You are not logged in.

#1 2012-10-13 16:22:33

firippusan
Member
Registered: 2012-10-13
Posts: 17

my debian-arch comparison and mem usage

Hi all, I'm a long time debian user and trying arch was itching. The recent signed package feature convinced me to try it.
It installed flawlessly, reminded me of gentoo many years ago, without the waiting.

I'm surprised that xfce uses more memory than my similar minimal debian (testing) install (on both setups I have xfce4, alsa, and not much more).
Under debian I use ~140M once Xfce is started, against 200 for arch (~70 processes running on arch vs 100ish on debian).

Surprised why this is the case. Anybody has an idea?

Pros I found:
very detailed wiki.
pacman is fast!
wine installed without sweat... unlike debian.
I installed some aur packages (fpdb: a poker hud) and the install was easy.


Unfortunately it seems there's  a difference arch-other distros regarding python (python2)
and fpdb doesn't like it. There was a hack suggested in the aur but it no longer works with the latest fpdb version.
Given this seems an arch specific issue, fpdb devs seem not concerned (not blaming them) about it (I guess this is a cons of smaller distros).
Tried playing around but haven't found a fix (yet).

Offline

#2 2012-10-13 16:53:48

brebs
Member
Registered: 2007-04-03
Posts: 3,427

Re: my debian-arch comparison and mem usage

Difference of XFCE 4.8 vs 4.10, for a start.

Offline

#3 2012-10-13 17:39:18

firippusan
Member
Registered: 2012-10-13
Posts: 17

Re: my debian-arch comparison and mem usage

Ok after a reboot I was wrong, arch wins for mem usage, and is at 110, which is consistent with 1/3 less processes than debian.

So all in all a positive experience so far.

Offline

#4 2012-10-13 19:51:36

2ManyDogs
Member
Registered: 2012-01-15
Posts: 1,670

Re: my debian-arch comparison and mem usage

Welcome to Arch. How much memory do you have? Why do you think lower memory use is better? Perhaps the distro using more memory is doing something useful with it like caching disk operations. This kind of comparison comes up on a fairly regular basis, and the usual consensus is that it's meaningless.

Last edited by 2ManyDogs (2012-10-13 19:52:13)

Offline

#5 2012-10-13 19:59:35

brain0
Developer
From: Aachen - Germany
Registered: 2005-01-03
Posts: 1,382

Re: my debian-arch comparison and mem usage

I think there's a python policy now that every python script must explicitly use "python2" or "python3", and "python" is only meant for interactive usage.

Offline

#6 2012-10-13 20:07:29

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,428

Re: my debian-arch comparison and mem usage

brain0 wrote:

I think there's a python policy now that every python script must explicitly use "python2" or "python3", and "python" is only meant for interactive usage.

* https://mailman.archlinux.org/pipermail … 23558.html (beginning of the thread)
* https://mailman.archlinux.org/pipermail … 23563.html (one of the comments)

Offline

#7 2012-10-14 09:41:36

Janarto
Member
From: Paris
Registered: 2008-09-23
Posts: 80

Re: my debian-arch comparison and mem usage

Memory usage is not a good indicator, ram is here to be used, not stand idle

Offline

#8 2012-10-24 05:49:13

donniezazen
Member
From: Salt Lake City
Registered: 2011-06-24
Posts: 671
Website

Re: my debian-arch comparison and mem usage

Can RAM use account to CPU overhead?

Offline

#9 2012-10-24 15:44:01

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 12,953

Re: my debian-arch comparison and mem usage

donniezazen wrote:

Can RAM use account to CPU overhead?

Sorry, I cannot parse that question.  Can you please restate it?


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Like you, I have no idea what you are doing, but I am pretty sure it is wrong...Jasonwryan
----
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

#10 2012-10-24 17:05:31

donniezazen
Member
From: Salt Lake City
Registered: 2011-06-24
Posts: 671
Website

Re: my debian-arch comparison and mem usage

My system tends to perform poor when it comes to system temperature and power consumption. I have been meaning to do some research to learn more about things that might cause higher temperature and power consumption. My system has 8GB RAM and I hardly use 2GB. Can using more RAM make CPU work more or harder thus causing increased system temperature and power consumption?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB