You are not logged in.

#1 2012-10-10 15:36:06

runny6play
Member
Registered: 2012-02-18
Posts: 85

problems with X

After updating today instead of forwarding the mouse to the other screen when i hit the edge. It forwards itself to the other side of the primary screen. I can get another open-box session running on it from .xinitrc but trying aftwards prints  Obt-Message: Xinerama extension is not present on the server
which i can edit xorg.conf to get working through Xinerama. but then its just one X screen

# nvidia-xconfig: X configuration file generated by #nvidia-xconfig
# nvidia-xconfig:  version 295.53  (buildmeister@swio-display-x86-rhel47-07.nvidia.com)  Sat May 12 00:34:20 PDT 2012


Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier     "Dualscreen"
    Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
    Screen       1 "Screen1" RightOf "Screen0" 
    Option         "Xinerama" "0"
    Option         "TwinView" "0"
    InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
    InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
EndSection

Section "Files"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

    # generated from default
    Identifier     "Mouse0"
    Driver         "mouse"
    Option         "Protocol" "auto"
    Option         "Device" "/dev/psaux"
    Option         "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
    Option         "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

    # generated from default
    Identifier     "Keyboard0"
    Driver         "kbd"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier     "Monitor0"
    VendorName     "Unknown"
    ModelName      "Unknown"
    HorizSync       28.0 - 33.0
    VertRefresh     43.0 - 72.0
    Option         "DPMS" "0"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Device0"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
    Option         "RegistryDwords" "EnableBrightnessControl=1"
 BusID       "PCI:1:0:0"
        Screen      0
EndSection
Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Device1"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
  BusID       "PCI:1:0:0"
        Screen      1
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen0"
    Device         "Device0"
    Monitor        "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth    24
    Option         "NoLogo" "1"
    Option         "DamageEvents" "1"
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       24
    EndSubSection
EndSection
Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen1"
    Device         "Device1"
    Monitor        "Monitor1"
    DefaultDepth    24
    Option         "NoLogo" "1"
    Option         "DamageEvents" "1"
    Option         "TwinView"     "0"
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       24
    EndSubSection
EndSection
  Attribute 'GlyphCache' (alec_arch:0.0) assigned value 1.
  Attribute 'GlyphCache' (alec_arch:0.1) assigned value 1.


  Attribute 'InitialPixmapPlacement' (alec_arch:0.0) assigned value 2.
  Attribute 'InitialPixmapPlacement' (alec_arch:0.1) assigned value 2.

Obt-Message: Xinerama extension is not present on the server
sixad is already running.
run '/usr/bin/sixad --stop' to stop it
Obt-Message: Xinerama extension is not present on the server
START /usr/bin/chromium "http://www.catalogs.ohio.edu/"
START /usr/bin/chromium "http://www.catalogs.ohio.edu/"
Created new window in existing browser session.
START /usr/bin/chromium "http://storg.admsrv.ohio.edu/storg/"
Created new window in existing browser session.
real transparency off.... depth: 24
icon with depth: 24
icon with depth: 24
icon with depth: 24
icon with depth: 24
real transparency off.... depth: 24
icon with depth: 24
icon with depth: 24
icon with depth: 24
icon with depth: 24
icon with depth: 24
icon with depth: 24
icon with depth: 24
icon with depth: 24
icon with depth: 24
icon with depth: 24
icon with depth: 24

if you can tell me where the other  related log files are Ill post them after class

Last edited by runny6play (2012-10-11 23:06:37)

Offline

#2 2012-10-11 23:11:13

runny6play
Member
Registered: 2012-02-18
Posts: 85

Re: problems with X

update. by switching screen       1 "Screen1" RightOf "Screen0"  to 1 "Screen1" LeftOf "Screen0" I can get to the other X screen but I cannot return to the first. It takes a lot longer to load the X screens and my gpus been clocking higher more often (nvidia)

Offline

#3 2012-10-13 18:57:29

Mektub
Member
From: Lisbon /Portugal
Registered: 2008-01-02
Posts: 647

Re: problems with X

runny6play,

After updating today instead of forwarding the mouse to the other screen when i hit the edge. It forwards itself to the other side of the primary screen. I can get another open-box session running on it from .xinitrc but trying aftwards prints  Obt-Message: Xinerama extension is not present on the server
which i can edit xorg.conf to get working through Xinerama. but then its just one X screen

I hit the same problem. I was using nouveau and after updating today

upgraded nouveau-dri (8.0.4-2 -> 9.0-1)
upgraded xf86-video-nouveau (1.0.2-1 -> 1.0.2-2)

I couldn't get it to achieve the configuration I was using, namely 2 separated X screens.

So I decided to uninstall nouveau and install the nvidia proprietary drivers which I had used in the past.

And yes, I get the the same problem you have, the mouse is stuck on the first screen and if going to the left edge it forwards itself to the other side of the primary screen.
Xinerama and Twinview seem to be OK, but it's not what I really want.

Goggling around didn't help.

We will see..

Mektub


Follow me on twitter: https://twitter.com/johnbina

Offline

#4 2012-10-13 19:25:23

Mektub
Member
From: Lisbon /Portugal
Registered: 2008-01-02
Posts: 647

Re: problems with X

Answering to myself:

I now noticed that Xorg was updated to:

upgraded xorg-server-common (1.12.4-1 -> 1.13.0-2)
upgraded xorg-server (1.12.4-1 -> 1.13.0-2)
upgraded xorg-server-xephyr (1.12.4-1 -> 1.13.0-2)

Mektub


Follow me on twitter: https://twitter.com/johnbina

Offline

#5 2012-10-13 19:49:43

pekka
Member
Registered: 2011-07-21
Posts: 84

Re: problems with X

Confirm same problem.

with kde and nvidia

Offline

#6 2012-10-14 01:23:52

ledbettj
Member
From: Atlanta
Registered: 2012-10-14
Posts: 2
Website

Re: problems with X

pekka wrote:

Confirm same problem.

with kde and nvidia

Same problem here.  Downgrading xorg-server, xorg-server-common, and xf86-input-evdev resolved the issue.

Offline

#7 2012-10-14 01:27:11

Mektub
Member
From: Lisbon /Portugal
Registered: 2008-01-02
Posts: 647

Re: problems with X

ledbettj wrote:
pekka wrote:

Confirm same problem.

with kde and nvidia

Same problem here.  Downgrading xorg-server, xorg-server-common, and xf86-input-evdev resolved the issue.

Yes, downgrading solves the problem.

Mektub


Follow me on twitter: https://twitter.com/johnbina

Offline

#8 2012-10-14 21:25:52

keepitsimpleengineer
Member
From: San Joaquin Valley, CA
Registered: 2012-06-25
Posts: 284
Website

Re: problems with X

ledbettj wrote:
pekka wrote:

Confirm same problem.

with kde and nvidia

Same problem here.  Downgrading xorg-server, xorg-server-common, and xf86-input-evdev resolved the issue.

I have separate X-screens (no xinerama) with xfce and nvidia 304.51-3.

Same problem, since today's (2012-10-14) upgrade which included yesterday's (2012-10-13) with
xorg-server  (1.12.4-1 -> 1.13.0-2),
upgraded xorg-server-common (1.12.4-1 -> 1.13.0-2) and
xf86-input-evdev (2.7.3-1 -> 2.7.3-2)

I find it impossible to move the mouse cursor from screen_0 to screen_1 (right of screen_0).  The mouse cursor leaves the right side of screen_0 and re-enters on the left side of screen_0.  The mouse pointer is stopped at all other edges of screen 0.

Do any of the other of several upgraded xf86-.... packages need to be downgraded?


Al Einstein: "Man soll die Dinge so einfach machen wie möglich ~ aber nicht einfacher." (Things should be as simple as possible ~ but not too simple.)

Offline

#9 2012-10-14 21:30:49

Corubba
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2010-11-14
Posts: 80

Re: problems with X

Same problem here, downgrade solved it. Had to remove xf86-video-vesa because it conflicts with xorg-server-common.

@keepitsimpleengineer: Downgrade of the mentioned 3 packages should be fine and solve the issue.

Offline

#10 2012-10-14 21:41:47

teekay
Member
Registered: 2011-10-26
Posts: 270

Re: problems with X

Offline

#11 2012-10-14 22:04:22

TuxLyn
Member
From: United States
Registered: 2011-10-26
Posts: 283

Re: problems with X

I had the same issue, but instead of downgrading packages I've enabled "Xenorama" and everything works well smile This seems to be an issue only with seperate X screens at least for me.


::: Using Arch Linux Since October 25, 2011 :::
::: Tutorials: http://distrogeeks.com/ :::

Offline

#12 2012-10-15 06:15:34

pekka
Member
Registered: 2011-07-21
Posts: 84

Re: problems with X

Same problem Kde, Xfce and awesome

tested
in xorg.conf

Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
Screen      1  "Screen1" RightOf "Screen0"

and

Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
Screen      1  "Screen1" LeftOf "Screen0"

Offline

#13 2012-10-15 06:34:42

pekka
Member
Registered: 2011-07-21
Posts: 84

Re: problems with X

I think problems is.

nvidia
primary=monitor0 and secondory=monitor1
Left=Left and Right=Right

but xorg
primary=monitor1 and secondory=monitor0
or/and
Left=Right and Right=Left

Offline

#14 2012-10-15 10:53:25

Master_ex
Member
Registered: 2010-10-21
Posts: 3

Re: problems with X

It seems that every upgrade is a new adventure tongue

Same problem here.

runny6play wrote:

update. by switching screen       1 "Screen1" RightOf "Screen0"  to 1 "Screen1" LeftOf "Screen0" I can get to the other X screen but I cannot return to the first.

Changing

Option         "metamodes" "CRT-1: nvidia-auto-select +0+0"

to

Option         "metamodes" "CRT-1: nvidia-auto-select +1920+0" #1920 px is where Screen0 ends

for Screen1 had the same result without changing RightOf to LeftOf.

I guess I'll stuck to twinview for now...

Last edited by Master_ex (2012-10-15 10:54:49)

Offline

#15 2012-10-17 19:29:49

Artefact2
Member
From: France
Registered: 2008-04-22
Posts: 5
Website

Re: problems with X

Same problem here. I have three screens with two different Geforces, so TwinView is not an alternative, and Xinerama has very poor performance (although it worked).

Downgrading the three aforementioned packages worked, at least it's a quick workaround. Thanks to everyone!

I tried using nvidia-beta (from the AUR), it did not fix the issue.

Offline

#16 2012-10-18 15:00:05

kokoko3k
Member
Registered: 2008-11-14
Posts: 1,482

Re: problems with X

Not much to add other than joining the party.

Offline

#17 2012-10-18 15:38:36

high.entropy
Member
Registered: 2012-10-18
Posts: 4

Re: problems with X

Peter Hutterer dropped a patch which seems to fix the issue:

https://bugs.freedesktop.org/show_bug.cgi?id=54654

If possible, please provide feedback.

Offline

#18 2012-10-20 13:26:33

ledbettj
Member
From: Atlanta
Registered: 2012-10-14
Posts: 2
Website

Re: problems with X

high.entropy wrote:

Peter Hutterer dropped a patch which seems to fix the issue:

https://bugs.freedesktop.org/show_bug.cgi?id=54654

If possible, please provide feedback.

Looks like this patch was included in xorg-server-1.13.0-3 which dropped yesterday, so it should be safe to upgrade now.

Offline

#19 2012-10-21 13:06:38

Corubba
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2010-11-14
Posts: 80

Re: problems with X

ledbettj wrote:

Looks like this patch was included in xorg-server-1.13.0-3 which dropped yesterday, so it should be safe to upgrade now.

Can confirm this.

Offline

#20 2012-10-23 00:26:45

Mektub
Member
From: Lisbon /Portugal
Registered: 2008-01-02
Posts: 647

Re: problems with X

It doesn't  solve my problem, namely 2 separated X screens

Al I achieve with my old Xorg.conf are 2 mirror screens, or with randr Xinerama.

Don't know where the problem is.

Downgraded again, but I will try to fiddle with my Xorg.conf, see if I get over the mirroring problem.

Mektub


Follow me on twitter: https://twitter.com/johnbina

Offline

#21 2012-10-24 00:47:02

Mektub
Member
From: Lisbon /Portugal
Registered: 2008-01-02
Posts: 647

Re: problems with X

It doesn't  solve my problem, namely 2 separated X screens

Changing from nouveau to nvidia solves the problem.

The same xorg.conf, just changing the driver to nvidia, has to separate screens without mirroring.

Didn't even need to use nvidia-settings. I do not really need nvidia and was happy with nouveau and Kernel Mode Setting (KMS), but for the time being will use nvidia.

Mektub


Follow me on twitter: https://twitter.com/johnbina

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB