You are not logged in.

#1 2012-10-10 20:29:27

phoenixRO
Member
Registered: 2011-09-15
Posts: 21

[SOLVED] Per-app volume configuration

Hey! I am running KDE with Phonon using VLC as a backend. I have the little KMix slider, but I cannot control per-app volume: let's say that I run Spotify, and change the in-app volume -- that would change the system volume as well. Or, the other way around, I change the volume from the tray, and then Spotify changes its volume also. It's not a Spotify problem, since this appears to happen also for Amarok.

Do you have any idea what could be the problem? Thanks!

Last edited by phoenixRO (2012-10-15 17:50:17)

Offline

#2 2012-10-10 20:39:45

Jodell
Member
Registered: 2009-10-09
Posts: 285

Re: [SOLVED] Per-app volume configuration

You'll need pulseaudio I believe.

Offline

#3 2012-10-10 20:41:19

phoenixRO
Member
Registered: 2011-09-15
Posts: 21

Re: [SOLVED] Per-app volume configuration

It appears to be installed and running.

Offline

#4 2012-10-10 23:13:10

alienated_humour
Member
From: NYC
Registered: 2011-07-28
Posts: 23

Re: [SOLVED] Per-app volume configuration

Have you tried using pavucontrol?

Offline

#5 2012-10-15 16:00:03

phoenixRO
Member
Registered: 2011-09-15
Posts: 21

Re: [SOLVED] Per-app volume configuration

Is there any KDE equivalent?

Offline

#6 2012-10-15 17:17:57

x33a
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2009-08-15
Posts: 3,394
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Per-app volume configuration

Offline

#7 2012-10-15 17:50:00

phoenixRO
Member
Registered: 2011-09-15
Posts: 21

Re: [SOLVED] Per-app volume configuration

Thank you, that kind of fixed my problem. However, just out of curiosity, is it normal that scrolling the master volume of the system changes the in-app volume? This did not happen before. More exactly, when I changed the KMix volume to 50%, the amarok volume stayed at 100% and the sound was lower.

Also, if I changed the KMix volume to 50% (and the amarok volume automatically changed to 50%), would the final amarok volume be 50% * 50% = 25%? This kind of puzzles me.

Again, thanks a lot for your help!

Offline

#8 2012-10-15 18:04:50

x33a
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2009-08-15
Posts: 3,394
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Per-app volume configuration

No idea, i use alsa.

Offline

#9 2012-10-15 19:46:07

boast
Member
Registered: 2010-09-28
Posts: 219

Re: [SOLVED] Per-app volume configuration

Not relevant, but I would recommend using veromix instead of kmix


Asus M4A785TD-V ;; Phenom II X4 @ 3.9GHz ;; Ripjaws 12GB DDR3-1600 ;; 128GB Samsung 830 ;; MSI GTX460 v2 w/ blob ;; Arch Linux + KDE 4.x

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB