You are not logged in.

#1 2012-10-23 21:05:39

miro279
Member
Registered: 2010-10-02
Posts: 142

[SOLVED] systemd and groups

I just switched to systemd and was wandering about a part of the wiki:

Note: Adding your user to several groups (optical, audio, scanner, ...) is not necessary with systemd. It might even break the wanted functionality if you do so.

The question is than: what groups should I be in? What about plugdev, network, networkmanager, power...

Last edited by miro279 (2012-11-08 11:04:33)

Offline

#2 2012-10-23 22:11:07

tomegun
Developer
From: France
Registered: 2010-05-28
Posts: 661

Re: [SOLVED] systemd and groups

I'm in the "users" group and that's enough. None of the ones you listed should be necessary.

Offline

#3 2012-10-23 23:18:09

89c51
Member
Registered: 2012-06-05
Posts: 709

Re: [SOLVED] systemd and groups

tomegun wrote:

I'm in the "users" group and that's enough. None of the ones you listed should be necessary.

What about wheel which is going to be used by systemd according to the wiki??

Offline

#4 2012-10-23 23:32:16

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: Scotland
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 7,712
Website

Re: [SOLVED] systemd and groups

Depends how you set sudores up, at a guess.

wormzy@sakura[pts/6]~$ groups
adm wheel users httpusers

Works for me. httpusers is a custom group for managing my webserver btw.


Sakura:-
Mobo: MSI X299 TOMAHAWK ARCTIC // Processor: Intel Core i7-7820X 3.6GHz // GFX: nVidia GeForce GTX 970 // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR4 (@ 3000MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB HDD, 5x 1TB HDD, 2x 120GB SSD, 1x 275GB M2 SSD

Making lemonade from lemons since 2015.

Offline

#5 2012-10-24 08:47:48

miro279
Member
Registered: 2010-10-02
Posts: 142

Re: [SOLVED] systemd and groups

I have it like that now:

[miro@abraxas ~]$ groups
adm wheel locate users vboxusers miro adbusers

without vboxusers and adbusers I ran into problems. But maybe more will follow..

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB