You are not logged in.

#1 2012-10-29 16:36:23

jim1960
Member
Registered: 2011-08-19
Posts: 24

[Solved]Kernel panic while upgrade to 3.6.4

Kernel 3.6.4 ([Testing] 3.6.4-ARCH & linux-ck-kx 3.6.4) panic:
PANIC: early exception of rip 10:fffffff81042e36 error 0 cr2 0

It's work fine for linux-ck-kx-3.6.3-2, any idea?

CPU: AMD Athlon(tm) II X4 651 Quad-Core Processor (651K)
M/B: Asrock A55 Pro3 (BIOS v1.3)

/***
* Upgrade to 3.6.5 solved the issues!
***/

Last edited by jim1960 (2012-11-01 15:28:10)


Sorry for my poor english.

Offline

#2 2012-10-29 16:40:13

graysky
Member
From: /run/user/1000
Registered: 2008-12-01
Posts: 8,518
Website

Re: [Solved]Kernel panic while upgrade to 3.6.4


CPU-optimized Linux-ck packages @ Repo-ck  • AUR packagesZsh and other configs

Offline

#3 2012-10-30 01:46:13

jqxl0205
Member
Registered: 2009-10-13
Posts: 5

Re: [Solved]Kernel panic while upgrade to 3.6.4

I have the same problem. It will boot after adding mem=4G to grub.

CPU: AMD Phenom(tm) II P960 Quad-Core Processor

Offline

#4 2012-10-30 23:05:39

jim1960
Member
Registered: 2011-08-19
Posts: 24

Re: [Solved]Kernel panic while upgrade to 3.6.4

The same problem with linux-mainline-3.7rc2, but 3.7rc3 work again.
So i think it's kernel bug.


Sorry for my poor english.

Offline

#5 2012-10-31 10:17:19

Peaceseeker
Member
Registered: 2012-04-27
Posts: 23

Re: [Solved]Kernel panic while upgrade to 3.6.4

I seem to have been hit by the same problem, thanks for the 'mem=4G' tip jqxl0205, I only have half my 8GB showing up, but at least I can boot to research it some more.

Not a solution, or even a workaround as such, but as it's a slight emergency:- anyone having the same problem, once at your GRUB menu press 'e', with the required kernel in selection, then add the line 'mem=4G' to the end on the boot line, press ctrl-X, and it will temporarily use this to boot for now.

Last edited by Peaceseeker (2012-10-31 10:25:31)

Offline

#6 2012-10-31 12:59:51

flrichar
Member
Registered: 2012-10-31
Posts: 4

Re: [Solved]Kernel panic while upgrade to 3.6.4

I'm having this same issue.  I thought it was weird that a guest arch vm would boot but not the host... guest has much less ram.  I could try the mem=4G kernel option, but my machine has 16gb of ram... I hope there's a more permanent fix soon.

Last edited by flrichar (2012-10-31 17:37:57)

Offline

#7 2012-10-31 15:31:28

Brett VanKirk
Member
Registered: 2012-10-28
Posts: 10

Re: [Solved]Kernel panic while upgrade to 3.6.4

Just upgrade to 3.6.4 from 3.6.3 and it appears I am experiencing the same issue with an AMD Turion II Neo K626. When I boot it just hangs on "Booting Kernel", so I went into syslinux and used "mem=3G" and my laptop booted right up. I have 4GB of RAM, though when I try anything higher then 3G it failes to boot, unless I use M instead of G, ex 3500M it boots a little bit further but still hangs.

Anyone with Intel CPUs experiencing this issue? It seems to only be effecting AMD machines.

Last edited by Brett VanKirk (2012-10-31 15:36:54)


"Success breeds complacency. Complacency breeds failure. Only the paranoid survive." - Andrew Grove

Offline

#8 2012-10-31 15:52:13

coellobranco
Member
Registered: 2012-10-11
Posts: 67

Re: [Solved]Kernel panic while upgrade to 3.6.4

I upgrade to 3.6.4 in laptop asus with 8 gb ram, and stop in: "Loading initial ramdisk ...", i try mkinitcpio -p linux and... pacman -U linux***3.6.3 and... no start... continue stop in: "Loading initial ramdisk ..."
Greetings.

Offline

#9 2012-10-31 15:58:19

gibz85
Member
From: echo "Kochi" > /india/kerala
Registered: 2012-10-31
Posts: 2
Website

Re: [Solved]Kernel panic while upgrade to 3.6.4

Same problem with new kernel 3.6.4-1-ARCH ..The boot got stuck at loading initial ramdisk.. From this post i placed the option mem=4G in grub.conf. It booted and everything is fine.. but my ram is now only 4G.. Are there any fix for this bug...

Offline

#10 2012-10-31 16:04:24

sinatosk
Member
Registered: 2010-11-28
Posts: 53

Re: [Solved]Kernel panic while upgrade to 3.6.4

Just upgraded to 3.6.4-1-ARCH and it just sits there doing nothng on loading init ramdisk

I see no error or anything

AMD Bulldozer 8150 not overclocked
Asus Sabertooth 990FX R2.0 BIOS 1006

Last edited by sinatosk (2012-10-31 16:07:14)

Offline

#11 2012-10-31 16:08:21

Brett VanKirk
Member
Registered: 2012-10-28
Posts: 10

Re: [Solved]Kernel panic while upgrade to 3.6.4

Coellobranco & gibz85, what CPUs are you guys running? As of right now I only know of two ways to fix the issue; follow jqxl0205 advice and add mem=xG (Replace x with how much memory, ex 4G), or downgrade your kernel using the steps in the Arch Wiki.

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Do … the_kernel


"Success breeds complacency. Complacency breeds failure. Only the paranoid survive." - Andrew Grove

Offline

#12 2012-10-31 16:21:49

coellobranco
Member
Registered: 2012-10-11
Posts: 67

Re: [Solved]Kernel panic while upgrade to 3.6.4

my cpu is AMD Quad-Core A6-3420M APU, in my netbook acer, linux 3.6.4 roolz perfect.

Offline

#13 2012-10-31 17:00:55

flrichar
Member
Registered: 2012-10-31
Posts: 4

Re: [Solved]Kernel panic while upgrade to 3.6.4

I see a pattern emerging.  My cpu is an AMD A8-3870, quad core 3ghz.

coellobranco, how much memory does your netbook have?

I think to recreate it, you need > 8gb mem, and a recent AMD cpu.

Last edited by flrichar (2012-10-31 17:02:24)

Offline

#14 2012-10-31 17:05:46

coellobranco
Member
Registered: 2012-10-11
Posts: 67

Re: [Solved]Kernel panic while upgrade to 3.6.4

Netbook acer aspire one, 1gb ram... upgrade correct.

Offline

#15 2012-10-31 17:29:12

tsw80
Member
Registered: 2012-10-31
Posts: 2

Re: [Solved]Kernel panic while upgrade to 3.6.4

Same problem, both with ARCH and ck kernels. Have to use mem=4G to boot.

CPU: AMD A6-3420M APU with Radeon(tm) HD Graphics,  8Gb ram.

Offline

#16 2012-10-31 18:02:50

flrichar
Member
Registered: 2012-10-31
Posts: 4

Re: [Solved]Kernel panic while upgrade to 3.6.4

Someone filed a bug and I mentioned this thread.

https://bugs.archlinux.org/task/32307

Offline

#17 2012-10-31 19:45:02

coellobranco
Member
Registered: 2012-10-11
Posts: 67

Re: [Solved]Kernel panic while upgrade to 3.6.4

I try with mem=4G and dont start... after pulse "e"... where line edit for: mem=4G???

Offline

#18 2012-10-31 19:53:08

tsw80
Member
Registered: 2012-10-31
Posts: 2

Re: [Solved]Kernel panic while upgrade to 3.6.4

coellobranco wrote:

I try with mem=4G and dont start... after pulse "e"... where line edit for: mem=4G???

linux   /boot/vmlinuz-linux root=UUID=06e1fc9b-dd0d-4c71-b16f-42d2a27a5e5f ro mem=4G

there u have it.. if it still don't work, try a bit lower, 3G or something.

Offline

#19 2012-10-31 20:19:47

coellobranco
Member
Registered: 2012-10-11
Posts: 67

Re: [Solved]Kernel panic while upgrade to 3.6.4

OKKK..,... is OK... with mem=4G start system...thanks!

Offline

#20 2012-10-31 20:39:06

coellobranco
Member
Registered: 2012-10-11
Posts: 67

Re: [Solved]Kernel panic while upgrade to 3.6.4

Now.. dont detect eth0, and dont start X...

Offline

#21 2012-10-31 20:40:59

flrichar
Member
Registered: 2012-10-31
Posts: 4

Re: [Solved]Kernel panic while upgrade to 3.6.4

I successfully booted with mem=4G as well and downgraded to 3.6.3-1 until they find a fix ...

Offline

#22 2012-10-31 22:27:39

TripWire
Member
Registered: 2012-10-31
Posts: 1

Re: [Solved]Kernel panic while upgrade to 3.6.4

I just miss 60GB of memory now. hmm

Offline

#23 2012-10-31 22:33:13

muffinss
Member
From: united states
Registered: 2011-02-07
Posts: 54

Re: [Solved]Kernel panic while upgrade to 3.6.4

I had this happen to me last night. Figured I'll just do a fresh install since I have all my stuff backed up. Did a fresh install and still getting stuck at "Loading inital ramdisk ..."

I'm running an AMD Phenom II x4 965 with 8gb of Gskill ram.

I just noticed 3.6.5 got released today as stable on kernel.org. Does it fix this issue?


Also, my other two machines that run Intel and have 8gb of ram are not suffering this issue. They boot up and operate just fine with the latest update.

Last edited by muffinss (2012-10-31 22:57:00)

Offline

#24 2012-10-31 23:16:36

sinatosk
Member
Registered: 2010-11-28
Posts: 53

Re: [Solved]Kernel panic while upgrade to 3.6.4

Marked out of date already on repo... just gotta wait now...

hopefully it fixes this issue... I want my 16GB RAM

I've downgraded to 3.6.3-1 for now

Last edited by sinatosk (2012-11-01 00:16:36)

Offline

#25 2012-11-01 02:01:10

gibz85
Member
From: echo "Kochi" > /india/kerala
Registered: 2012-10-31
Posts: 2
Website

Re: [Solved]Kernel panic while upgrade to 3.6.4

Mine cpu

AMD FX(tm)-6100 Six-Core Processor

Anything more than mem=4gb wont work for me.. I have 16gb installed.. Guess i will be downgrading now

Last edited by gibz85 (2012-11-01 02:06:33)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB