You are not logged in.

#1 2005-10-08 10:09:16

dtw
Forum Fellow
From: London, UK
Registered: 2004-08-03
Posts: 4,428
Website

Condition Zero in Wine

I get an error about:

Message: Potential Conflict with Disc Emulator Software detected

Anyone else successfully running COndition Zero in Wine and surmounted this annoyance?

Offline

#2 2005-10-09 18:27:51

freakyc
Member
Registered: 2004-03-28
Posts: 89

Re: Condition Zero in Wine

Sounds like copy protection.  I'm guessing you need a no-cd crack.  Or bite the bullet and get a copy of cedega.

Offline

#3 2005-10-09 22:00:13

dtw
Forum Fellow
From: London, UK
Registered: 2004-08-03
Posts: 4,428
Website

Re: Condition Zero in Wine

What stops you running cedega after your first 3 months is up?  Politeness?

Offline

#4 2005-10-09 22:05:19

Cam
Member
From: Brisbane, Aus
Registered: 2004-12-21
Posts: 658
Website

Re: Condition Zero in Wine

Nothing stops you, and they don't ask that you stop. The monthly fee is for support and upgrades, if you choose not to continue your subscription then they don't mind you using the software smile That's my understanding anyway.

Offline

#5 2005-10-09 22:09:21

dtw
Forum Fellow
From: London, UK
Registered: 2004-08-03
Posts: 4,428
Website

Re: Condition Zero in Wine

I can't get CVS cedega to build with gcc4 tho previous builds have been fine.  Would be good to get a build of it to see if it will solve my problem before I shell out smile  Lots to be said for the usually over-priced widows shareware in that respects

Offline

#6 2005-10-10 16:29:00

EmbraceThePenguin
Member
From: New Mexico, USA
Registered: 2004-08-09
Posts: 197

Re: Condition Zero in Wine

I use cedega (And point2play) from transgaming and I love it. ALL Steam games work flawlessly (Well, with the exception of the MIC not working proporly). I play DOD Source, CS Source, HL2, and my kids play CZ.

The initial cost is $30USD (Minimun for 6 months) but after that, you can pay per month and its only $5USD, or you can pay per year if you wanna. If you dont pay, you can still use the product, but you might not be able to get updates and you cant vote for games (I dont do that anyway).

I would recommend it; its so much simpler than playing with the CVS version or regular WINE. You isntall the app and it "Just Works".

Joe

Offline

#7 2005-10-10 16:33:55

dtw
Forum Fellow
From: London, UK
Registered: 2004-08-03
Posts: 4,428
Website

Re: Condition Zero in Wine

My machine isn't really good enough for gaming to be honest - I'll wait till I have a better machine smile

Offline

#8 2005-10-11 00:59:38

freakyc
Member
Registered: 2004-03-28
Posts: 89

Re: Condition Zero in Wine

CVS version also doesn't support the required copy protection stuff.  At least not last time I used it.

Offline

#9 2005-10-13 03:59:09

Rotonen
Member
From: Espoo, Finland
Registered: 2005-03-08
Posts: 31
Website

Re: Condition Zero in Wine

AFAIK the copy protection stuff doesn't really apply to Steam games.

Offline

#10 2005-10-13 04:14:30

freakyc
Member
Registered: 2004-03-28
Posts: 89

Re: Condition Zero in Wine

Ya, I know Half-life didn't have copy protection with Steam.  There does seem to be a no cd crack for Condition Zero though.  Not sure if that means anything or not.

Offline

#11 2005-10-13 21:30:23

NecroRomancist
Member
Registered: 2005-01-02
Posts: 53

Re: Condition Zero in Wine

You can get it to run using wine.
Maybe this will help

http://www.linux-gamers.net/modules/new … st_id=9304

Offline

#12 2005-10-13 23:12:07

Rotonen
Member
From: Espoo, Finland
Registered: 2005-03-08
Posts: 31
Website

Re: Condition Zero in Wine

All Steam games stopped working for me after this latest update. Seen reports that it happened on Cedega too. Almost every time Steam gets updated, this happens. (Actually Steam doesn't even start anymore, all I get to see is that error window with the new shiny gui skin.)

Offline

#13 2005-10-14 06:13:34

EmbraceThePenguin
Member
From: New Mexico, USA
Registered: 2004-08-09
Posts: 197

Re: Condition Zero in Wine

Yeah, there was a Cedega update today becuse of this. It fixes the issue. There is a new interface for Steam. Actually, it looks rather slick smile

Joe

Offline

#14 2005-10-15 00:42:46

Cam
Member
From: Brisbane, Aus
Registered: 2004-12-21
Posts: 658
Website

Re: Condition Zero in Wine

I gave in and bought Cedega yesterday for DoD Source and I'll just put my 2c in to say that Cedega is really very good. I installed it, used my old Steam account which I bought nearly all the games on and downloaded/installed them. Spent this morning playing CS Source and now DoD is downloading, not so much as an error message or problem in sight. Haven't checked my in-game FPS yet but I'd guess it's 50+ because it runs pretty smooth.

Just some input if you're considering parting with your 9 pounds, from my experience it works well. I used the PKGBUILD in AUR (updated version numbers) and it installed great smile

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB