You are not logged in.

#1 2012-10-14 10:36:42

johnpiers
Member
From: Norwood, Johannesburg
Registered: 2012-07-22
Posts: 15

Keyboard Volume Controls

Upfront please, if there already is a topic that's related, forgive me, I have looked and cannot see anything that seems to describe my problem or similar.

PC has 64bit version of ARCH installed and is pretty much up-to-date as from today.

My volume controls on the keyboard have stopped working? I have checked to see what the assigned keys are and they appear to be assigned correctly. My keyboard is an old MS Wireless Natural Multimedia Keyboard. Everything was working fine up till yesterday. In the last two days there have been quite a few updates so not sure if this is the cause. I really don't know where to start so if someone can point me in the right direction I would be grateful. Thanks.

Piers.

Offline

#2 2012-10-14 11:15:54

illusionist
Member
From: localhost
Registered: 2012-04-03
Posts: 498

Re: Keyboard Volume Controls

What DE or WM you are running ?


  Never argue with stupid people,They will drag you down to their level and then beat you with experience.--Mark Twain
@github

Offline

#3 2012-10-14 11:31:26

johnpiers
Member
From: Norwood, Johannesburg
Registered: 2012-07-22
Posts: 15

Re: Keyboard Volume Controls

I presume you are asking what windows manager am I using? Nautilus 3.4.2 GNOME 3.4.2

Last edited by johnpiers (2012-10-14 11:34:27)

Offline

#4 2012-10-14 11:36:46

graysky
Member
From: /run/user/1000
Registered: 2008-12-01
Posts: 8,444
Website

Re: Keyboard Volume Controls


CPU-optimized Linux-ck packages @ Repo-ck  • AUR packagesZsh and other configs

Offline

#5 2012-10-14 11:42:47

johnpiers
Member
From: Norwood, Johannesburg
Registered: 2012-07-22
Posts: 15

Re: Keyboard Volume Controls

As I said in my first post..... I did look but obviousely not that well and I did not see this. I will go and have a look at the post in the link provided!

As an fyi, the link says that the issue is solved but most definitely is not. In other words no solution as we speak! This is why I made my post in the Newby Corner because that's what I am when it comes to ARCH. Thanks anyway.

Last edited by johnpiers (2012-10-14 11:48:24)

Offline

#6 2012-10-14 15:46:23

illusionist
Member
From: localhost
Registered: 2012-04-03
Posts: 498

Re: Keyboard Volume Controls

johnpiers wrote:

I presume you are asking what windows manager am I using? Nautilus 3.4.2 GNOME 3.4.2

Nautilus is a file manager not windows manager. tongue


  Never argue with stupid people,They will drag you down to their level and then beat you with experience.--Mark Twain
@github

Offline

#7 2012-10-14 16:20:40

vrg
Member
Registered: 2012-06-18
Posts: 34

Re: Keyboard Volume Controls

I'm having similar issues with my Toshiba Qosmio X505 laptop since yesterday's update. I cannot use many of my custom shortcuts, cannot adjust the volume/brightness using the volume/brightness keys, cannot poweroff with the power button, etc.

I also think it's because of the large amount of updates introduced in the last few days. In particular, yesterday's xf86-input-evdev update, from 2.7.3-1 to 2.7.3-2, seems very suspicious to me. I tried to downgrade the package and I lost both mouse and keyboard support, so I guess I'll have to stick with the newer version. Looking forward to any insights on this...

By the way, the topic in

https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?pid=1175368

is NOT solved yet, but thanks for posting anyway as it is clearly related to this problem.

Offline

#8 2012-10-14 19:29:25

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,412

Re: Keyboard Volume Controls

I think that the power button is controlled by the button module.  With systemd, this functionality is indpendent of the WM/DE, so is the module loaded?

Offline

#9 2012-10-15 01:57:15

vrg
Member
Registered: 2012-06-18
Posts: 34

Re: Keyboard Volume Controls

WonderWoofy wrote:

I think that the power button is controlled by the button module.  With systemd, this functionality is indpendent of the WM/DE, so is the module loaded?

I didn't know there was a button module smile but I think it's loaded. I get the following with lsmod:

$ lsmod | grep button
button                  4502  0

Actually, what I meant with the power button not working is that the way I have it setup, when I press it, it should show the poweroff menu (Cancel/Restart/Poweroff). Of course, if I press and hold for 10 seconds or so it will poweroff anyway (the hard way). Hope this makes sense.

As discussed in the other thread, a temporary workaround seems to be downgrading a few packages and waiting for Gnome 3.6:

https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?pid=1175368

Offline

#10 2012-10-16 03:12:48

isacdaavid
Member
From: México
Registered: 2011-11-21
Posts: 76
Website

Re: Keyboard Volume Controls

Same problem here since last weekend update. Now I cannot control loudness via laptop's hardware.

Offline

#11 2012-10-16 08:46:39

lybin
Member
From: Russia / Siberia
Registered: 2012-09-27
Posts: 16

Re: Keyboard Volume Controls

Try to downgrade the packages:

extra/xf86-input-evdev
extra/xf86-input-synaptics
extra/xorg-server-common
extra/xorg-server

https://bugs.archlinux.org/task/31967

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB