmap

(replace "nouh" with your username if it is not "nouh" of course)

What happens if you run this command after the system is running? Does it return any errors?

Last edited by 2ManyDogs (2012-10-09 02:14:51)

Offline

#3 2012-10-09 02:26:35

nouh
Member
Registered: 2012-10-09
Posts: 6

Re: xmodmap config doesn't work[solved]

thanks for your immediate reply , and I am quite happy to be here. but your suggestion doesn't solve it ,  and $HOME variable is set properly.

Offline

#4 2012-10-09 02:27:13

2ManyDogs
Member
Registered: 2012-01-15
Posts: 1,654

Re: xmodmap config doesn't work[solved]

What happens if you run this command from a terminal after awesome starts?

Would you please post your .Xmodmap file?

Last edited by 2ManyDogs (2012-10-09 02:27:42)

Offline

#5 2012-10-09 02:44:08

nouh
Member
Registered: 2012-10-09
Posts: 6

Re: xmodmap config doesn't work[solved]

there is no error when I run this

   /usr/bin/xmodmap /home/zach/.Xmodmap

and my config will work properly, the problem is it doesn't be loaded on system startup...

my Xmodmap config is:

remove Lock = Caps_Lock
remove Control = Control_L
keysym Caps_Lock = Control_L
add Lock = Caps_Lock
add Control = Control_L

Last edited by nouh (2012-10-09 02:45:13)

Offline

#6 2012-10-09 02:48:41

2ManyDogs
Member
Registered: 2012-01-15
Posts: 1,654

Re: xmodmap config doesn't work[solved]

Do you use a display manager to start awesome, or do you "startx" directly from the console? Would you please post your .xinitrc file?

Last edited by 2ManyDogs (2012-10-09 02:48:59)

Offline

#7 2012-10-09 03:17:32

nouh
Member
Registered: 2012-10-09
Posts: 6

Re: xmodmap config doesn't work[solved]

I use slim as the display manager. and start it in /etc/inittab .  my xinitrc is as follows:

#!/bin/sh
#
# ~/.xinitrc
#
# Executed by startx (run your window manager from here)

if [ -d /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc.d ]; then
  for f in /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc.d/*; do
    [ -x "$f" ] && . "$f"
  done
  unset f
fi

export XMODIFIERS=@im=fcitx
export GTK_IM_MODULE=fcitx
export QT_IM_MODULE=fcitx

killall fcitx
fcitx &
xsetroot -cursor_name left_ptr
xrdb -merge ~/.Xresources
/usr/bin/xmodmap /home/zach/.Xmodmap
exec awesome

Offline

#8 2012-10-09 03:21:00

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,412

Re: xmodmap config doesn't work[solved]

Is it possible that it is trying to run your xmodmap too early (it hasn't set up keyboard yet)?

Edit:  So maybe appending sleep 5 with a & prepended?  Or even starting it with awesome's startup script.

Last edited by WonderWoofy (2012-10-09 03:22:01)

Offline

#9 2012-10-09 03:43:07

nouh
Member
Registered: 2012-10-09
Posts: 6

Re: xmodmap config doesn't work[solved]

maybe that is the problem , I put it in the awesome's rc.lua, and it work properly. thx

Offline

#10 2012-10-09 04:57:08

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,412

Re: xmodmap config doesn't work[solved]

Excellent.  Please mark your post as solved by editing the first post and appending [Solved].

Offline

#11 2012-10-09 19:53:38

csslayer
Member
Registered: 2009-03-05
Posts: 84

Re: xmodmap config doesn't work[solved]

nouh wrote:

I use slim as the display manager. and start it in /etc/inittab .  my xinitrc is as follows:

#!/bin/sh
#
# ~/.xinitrc
#
# Executed by startx (run your window manager from here)

if [ -d /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc.d ]; then
  for f in /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc.d/*; do
    [ -x "$f" ] && . "$f"
  done
  unset f
fi

export XMODIFIERS=@im=fcitx
export GTK_IM_MODULE=fcitx
export QT_IM_MODULE=fcitx

killall fcitx
fcitx &
xsetroot -cursor_name left_ptr
xrdb -merge ~/.Xresources
/usr/bin/xmodmap /home/zach/.Xmodmap
exec awesome

Read:
http://fcitx-im.org/wiki/FAQ#xmodmap_se … verwritten

Offline

#12 2013-02-05 12:40:14

daspostloch
Member
Registered: 2009-12-17
Posts: 37

Re: xmodmap config doesn't work[solved]

Hi, could you post what you added to your rc.lua? It seems there are thousands of ways to run something from there and I'd be interested in a quick, clean and easy solution which does not run xmodmap again when awesome is restarted. Thanks!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB