You are not logged in.

#1 2012-10-11 16:26:23

Pranavg1890
Member
From: Nagpur,India
Registered: 2012-09-07
Posts: 111

can linux tty be replaced completely by fbterm on startup?

Hi Friends. I want all the tty's(1 to 6) to be replaced by fbterm. Is it possible to do this?

Sorry.I think i have posted at wrong place. Please, a moderator please tell me whether i should create a new one or i have to move it to applications and desktop enviroments.

Last edited by Pranavg1890 (2012-10-12 08:53:30)


Using Openbox + Tint2 + Idesk

Offline

#2 2012-10-12 10:55:44

teateawhy
Member
From: GER
Registered: 2012-03-05
Posts: 1,060
Website

Re: can linux tty be replaced completely by fbterm on startup?

Any command added to your ~/.bash_profile will be executed after loggin into arch.

#
# ~/.bash_profile
#

[[ -f ~/.bashrc ]] && . ~/.bashrc
fbterm

This should work on every tty.
You can also check wether you are on the first tty and only execute fbterm there with the following test.

if [[ $(tty) = /dev/tty1 ]] ; then
fbterm
fi

In my opinion this fits into 'Newbie Corner'.

Last edited by teateawhy (2012-10-12 10:56:19)

Offline

#3 2012-10-12 12:25:28

Pranavg1890
Member
From: Nagpur,India
Registered: 2012-09-07
Posts: 111

Re: can linux tty be replaced completely by fbterm on startup?

Thanks @teateawhy(by the way, a good alias for tty), it worked. But when I switch from one virtual terminal to another I see remnants of the earlier bash screen (linux console).so, how to tell fbterm to clear the bash screen before starting up?


Using Openbox + Tint2 + Idesk

Offline

#4 2012-10-12 15:08:24

teateawhy
Member
From: GER
Registered: 2012-03-05
Posts: 1,060
Website

Re: can linux tty be replaced completely by fbterm on startup?

Maybe you can solve it by setting a black or other background image. It only requires fbv.

BACKGROUND IMAGE
FbTerm doesn't load and parse any image file with various formats directly, instead it takes a screen shot of frame buffer device on startup if variable FBTERM_BACKGROUND_IMAGE  is  defined, then  uses  this  screen  shot  as the background for text rendering. In order to enable background image support, user should first put a image to frame buffer device with a image viewer. A wrapper script using fbv is listed below:

           #!/bin/bash

           # fbterm-bi: a wrapper script to enable background image with fbterm
           # usage: fbterm-bi /path/to/image fbterm-options

           echo -ne "\e[?25l" # hide cursor

           fbv -ciuker "$1" << EOF
           q
           EOF

           shift
           export FBTERM_BACKGROUND_IMAGE=1
           exec fbterm "$@"

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB