You are not logged in.

#1 2012-10-09 16:00:07

technolog
Member
From: Europe / Slovenia / Grosuplje
Registered: 2012-01-28
Posts: 116

Do I have two graphic cards? (lspci output)

00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Mobile 4 Series Chipset Memory Controller Hub (rev 07)
00:01.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation Mobile 4 Series Chipset PCI Express Graphics Port (rev 07)
....
00:1f.2 SATA controller: Intel Corporation 82801IBM/IEM (ICH9M/ICH9M-E) 4 port SATA Controller [AHCI mode] (rev 03)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI RV710 [Mobility Radeon HD 4300 Series]
01:00.1 Audio device: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI RV710/730 HDMI Audio [Radeon HD 4000 series]
03:00.0 Network controller: Atheros Communications Inc. AR9285 Wireless Network Adapter (PCI-Express) (rev 01)
45:00.0 Ethernet controller: Marvell Technology Group Ltd. 88E8072 PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet Controller (rev 10)



1. Are the units in bold both graphic cards?

2. Is the xf86-video-ati all I need, or do I also need xf86-video-intel?

3. Are my kernel parameters making any sense? They are supposed to reduce power consumption.

i915.i915_enable_rc6=1 i915.i915_enable_fbc=1 i915.lvds_downclock=1

4. Why is intel_agp listed in lsmod? (the cards are pci express)

intel_agp              11096  0

Last edited by technolog (2012-10-09 16:05:03)

Offline

#2 2012-10-09 16:01:39

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,412

Re: Do I have two graphic cards? (lspci output)

I think the key here is graphics port.  A card would be a controller.

Offline

#3 2012-10-09 18:00:26

DSpider
Member
From: Romania
Registered: 2009-08-23
Posts: 2,273

Re: Do I have two graphic cards? (lspci output)

This is something you could've easily looked up yourself. Google it either by laptop brand and model (if it's a laptop) or by CPU specs.

$ cat /proc/cpuinfo | grep "model name"

"How to Succeed with Linux"

I have made a personal commitment not to reply in topics that start with a lowercase letter. Proper grammar and punctuation is a sign of respect, and if you do not show any, you will NOT receive any help (at least not from me).

Offline

#4 2012-10-09 18:13:04

mamamia88
Member
Registered: 2012-08-29
Posts: 483

Re: Do I have two graphic cards? (lspci output)

Laptop or Desktop?  Laptop almost 100% sure you don't.  Desktop the best way to find out is just pull off the side and look.

Offline

#5 2012-10-09 18:17:37

technolog
Member
From: Europe / Slovenia / Grosuplje
Registered: 2012-01-28
Posts: 116

Re: Do I have two graphic cards? (lspci output)

Thank you, now I'm sure that AMD 4300 is the only graphic card I have.

I would like to ask if anyone has an answer to third and fourth question.

Offline

#6 2012-10-09 21:05:34

Lekensteyn
Member
From: Netherlands
Registered: 2012-06-19
Posts: 179
Website

Re: Do I have two graphic cards? (lspci output)

3) will not have any effect since you do not have a intel GPU. `lsmod | grep i915` should show nothing too as it does not detect any intel graphics.

1) Only "3D controller"s and "VGA compatible controller"s are graphics cards (classes 0302 and 0300 respectively). Use the next command to list all of the graphics card you have:

lspci -nn | grep '\[03[02]'

Offline

#7 2012-10-10 01:15:58

weirddan455
Member
Registered: 2012-04-15
Posts: 192

Re: Do I have two graphic cards? (lspci output)

technolog wrote:

4. Why is intel_agp listed in lsmod? (the cards are pci express)

I have the same module loaded on my PCI Express system so I'm guessing it's normal.  That module probably started out for agp slots but then expanded to also support PCI-E.  I wouldn't worry about it as long as everything else works.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB