You are not logged in.

#1 2012-10-09 15:00:59

riverc4c
Member
From: NYC
Registered: 2012-09-11
Posts: 4

[SOLVED] Can't F2 into BIOS anymore?

Hello all,
     I usually try to resolve my issues myself, but after much searching the web and the Arch forums, I can't seem to find a solution. I've been using Arch for about three months and my system is working fantastic. I installed Arch on a Toshiba Satellite L755 with an ugraded SSD and 8GB RAM. The only WM I'm running is stumpwm. I noticed a few days ago that the Toshiba splash screen that appears before the syslinux screen dissappeared. I try hitting F2 to go into the BIOS and I can't. It just goes straight to syslinux. It's not a huge deal right now because I'm happy with the way my system is running, but If I wanted to change something in there, I'm not able to. Any Ideas what went wrong?

Again, sorry if this has been posted. Iooked around and do not seem to find anything that points me in the right direction.

Thanks!

Last edited by riverc4c (2012-10-09 22:33:37)

Offline

#2 2012-10-09 15:07:34

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: England
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 4,869

Re: [SOLVED] Can't F2 into BIOS anymore?

Are you resuming from suspend or something? Try shutting down fully, then booting your PC up normally.


Sakura:-
Mobo: ASUS P8Z77-V PRO // Processor: Intel Core i7-3770K 3.4GHz // GFX: nVidia GeForce GTX 970 Ti // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR3 (@ 2133MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB Seagate SATAII 5x 1TB Samsung SATAII, 2x 120GB Corsair SSD

Offline

#3 2012-10-09 15:12:19

riverc4c
Member
From: NYC
Registered: 2012-09-11
Posts: 4

Re: [SOLVED] Can't F2 into BIOS anymore?

WorMzy wrote:

Are you resuming from suspend or something? Try shutting down fully, then booting your PC up normally.

Thanks for the reply. No, I do not hybernate or suspend. I've tried powering down and even pulling the battery. It doesn't work.

Offline

#4 2012-10-09 17:46:05

johni
Member
Registered: 2012-02-03
Posts: 102

Re: [SOLVED] Can't F2 into BIOS anymore?

Maybe it is just loading the bootloader quicker than you can get the keypress in.

At the syslinux menu, hit ctrl-alt-del, and start continually pressing f2 rapidly as it reboots.

Are you sure f2 is the key?  I can never remember which key for mine since it seems to be different for every pc/laptop I have.

Offline

#5 2012-10-09 17:53:00

DSpider
Member
From: Romania
Registered: 2009-08-23
Posts: 2,273

Re: [SOLVED] Can't F2 into BIOS anymore?

According to the Beginners' Guide, it's usually Delete, F1, F2, F11 or F12. Keep spamming one of these keys during the initial bootup phase. Start with Delete first, which is probably the most common. It may also be that the key itself has problems (lint, condensation, dirt, sand), so try using a USB keyboard.

And don't forget to mark the topic as solved (by editing the first post).


"How to Succeed with Linux"

I have made a personal commitment not to reply in topics that start with a lowercase letter. Proper grammar and punctuation is a sign of respect, and if you do not show any, you will NOT receive any help (at least not from me).

Offline

#6 2012-10-09 22:32:15

riverc4c
Member
From: NYC
Registered: 2012-09-11
Posts: 4

Re: [SOLVED] Can't F2 into BIOS anymore?

Thanks for all the replies guys. I decided to open the laptop and yank out the internal battery on the motherboard, waited a few minutes and put it back on. Presto...it worked. That was definitely weird.

Offline

#7 2012-10-10 01:45:19

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,412

Re: [SOLVED] Can't F2 into BIOS anymore?

Sometimes I wish POST would go away... but then I guess I would be in this situation as well.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB