You are not logged in.

#1 2012-10-28 23:27:05

cfr
Member
From: Cymru
Registered: 2011-11-27
Posts: 5,662

[solved] powertop bug or buggy user?

When I run powertop, it complains that it cannot load /var/cache/powertop/saved_results.powertop. Initially, I thought this was a permissions problem. The default permissions on /var/cache/powertop seemed to be 600. I added execute permission for root (700). However, I still get the same complaint.

Searching the forums, I found one post which mentioned this in passing but the comment was not the main topic and received no follow-up.

I would think this was a powertop bug except that I've looked through the mailing list archives for Aug, Sep and Oct (i.e. since the release of 2.1) and can't see any reports of it which would seem a bit odd since I'd expect this sort of bug to be recognised rather quickly. So I'm thinking that it is probably a buggy user rather than a buggy application but I can't think what I'm missing.

[Note: powertop's bug reporting mechanism appears to be reporting to the mailing list and there doesn't seem to be a separate bug tracker so the mailing list seemed to be the place to look although it is not possible to search as far as I can tell.]

Last edited by cfr (2012-10-31 01:02:42)


How To Ask Questions The Smart Way | Help Vampires

Arch Linux | x86_64 | GPT | EFI boot | grub2 | systemd | LVM2 on LUKS
Lenovo x121e | Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-2367M CPU @ 1.40GHz GenuineIntel | Intel Centrino Wireless-N 1000 | US keyboard with Euro | 320G 7200 RPM Seagate HDD

Offline

#2 2012-10-29 00:31:28

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,412

Re: [solved] powertop bug or buggy user?

At first I though, "What is he talking about?" But then I went to start powertop, and I get the same thing.  I have yet to investigate, but it seems like it is something that it was not doing before the recent update.

Edit: downgrading made no difference... so I might as well stick with th newer version that doesn't work in the same way.  Maybe you should report this.

Last edited by WonderWoofy (2012-10-29 00:39:45)

Offline

#3 2012-10-29 01:58:45

cfr
Member
From: Cymru
Registered: 2011-11-27
Posts: 5,662

Re: [solved] powertop bug or buggy user?

Upstream, do you think? But it seems weird nobody would've noticed...


How To Ask Questions The Smart Way | Help Vampires

Arch Linux | x86_64 | GPT | EFI boot | grub2 | systemd | LVM2 on LUKS
Lenovo x121e | Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-2367M CPU @ 1.40GHz GenuineIntel | Intel Centrino Wireless-N 1000 | US keyboard with Euro | 320G 7200 RPM Seagate HDD

Offline

#4 2012-10-29 06:51:15

Army
Member
Registered: 2007-12-07
Posts: 1,784

Re: [solved] powertop bug or buggy user?

I don't have the problem, powertop runs fine here and I made no modifications.

# powertop
Loaded 564 prior measurements
Leaving PowerTOP

Offline

#5 2012-10-29 12:29:25

cfr
Member
From: Cymru
Registered: 2011-11-27
Posts: 5,662

Re: [solved] powertop bug or buggy user?

Could you confirm the ownership and permissions on /var/cache/powertop in your case?


How To Ask Questions The Smart Way | Help Vampires

Arch Linux | x86_64 | GPT | EFI boot | grub2 | systemd | LVM2 on LUKS
Lenovo x121e | Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-2367M CPU @ 1.40GHz GenuineIntel | Intel Centrino Wireless-N 1000 | US keyboard with Euro | 320G 7200 RPM Seagate HDD

Offline

#6 2012-10-29 12:54:39

Awebb
Member
Registered: 2010-05-06
Posts: 4,320

Re: [solved] powertop bug or buggy user?

I don't have the issue. /var/cache/powertop is 600, /var/cache/powertopsaved_results.powertop is 644.

Online

#7 2012-10-29 22:49:17

cfr
Member
From: Cymru
Registered: 2011-11-27
Posts: 5,662

Re: [solved] powertop bug or buggy user?

So what else could be different? When I use powertop, I get:

Loaded 77 prior measurements
Cannot load from file /var/cache/powertop/saved_parameters.powertop
Cannot load from file /var/cache/powertop/saved_parameters.powertop

And I also have 600 and 644 as the respective permissions:

ls -al /var/cache/powertop/
total 120
drw-------  2 root root   4096 Gor   5 23:20 .
drwxr-xr-x 10 root root   4096 Hyd  27 02:01 ..
-rw-r--r--  1 root root 111460 Hyd  29 22:43 saved_results.powertop

Er... OK. So how did you create a /var/cache/powertop/saved_parameters.powertop?


How To Ask Questions The Smart Way | Help Vampires

Arch Linux | x86_64 | GPT | EFI boot | grub2 | systemd | LVM2 on LUKS
Lenovo x121e | Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-2367M CPU @ 1.40GHz GenuineIntel | Intel Centrino Wireless-N 1000 | US keyboard with Euro | 320G 7200 RPM Seagate HDD

Offline

#8 2012-10-29 22:57:55

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,412

Re: [solved] powertop bug or buggy user?

So I uninstalled powertop, deleted the /var/cache/powertop directory, and started it again, but still no go.  I wonder why that is?  Seems rather odd that only you and I are experiencing this.  I am not really certain that I need this function... but it makes me curious.

Edit: BTW, cfr, I like the welsh months in your output.

Last edited by WonderWoofy (2012-10-29 22:58:45)

Offline

#9 2012-10-29 23:23:03

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,412

Re: [solved] powertop bug or buggy user?

Okay, so I found a fedora bug report from a user complaining of the same thing (though it was far an lower version of powertop).  The response was that they needed to run the powertop calibration, and then leave the thing running for an hour or so.  I let it calibrate, and am now letting it run in the background.  So we shall see if that fixes it or not.

Edit: Well, that fixed it!  I guess it cannot load the data because it does not have enough information or something... though that is pure speculation.

Last edited by WonderWoofy (2012-10-30 01:55:36)

Offline

#10 2012-10-30 23:41:38

cfr
Member
From: Cymru
Registered: 2011-11-27
Posts: 5,662

Re: [solved] powertop bug or buggy user?

Thanks for the tip - this seems to have fixed it for me. Weird, though. (It would help if the error message said what to do - or the man page.)

I like the months, too!


How To Ask Questions The Smart Way | Help Vampires

Arch Linux | x86_64 | GPT | EFI boot | grub2 | systemd | LVM2 on LUKS
Lenovo x121e | Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-2367M CPU @ 1.40GHz GenuineIntel | Intel Centrino Wireless-N 1000 | US keyboard with Euro | 320G 7200 RPM Seagate HDD

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB