You are not logged in.

#1 2012-10-22 12:59:29

JamieKitson
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2010-10-18
Posts: 134
Website

Different DPIs on different monitors?

Hi,

is it possible to set different monitors to different DPIs? I've seen various posts saying different things.

Thanks, Jamie

Offline

#2 2012-10-23 02:55:51

ConnorBehan
Trusted User (TU)
From: Long Island NY
Registered: 2007-07-05
Posts: 1,356
Website

Re: Different DPIs on different monitors?

Sure. Do you mean like

xrandr --output DVI-0 --mode 1280x1024

?


6EA3 F3F3 B908 2632 A9CB E931 D53A 0445 B47A 0DAB
Great things come in tar.xz packages.

Offline

#3 2012-10-23 09:18:37

JamieKitson
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2010-10-18
Posts: 134
Website

Re: Different DPIs on different monitors?

That's resolution. DPI is not a per-output setting. eg:

xrandr --output DVI --dpi 100 --output HDMI --dpi 120

will set both monitors to 120 DPI.

Offline

#4 2012-10-23 10:58:50

Trilby
Forum Moderator
From: Massachusetts, USA
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 14,034
Website

Re: Different DPIs on different monitors?

This strikes me as a very oddbad question.

My first answer was going to be "Try it and find out".  My second answer would have been "read the man page".  But now it seems you have - in fact - tried it and experimented a bit, and probably read the man page.  Which leads me to my third question: why didn't you share such information in the first post?  I do have a couple other ideas that might work, but for all I know you may have tried them already and I'd just be wasting my time.

Don't make us waste our time, elaborate what you have done, what the results were, and link to some of these conflicting threads that you've read.

Last edited by Trilby (2012-10-23 10:59:06)


InterrobangSlider
• How's my coding? See this page.
• How's my moderating? Feel free to email any concerns, complaints, or objections.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB