You are not logged in.

#1 2005-05-29 16:01:05

jellywerker
Member
From: Sunny Seattle
Registered: 2005-04-04
Posts: 286

Grub help

I  reinstalled arch, and forgot how I set up grub. When I do the defaults it takes me to the grub commandline, but how do I boot from there, and how do I create a menu?

Offline

#2 2005-05-29 16:22:35

scarecrow
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2004-11-18
Posts: 714

Re: Grub help

You can reboot from your Arch CD, mount your existing partitions and reinstall Grub, omitting the other installation steps.


Microshaft delenda est

Offline

#3 2005-05-29 16:26:09

jellywerker
Member
From: Sunny Seattle
Registered: 2005-04-04
Posts: 286

Re: Grub help

I know that, but how do I make a menu, etc...

Offline

#4 2005-05-29 16:29:49

firedance
Member
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Registered: 2005-04-18
Posts: 131

Re: Grub help

http://wiki2.archlinux.org/index.php/Gr … 20examples

grub.conf can be found in /boot/grub/

Offline

#5 2005-05-29 18:42:36

xerxes2
Member
From: Malmoe, Sweden
Registered: 2004-04-23
Posts: 1,249
Website

Re: Grub help

jellywerker wrote:

I know that, but how do I make a menu, etc...

your problem seems to be that grub is looking for the menu.lst file in the wrong place(/boot/grub/menu.lst is located in another partition),
you have to reinstall grub again as explained in the wiki, this has to do with your specific partition layout,


arch + gentoo + initng + python = enlisy

Offline

#6 2005-05-29 19:40:20

jellywerker
Member
From: Sunny Seattle
Registered: 2005-04-04
Posts: 286

Re: Grub help

ahh, thank you, it works now

Offline

#7 2005-10-08 16:32:48

kozaki
Member
From: London >. < Paris
Registered: 2005-06-13
Posts: 644
Website

Re: Grub help

scarecrow wrote:

You can reboot from your Arch CD, mount your existing partitions and reinstall Grub, omitting the other installation steps.

I just did that :
- Saved my Ubuntu-created /boot/grub to Ubuntu /home/me *
- forgot to install Grub bootlaoder *
- rebooted on Install (base) CDRom,
- went straightfully to 'Partitionning' then pointing the right partition for "SWAP", then pointing to the right partition for "/" but *without* writing it since I don't want to install all again. It then mounted / flawlesly smile
- configured then installed Grub on an unmounted partition (hda6, which is Ubuntu /home)

Thereafter I was unable to boot, neither to find that [/hda6]/grub i was expecting :shock:


* Should have backed up whole /boot directory. Big mistake. Tired I was, stupid mistakes i did :oops:


Seeded week #28: Arch 25 gig (stock 12, Talking 1, Anywhere 11, Apricity 1)
Desktop @3.30GHz 8 gig RAM, Arch linux-ck
laptop1 Atom 2 gig RAM, Arch linux stock i686 (5+H battery smile) & 2: ARM Tegra K1 4 gig RAM, ChrOS
Atom Z520 2 gig RAM, OMV (Debian 7) kernel 3.16 bpo on SDHC | PGP Key: 0xFF0157D9

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB