You are not logged in.

#1 2012-10-21 17:51:51

nil
Member
Registered: 2012-10-15
Posts: 33

[SOLVED] Can't load up display manager. Getting '... File Exists."

I'm trying to get `slim` working by the systemd method, but I get the following:

[root@arch ~]# systemctl enable slim.service
Failed to issue method call: File exists

I've tried other display managers like qingy, lxdm, etc. and they all provide this same message. I was also able to get the display manager to work using the `inittab` method, but I'm trying to have a full systemd integration.

Not sure if it matters, but I was previously able to get the above `systemctl enable` command to work with gdm. Later, I decided that I wanted a more lightweight display manager so I switched to `slim` and proceeded to uninstall `gdm`. However, it now seems I'm unable to `systemctl enable` any display manager. I appreciate your help!

Last edited by nil (2012-10-21 18:47:03)

Offline

#2 2012-10-21 18:46:39

nil
Member
Registered: 2012-10-15
Posts: 33

Re: [SOLVED] Can't load up display manager. Getting '... File Exists."

Ah, got it working! I'll leave the documentation/answer here in case anyone else is as dumb as me.

After uninstalling the previous display manager (gdm in this case), you need to disable it from systemctl, since pacman won't do it for you. Hence, all you need to do is

systemctl disable gdm.service
systemctl enable slim.service

and it works.

Last edited by nil (2012-10-21 18:46:49)

Offline

#3 2012-10-22 07:26:11

donniezazen
Member
From: Salt Lake City
Registered: 2011-06-24
Posts: 671
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Can't load up display manager. Getting '... File Exists."

I have the same problem. I uninstalled lightdm and installed gdm and not I can't seem to enable gdm. It starts fine.

[arch@arch ~]$ systemctl list-unit-files | grep lightdm
[arch@arch ~]$ systemctl list-unit-files | grep gdm
gdm.service                                 disabled
[arch@arch ~]$ systemctl list-unit-files | grep display
display-manager.service                     enabled

[arch@arch ~]$ sudo systemctl disable display-manager.service
Failed to issue method call: No such file or directory
[arch@arch ~]$ sudo systemctl disable lightdm.service
Failed to issue method call: No such file or directory
[arch@arch ~]$ sudo systemctl disable gdm.service
[arch@arch ~]$ sudo systemctl enable gdm.service
Failed to issue method call: File exists
[arch@arch ~]$ systemctl list-unit-files | grep gdm
gdm.service                                 disabled

Offline

#4 2012-11-06 11:41:27

Gnist
Member
Registered: 2012-11-06
Posts: 1

Re: [SOLVED] Can't load up display manager. Getting '... File Exists."

sudo systemctl enable gdm.service -f

Offline

#5 2012-11-15 22:16:48

ravisghosh
Member
From: Intergalactic Spaces
Registered: 2006-10-12
Posts: 516
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Can't load up display manager. Getting '... File Exists."

Wanted to install slim but unable to enable it through systemd, facing the same issue.

Offline

#6 2013-01-02 09:51:18

luckyao
Member
From: Shanghai
Registered: 2012-12-24
Posts: 1

Re: [SOLVED] Can't load up display manager. Getting '... File Exists."

I have the same problem.

sudo systemctl enable slim.service -f

rm '/etc/systemd/system/display-manager.service'
ln -s '/usr/lib/systemd/system/slim.service' '/etc/systemd/system/display-manager.service'

sudo systemctl list-unit-files | grep slim
slim.service                                enabled

Offline

#7 2013-01-02 12:47:15

Trilby
Forum Moderator
From: Massachusetts, USA
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 13,804
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Can't load up display manager. Getting '... File Exists."

luckyao, how is that a problem?  It looks like it worked fine.


InterrobangSlider
• How's my coding? See this page.
• How's my moderating? Feel free to email any concerns, complaints, or objections.

Offline

#8 2013-12-02 20:23:46

dhave
Arch Linux f@h Team Member
From: Outside the matrix.
Registered: 2005-05-15
Posts: 1,110

Re: [SOLVED] Can't load up display manager. Getting '... File Exists."

Gnist wrote:
sudo systemctl enable gdm.service -f

Thanks for this. It helped me.


Donate to Arch!

Tired? There's a nap for that. --anonymous

Offline

#9 2015-05-15 23:00:24

joacoej
Member
Registered: 2015-05-13
Posts: 7

Re: [SOLVED] Can't load up display manager. Getting '... File Exists."

Thank you xD

Offline

#10 2015-05-15 23:03:35

Trilby
Forum Moderator
From: Massachusetts, USA
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 13,804
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Can't load up display manager. Getting '... File Exists."

joacoej, you recently stated that you read through the complete forum rules.  Yet here you just necrobumped and empty-posted.  Both of these are advised against.

Closed.


InterrobangSlider
• How's my coding? See this page.
• How's my moderating? Feel free to email any concerns, complaints, or objections.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB