You are not logged in.

#26 2012-11-01 02:16:10

1LordAnubis
Member
Registered: 2008-10-10
Posts: 250
Website

Re: [Solved]Kernel panic while upgrade to 3.6.4

gibz85 wrote:

Mine cpu

AMD FX(tm)-6100 Six-Core Processor

Anything more than mem=4gb wont work for me.. I have 16gb installed.. Guess i will be downgrading now

Exactly the same here


Any society that would give up a little liberty to gain a little security will deserve neither and lose both.
-Benjamin Franklin
The reasonable man adapts himself to the world; the unreasonable one persists in trying to adapt the world to himself. Therefore all progress depends on the unreasonable man.
-George Bernard Shaw

Offline

#27 2012-11-01 06:00:10

ajaxas
Member
Registered: 2009-02-23
Posts: 65
Website

Re: [Solved]Kernel panic while upgrade to 3.6.4

What says

$ zcat /proc/config.gz | grep -i CONFIG_MEMORY_SIZE

?

Offline

#28 2012-11-01 12:50:21

Brett VanKirk
Member
Registered: 2012-10-28
Posts: 10

Re: [Solved]Kernel panic while upgrade to 3.6.4

This issue is resolved in Kernel 3.6.5-1. I just loaded the new kernel from the test repo and can confirm my system boots normal with no issues. Can anyone else confirm if this has fixed the problem for them?


"Success breeds complacency. Complacency breeds failure. Only the paranoid survive." - Andrew Grove

Offline

#29 2012-11-01 13:02:11

duolon
Member
Registered: 2011-09-06
Posts: 3

Re: [Solved]Kernel panic while upgrade to 3.6.4

I have the same problem.
Linux hung up at "loading ramdisk...." after upgrade to 3.6.4
Linux-ck has the exact same problem, so it must be a kernel bug.

downgrade to linux 3.6.3, everything works fine.

I'm using a ASUS laptop with AMD 3-core CPU.

Offline

#30 2012-11-01 13:20:56

1LordAnubis
Member
Registered: 2008-10-10
Posts: 250
Website

Re: [Solved]Kernel panic while upgrade to 3.6.4

Brett VanKirk wrote:

This issue is resolved in Kernel 3.6.5-1. I just loaded the new kernel from the test repo and can confirm my system boots normal with no issues. Can anyone else confirm if this has fixed the problem for them?

Indeed, all seems well


Any society that would give up a little liberty to gain a little security will deserve neither and lose both.
-Benjamin Franklin
The reasonable man adapts himself to the world; the unreasonable one persists in trying to adapt the world to himself. Therefore all progress depends on the unreasonable man.
-George Bernard Shaw

Offline

#31 2012-11-01 13:57:32

coellobranco
Member
Registered: 2012-10-11
Posts: 63

Re: [Solved]Kernel panic while upgrade to 3.6.4

I will wait to kernel 3.6.5 stable... now is Testing...

Offline

#32 2012-11-01 14:34:30

kabum
Member
Registered: 2011-12-05
Posts: 6

Re: [Solved]Kernel panic while upgrade to 3.6.4

Same here. I have 8gb of ram. It just boot up if mem=4G is specified, with mem=8G it doesn't boot. CPU: AMD E-350

Downgraded to 3.6.3-1

Offline

#33 2012-11-01 14:50:45

jim1960
Member
Registered: 2011-08-19
Posts: 24

Re: [Solved]Kernel panic while upgrade to 3.6.4

I just compiled linux-ck 3.6.5 and it boots normal with no issues too.


Sorry for my poor english.

Offline

#34 2012-11-01 15:39:11

sinatosk
Member
Registered: 2010-11-28
Posts: 53

Re: [Solved]Kernel panic while upgrade to 3.6.4

how long does testing normally last?

I've never installed anything from testing

Offline

#35 2012-11-01 16:15:10

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,422

Re: [Solved]Kernel panic while upgrade to 3.6.4

sinatosk wrote:

how long does testing normally last?

As long / brief as needed.
Downgrade if necessary and wait for it to hit [core].

Offline

#36 2012-11-02 20:25:21

muffinss
Member
From: united states
Registered: 2011-02-07
Posts: 54

Re: [Solved]Kernel panic while upgrade to 3.6.4

Kernel 3.6.5 has hit the core.

The new install medium uses kernel 3.6.4 so any person doing a fresh install of Arch with the new medium running >4gb of ram with an AMD processor, use mem=4G at boot in grub.

Last edited by muffinss (2012-11-02 20:26:09)

Offline

#37 2012-11-03 03:35:41

Brett VanKirk
Member
Registered: 2012-10-28
Posts: 10

Re: [Solved]Kernel panic while upgrade to 3.6.4

muffinss wrote:

The new install medium uses kernel 3.6.4 so any person doing a fresh install of Arch with the new medium running >4gb of ram with an AMD processor, use mem=4G at boot in grub.

I am a little concered about this. For anyone that has not seen this thread will run into this issue when the installer tries to boot into the live CD if they are running an AMD CPU and currently have more than 4GB of memory installed. I would imagine this could and will effect a large group of people, how can we get the word out? I was hoping the November release would have used the 3.6.5 Kernel instead due to this issue.

A simple note on the news release mentioning AMD + 4GB = No Boot without mem=4G (or what ever works for you, 3G for me) or pulling the November 2012 installer and rebuilding with the 3.6.5 would do the trick. At least once the user gets past the initial install pacman will upgrade to 3.6.5 so the first reboot shouldn't be an issue.


"Success breeds complacency. Complacency breeds failure. Only the paranoid survive." - Andrew Grove

Offline

#38 2012-11-03 03:52:29

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,422

Re: [Solved]Kernel panic while upgrade to 3.6.4

Brett VanKirk wrote:
muffinss wrote:

The new install medium uses kernel 3.6.4 so any person doing a fresh install of Arch with the new medium running >4gb of ram with an AMD processor, use mem=4G at boot in grub.

I am a little concered about this. For anyone that has not seen this thread will run into this issue when the installer tries to boot into the live CD if they are running an AMD CPU and currently have more than 4GB of memory installed. I would imagine this could and will effect a large group of people, how can we get the word out?

Follow the thread https://mailman.archlinux.org/pipermail … 23968.html

Offline

#39 2012-11-07 09:32:58

na5m
Member
Registered: 2008-11-19
Posts: 22

Re: [Solved]Kernel panic while upgrade to 3.6.4

ajaxas wrote:

What says

$ zcat /proc/config.gz | grep -i CONFIG_MEMORY_SIZE

?

The installation media kernel is 3.6.4-1
When I do the zcat thing, the grep result is blank, as in not found.
iow, CONFIG_MEMORY_SIZE doesn't seem to exist in my config.gz

EDIT:
News flash... I'm now (11-07-12) running kernel 3.6.6-1-ARCH (x64) and am still having kernel panics :-(

Last edited by na5m (2012-11-08 08:38:23)


Let's go check out Hades!

Offline

#40 2012-11-08 18:07:32

davephillips
Member
From: Findlay OH USA
Registered: 2011-09-20
Posts: 10
Website

Re: [Solved]Kernel panic while upgrade to 3.6.4

na5m wrote:

News flash... I'm now (11-07-12) running kernel 3.6.6-1-ARCH (x64) and am still having kernel panics :-(

Same here, it's very frustrating. I did 'pacman -Syyu' this morning, everything appeared to go smoothly, then I rebooted into the panic. I have the latest installation DVD but I'm not at all sure how to proceed. Any suggestions ?

Best,

dp

EDIT: My problem was resolved, see this thread: https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=152515

Last edited by davephillips (2012-11-09 15:55:19)


Similis sum folio de quo ludunt venti.

Offline

#41 2012-11-16 20:03:13

rgolubtsov
Member
From: Linköping, Sweden
Registered: 2012-07-27
Posts: 2
Website

Re: [Solved]Kernel panic while upgrade to 3.6.4

Intel-based machines apparently have affected by this issue too:

I have a notebook Samsung R508 with the Intel Pentium Dual CPU T3400 @ 2.16 GHz running Arch64 (the only OS). It has 2 Gb of RAM (in the first slot), the second one was empty (officially it is known it supports up to 4 Gb of RAM). RAM banks are for SODIMM DDR-2.

Yesterday I've decided to upgrade my memory and install another 2 Gb RAM-module. Its native memory (2 Gb) was marked as produced by Samsung and has working freq. 667 MHz. My new module (2 Gb) was produced by Patriot and has working freq. 800 MHz.

BIOS has detected 4096 Mb in total, both modules work at 667 MHz.
But everytime Arch64 with the 3.6.5-1-ARCH kernel has usually booted normally before systemd will issue "Started recreate volatile files and directories". And after that - immediate automatic reboot.

I've tried to boot Arch64 from a CD burned with 2011.08.19 ISO (there the kernel 3.0.3-1 shipped), but no luck.

Next step for me was to boot from CD having FreeBSD 8.2 and from DVD having PC-BSD 9.0 Live: both booted and ran successfully and detected 4 Gb of RAM.

Memtest86+ is also gave me good result: after more than 8 hours of testing it has presented no any errors in all passed tests for that period of time. (Note: I didn't touched memory modules after their first install, didn't swapped or removed any of them.)

Today, following this thread, adding "mem=4G" to the kernel params line solved the issue. This is true for both 3.6.5-1 and 3.0.3-1 kernels.


Blade: Butterfly Defence Alpha DEF
Forehand: Butterfly Tackiness-C 1.7 (Black)
Backhand: Butterfly Feint Long II 1.1 (Red)

Offline

#42 2013-01-18 18:44:58

Strike0
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2011-09-05
Posts: 1,277

Re: [Solved]Kernel panic while upgrade to 3.6.4

Old thread I know. I add to it since this seems to be an open issue still and there is a bit news here: 

I got hit by the same symptom: When exchanging an Athlon for an FX 6100 the initramfs just got stuck, nothing happening, kernel bulldozed.. This was reproducible for Arch-x86 3.6.11, Debian-64 (3.2.0), as well as an Fedora Iso (3.7.x). Appending the mem=4G or 3G did not help in any case. Memcheck worked fine with all ram.

By a fair number of trial and error in the Bios (Asus M4A89GTD) I found that setting the CPU option "C1E Support" to "disabled" apparently solved it for this system. 32/64 bit boot fine with all the ram. I write apparently since I just found it out yesterday. C1E is for some power saving option, which the motherboard does not have  (apparently AM3 vs. AM3+ socket).

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB