You are not logged in.

#26 2012-08-19 21:44:49

Grinch
Member
Registered: 2010-11-07
Posts: 265

Re: x32 ABI

Great! back from vacation now, didn't touch the computer much (nice weather, olympics, what can I say) so I haven't played around with this yet, will try the packages from the repo, thanks again for your great work!

Offline

#27 2012-08-20 04:04:15

fantix
Member
Registered: 2012-07-23
Posts: 10

Re: x32 ABI

Sure thing!

I've made a few more packages to run PostgreSQL, postgis, python-gevent and more, will update soon.

Offline

#28 2012-09-02 18:35:55

gururise
Member
Registered: 2011-11-03
Posts: 18

Re: x32 ABI

Would be nice if Arch could turn on support for x32 in the Kernel and Glibc by default.  Even if ArchLinux has no intention of supporting x32... That would at least allow us users the choice to use it if we wished.

Offline

#29 2012-09-02 19:24:34

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,427

Re: x32 ABI

gururise wrote:

Would be nice if Arch could turn on support for x32 in the Kernel and Glibc by default.  Even if ArchLinux has no intention of supporting x32... That would at least allow us users the choice to use it if we wished.

https://bugs.archlinux.org/task/31270

Offline

#30 2012-09-24 04:00:38

fantix
Member
Registered: 2012-07-23
Posts: 10

Re: x32 ABI

FYI I've made a few more packages. They are managed at https://github.com/fantix/ArchLinux-x32. I'm uploading to AUR and archlinux-cn repo.

Good to see the default kernel package supports x32 binaries! smile Now I can run my simutrans-x32 build, work under python2-x32 and postgresql-x32.

Last edited by fantix (2012-09-24 04:03:06)

Offline

#31 2012-09-24 14:35:48

bwat47
Member
Registered: 2009-10-07
Posts: 637

Re: x32 ABI

swiftgeek wrote:

This isn't about edge cases — the most important feature of x32 is reduced memory footprint.
And 4-8GiB limit for capacity of all RAM modules is quite common — mostly because faulty of written (or copy&pasted) ram init code in bios/uefi.

Pure x86_64 is better only with edge case when You have enough ram space to do anything… otherwise you will end up in swap…

Ram is incredibly cheap these days, so I don't see that as a huge benefit.

Offline

#32 2012-09-24 15:41:28

kokoko3k
Member
Registered: 2008-11-14
Posts: 1,472

Re: x32 ABI

...Just because ram is cheap or a cpu is fast, this doesn't mean that a code could be left unoptimized.

That said, It is not just the ram,
X32 means more desktop responsiveness due to smaller executables and more speed because of the higher chance that a code will fall into the small CPU cache.

Offline

#33 2012-10-15 11:42:08

kokoko3k
Member
Registered: 2008-11-14
Posts: 1,472

Re: x32 ABI

@Grinch: did you had the time to benchmark something?

Last edited by kokoko3k (2012-10-15 11:42:17)

Offline

#34 2012-10-25 14:53:59

Grinch
Member
Registered: 2010-11-07
Posts: 265

Re: x32 ABI

Hi, sorry to say I've been very lazy (and in my defence swamped with work) with this despite all the hard work by fantix which made it easy as pie to get a x32 system up and running. I started doing some benchmarking using language shootout examples and IIRC most of them had small gains, a couple had nice gains and a couple had small regressions versus 64-bit.

I aim to do a more thorough test involving thinks like x264 (with assembly optimizations turned off) and other cpu intensive applications to see what the overall gains might be. Something for a future weekend when I need a break from my other currently higher-in-priority spare time projects.

Again huge thanks to fantix for making all these x32 packages available both on AUR and his repo which really makes it so much easier to get going with x32, sorry for not having something worthwhile to report yet though kokoko3k.

Offline

#35 2012-10-26 02:27:54

fantix
Member
Registered: 2012-07-23
Posts: 10

Re: x32 ABI

@Grinch: Thanks for the acknowledgement and your testing effort! Looking forward to see the report some day. smile

I'm trying to port more daily tools and their dependencies (and keep updating AUR and archlinuxcn repo), Gentoo patches helped a lot. However ArchLinux does not support x32 officially, I had to hack in some stub header filies like this. Hopefully it is not a big problem for you.

Offline

#36 2012-10-26 14:05:54

Grinch
Member
Registered: 2010-11-07
Posts: 265

Re: x32 ABI

I see you've added lots more x32 packages since last I checked, you are doing a great job fantix. Once I start compiling more complex software for benchmarking I might hit some problems and if so I'll start pestering you with requests for help big_smile

Offline

#37 2012-11-23 15:21:26

NlightNFotis
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2012-09-30
Posts: 20
Website

Re: x32 ABI

kokoko3k wrote:

...Just because ram is cheap or a cpu is fast, this doesn't mean that a code could be left unoptimized.

This. Plus, more optimized code, means that you can squeeze more performance out of your computer.


Google+ | Github

Hacking: Those who can...do. Those who can't...complain.

Offline

#38 2012-12-14 10:06:06

fantix
Member
Registered: 2012-07-23
Posts: 10

Re: x32 ABI

bwat47 wrote:
swiftgeek wrote:

This isn't about edge cases — the most important feature of x32 is reduced memory footprint.
And 4-8GiB limit for capacity of all RAM modules is quite common — mostly because faulty of written (or copy&pasted) ram init code in bios/uefi.

Pure x86_64 is better only with edge case when You have enough ram space to do anything… otherwise you will end up in swap…

Ram is incredibly cheap these days, so I don't see that as a huge benefit.

Hmm, it might be false for the cloud:

    http://aws.amazon.com/ec2/pricing/

as well as for VPSs:

    http://www.linode.com/

where the memory is pretty expensive.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB