You are not logged in.

#1 2012-10-28 21:06:05

CauseLT
Member
From: Vilnius, Lithuania
Registered: 2012-10-28
Posts: 10
Website

[SOLVED] Read-only filesystem error

Hi there,

i'm trying to install Arch Linux (2012.10.06) about a week.

I have problem, that i can't connect to wired internet, because I have access only to wireless....

Let's begin, i read all of this:
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Ne … stallation
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Co … ng_network
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Wireless_Setup

My problems (can't access internet while installing arch):

Img 1
Img 2
Img 3
Img 4
Img 5
Img 6

I just don't know what to do...

Last edited by CauseLT (2012-10-30 22:13:16)

Offline

#2 2012-10-28 22:05:35

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 12,719

Re: [SOLVED] Read-only filesystem error

First, Welcome to Arch Linux.

Second, as a moderator, I have to insist you change those images to links.  If you want to get exotic, you can use image tags that point to a thumbnail of those images inside the url tags that point to those oversized images.  As it is, they are way out of compliance with our policy

Third, you are using a virtual machine.  Your assertion that you have a wireless connection is incorrect.  In a virtual machine, there is a virtual network over which a virtual network card communicates with the host computer.  The virtual machine then creates either a host only network, a network configuration in which the host network (the wired network) provides NAT forwarding to the guest, or a network configuration in which the host network (the wired network) is bridged to the virtual network.

So, yes.  The virtual machine has no wired IF.  It has a virtual Wired network to the host.  Check your host configuration to see if it is bridged or NAT and report back.  (After you fix those pictures smile )

edit: Typo

Last edited by ewaller (2012-10-28 22:06:57)


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Like you, I have no idea what you are doing, but I am pretty sure it is wrong...Jasonwryan
----
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

#3 2012-10-28 22:09:51

CauseLT
Member
From: Vilnius, Lithuania
Registered: 2012-10-28
Posts: 10
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Read-only filesystem error

ewaller wrote:

Second, as a moderator, I have to insist you change those images to links.  If you want to get exotic, you can use image tags that point to a thumbnail of those images inside the url tags that point to those oversized images.  As it is, they are way out of compliance with our policy

Sorry about that, edited.

And actually I can access internet with that VM, but i turn off that, because I want to train a little bit before real installation. Once installed this new version, and I was missed.

I used this command to turn off: systemctl stop dhcpcd.service

Last edited by CauseLT (2012-10-28 22:13:31)

Offline

#4 2012-10-28 22:37:25

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 12,719

Re: [SOLVED] Read-only filesystem error

CauseLT wrote:

[Sorry about that, edited.

No worries smile

The problem is that the wireless hardware is generally not available to the virtual machine.  The VM defines virtual graphics cards, virtual serial ports, virtual network cards, etc... These are mapped by the virtual environment to the physical hardware on the host.

The only way I can imagine to get wireless within the VM is if it is a USB device.  The VM provides the ability to give ownership of physical USB devices to the virtual machine.  I think that could work.


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Like you, I have no idea what you are doing, but I am pretty sure it is wrong...Jasonwryan
----
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

#5 2012-10-28 22:40:05

CauseLT
Member
From: Vilnius, Lithuania
Registered: 2012-10-28
Posts: 10
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Read-only filesystem error

ewaller wrote:
CauseLT wrote:

[Sorry about that, edited.

No worries smile

The problem is that the wireless hardware is generally not available to the virtual machine.  The VM defines virtual graphics cards, virtual serial ports, virtual network cards, etc... These are mapped by the virtual environment to the physical hardware on the host.

The only way I can imagine to get wireless within the VM is if it is a USB device.  The VM provides the ability to give ownership of physical USB devices to the virtual machine.  I think that could work.

Thanks for information.

So, you want to say what if I'll install Arch on my real machine it will work fine?

Offline

#6 2012-10-28 23:04:10

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 12,719

Re: [SOLVED] Read-only filesystem error

Well, I did not exactly say that tongue
I cannot tell what is the host operating system.  Let's see if we can find the manufacturer ID and Product ID of the wireless.

If it is another Linux distribution, just run lspci -nn  (That is two n's, not an m) 

ewaller@odin:~ 1005 %lspci -nn | grep Net
02:00.0 Network controller [0280]: Broadcom Corporation BCM4312 802.11b/g LP-PHY [14e4:4315] (rev 01)
ewaller@odin:~ 1006 %

On my machine, I am looking for the 14e4:4315.

If you are on Windows, I think you can go to the control panel.  Someplace in there is a device manager.  Use that and find the wireless adapter.  One of the tabs should let you find the Manufacturer:Product ID.

Once you know the details on the adapter, we can give you a better idea as to how well it will work.


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Like you, I have no idea what you are doing, but I am pretty sure it is wrong...Jasonwryan
----
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

#7 2012-10-28 23:20:09

CauseLT
Member
From: Vilnius, Lithuania
Registered: 2012-10-28
Posts: 10
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Read-only filesystem error

ewaller wrote:

Well, I did not exactly say that tongue
I cannot tell what is the host operating system.  Let's see if we can find the manufacturer ID and Product ID of the wireless.

If it is another Linux distribution, just run lspci -nn  (That is two n's, not an m) 

ewaller@odin:~ 1005 %lspci -nn | grep Net
02:00.0 Network controller [0280]: Broadcom Corporation BCM4312 802.11b/g LP-PHY [14e4:4315] (rev 01)
ewaller@odin:~ 1006 %

On my machine, I am looking for the 14e4:4315.

If you are on Windows, I think you can go to the control panel.  Someplace in there is a device manager.  Use that and find the wireless adapter.  One of the tabs should let you find the Manufacturer:Product ID.

Once you know the details on the adapter, we can give you a better idea as to how well it will work.

cause@cause-SATELLITE-L750:~$ lspci -nn | grep Net
02:00.0 Network controller [0280]: Atheros Communications Inc. AR9285 Wireless Network Adapter (PCI-Express) [168c:002b] (rev 01)

Offline

#8 2012-10-28 23:26:34

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 12,719

Re: [SOLVED] Read-only filesystem error

That would be the Atheros 9K driver.  It is well supported on Arch smile


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Like you, I have no idea what you are doing, but I am pretty sure it is wrong...Jasonwryan
----
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

#9 2012-10-28 23:28:39

CauseLT
Member
From: Vilnius, Lithuania
Registered: 2012-10-28
Posts: 10
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Read-only filesystem error

ewaller wrote:

That would be the Atheros 9K driver.  It is well supported on Arch smile

Okay, thanks for information.

So basically now I need to enable Atheros 9K driver on my setup?

edit

One more thing, then I installed Arch Linux on my machine somehow I was deleted my Windows. But I created, deleted, ant formated partitions accurately...
So i'm thinking now, if I try to install Arch on my machine with Ubuntu something wrong can happen? I have 200 gigs free space on my HDD.

P.S. Sorry for my bad english, I'm lithuanian...

Last edited by CauseLT (2012-10-28 23:36:45)

Offline

#10 2012-10-29 00:06:01

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 12,719

Re: [SOLVED] Read-only filesystem error

I am not sure exactly what you are asking.  I think you are asking as to whether you can install Arch alongside Ubuntu using the spare space on your drive. The answer is, yes.  But, things can go wrong if there is pilot error.

From Ubuntu, please post the output of sudo fdisk -l /dev/sda and of mount.

As to your English -- it is far better than my Lithuanian.  I regret that I have never mastered a second language;  No need to apologize.


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Like you, I have no idea what you are doing, but I am pretty sure it is wrong...Jasonwryan
----
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

#11 2012-10-29 00:14:32

CauseLT
Member
From: Vilnius, Lithuania
Registered: 2012-10-28
Posts: 10
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Read-only filesystem error

ewaller wrote:

I am not sure exactly what you are asking.  I think you are asking as to whether you can install Arch alongside Ubuntu using the spare space on your drive. The answer is, yes.  But, things can go wrong if there is pilot error.

From Ubuntu, please post the output of sudo fdisk -l /dev/sda and of mount.

As to your English -- it is far better than my Lithuanian.  I regret that I have never mastered a second language;  No need to apologize.

Disk /dev/sda: 640.1 GB, 640135028736 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 77825 cylinders, total 1250263728 sectors
Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x0009b88f

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sda1   *        2046   849594367   424796161    5  Extended
/dev/sda4       849594368  1250260991   200333312    7  HPFS/NTFS/exFAT
/dev/sda5            2048     7999487     3998720   82  Linux swap / Solaris
/dev/sda6         8001536   203311103    97654784   83  Linux
/dev/sda7       203313152   849594367   323140608   83  Linux

mount:

/dev/sda6 on / type ext4 (rw,errors=remount-ro)
proc on /proc type proc (rw,noexec,nosuid,nodev)
sysfs on /sys type sysfs (rw,noexec,nosuid,nodev)
none on /sys/fs/fuse/connections type fusectl (rw)
none on /sys/kernel/debug type debugfs (rw)
none on /sys/kernel/security type securityfs (rw)
udev on /dev type devtmpfs (rw,mode=0755)
devpts on /dev/pts type devpts (rw,noexec,nosuid,gid=5,mode=0620)
tmpfs on /run type tmpfs (rw,noexec,nosuid,size=10%,mode=0755)
none on /run/lock type tmpfs (rw,noexec,nosuid,nodev,size=5242880)
none on /run/shm type tmpfs (rw,nosuid,nodev)
none on /run/user type tmpfs (rw,noexec,nosuid,nodev,size=104857600,mode=0755)
/dev/sda7 on /home type ext4 (rw)
binfmt_misc on /proc/sys/fs/binfmt_misc type binfmt_misc (rw,noexec,nosuid,nodev)
gvfsd-fuse on /run/user/cause/gvfs type fuse.gvfsd-fuse (rw,nosuid,nodev,user=cause)

/dev/sda4 i will delete durning Arch installation, because I don't use that partition (old Windows D disk)..

Last edited by CauseLT (2012-10-29 00:17:43)

Offline

#12 2012-10-29 00:18:23

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,412

Re: [SOLVED] Read-only filesystem error

I am not incredibly well versed in primary/extended partitions, but I know enough to see that you apparently created an extended partition right over your windows partition.

Offline

#13 2012-10-29 00:28:40

CauseLT
Member
From: Vilnius, Lithuania
Registered: 2012-10-28
Posts: 10
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Read-only filesystem error

WonderWoofy wrote:

I am not incredibly well versed in primary/extended partitions, but I know enough to see that you apparently created an extended partition right over your windows partition.

So what does it mean?

Offline

#14 2012-10-29 00:43:56

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,412

Re: [SOLVED] Read-only filesystem error

Look at the output of fdisk.  Now see how your extended partition seems to span your entire harddrive.  Now look at where your logical partitions start (4-7).  They are not at the beginning.  So if you have a partition, whether extended or not, encompassing what used to be your windows partition... what could that mean..... hmmm.....

Offline

#15 2012-10-29 09:29:46

qinohe
Member
From: A Dutch location..)
Registered: 2012-06-20
Posts: 649

Re: [SOLVED] Read-only filesystem error

@WonderWoofy,
His fstab looks oke, look again at the start & end, I think you'll agree;)
The extended part. only spans to where the HPFS/NTFS/exFAT starts.

@CauseLT,
It shouldn't be a problem installing Arch on /dev/sda4!


-I can give you a ladder, but you need to climb it yourself-

Offline

#16 2012-10-30 00:50:03

CauseLT
Member
From: Vilnius, Lithuania
Registered: 2012-10-28
Posts: 10
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Read-only filesystem error

qinohe wrote:

@CauseLT,
It shouldn't be a problem installing Arch on /dev/sda4!

Okay, thank you. I'm just wondering about my current Ubuntu, if I try to install Arch on /dev/sda4, my ubuntu will be safe?

edit

Okay, i just tried to boot Arch on my machine, i configured wireless. Now I think I see you then I'll have installed arch smile

One little question, do I need install GRUB, if I have installed ubuntu?

NEW PROBLEM

I successfully installed Arch, but I actually can't do anything because i'm getting an error "read only file system"...

Any ideas?

Solved!

Next problem,

can't connect to wireless after login. wifi-menu doesn't work.

ip link set wlan0 up - works, but by trying to download something or just ping - no connection.

SOLVED

Last edited by CauseLT (2012-10-30 22:13:02)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB