You are not logged in.

#1 2005-10-07 02:39:27

usedtire
Member
Registered: 2004-02-12
Posts: 50

Cisco Aironet

I got a Cisco Aironet card to replace the Broadcom that uses ndiswrapper.  Here is what happens
modprobe airo
modprobe airo_ca

then run iwconfig

eth1 (which is my wireless card) no wireless extensions

A few places suggested that it is the driver.  Anyone have any other suggestions?   Does anyone use a Cisco Aironet card?  How did you get it installed?

Offline

#2 2005-10-07 03:06:53

medicated
Member
From: Storm Lake, IA
Registered: 2005-03-11
Posts: 79

Re: Cisco Aironet

I have a cisco aironet wireless card, but its the Cisco AIR-CB21AG-A-K9 model and I use the madwifi driver.  It works just fine for me, so maybe take a look at and try that.  I have no experience with the driver you're talking about though.

Offline

#3 2005-10-07 11:56:12

usedtire
Member
Registered: 2004-02-12
Posts: 50

Re: Cisco Aironet

That's the same card I have.  I will try the MADWIFI driver.  Thanks.  Any particular special thing you had to do?   What kernel did you use?

Offline

#4 2005-10-07 17:02:57

medicated
Member
From: Storm Lake, IA
Registered: 2005-03-11
Posts: 79

Re: Cisco Aironet

I didn't do anything special.  I believe I used the build from aur.  I also don't use the stock arch linux kernel.  I'm running 2.6.13 with the ck patchset.

Offline

#5 2005-10-08 13:50:37

rayjgu3
Member
From: Chicago IL usa
Registered: 2004-07-04
Posts: 692

Re: Cisco Aironet

i have aironet 350
modprobe

 yenta_socket , pcmcia_core , airo , & airo_cs 

in rc.conf

lo="lo 127.0.0.1"
#eth0="dhcp"
eth1="dhcp"
INTERFACES=(lo !eth0 eth1)
DAEMONS=(syslog-ng !hotplug pcmcia network netfs crond )

but since the upgrades that came out the other day
it doesnt work at boot up i have to unplug then plugin card
run as root

ifconfig -a
dhcpcd eth1    or i could use 
dhcpcd wifi0

from what ive read so far its a udev prob havent been able to figure it out yet
so im plugging away at that

Offline

#6 2005-10-18 20:35:35

usedtire
Member
Registered: 2004-02-12
Posts: 50

Re: Cisco Aironet

interestingly enough until I upgrade mine would not work. 

Thanks

Offline

#7 2005-10-18 21:21:51

rayjgu3
Member
From: Chicago IL usa
Registered: 2004-07-04
Posts: 692

Re: Cisco Aironet

well now with a couple of new kernels released since plus other pkgs
sometimes it works on boot sometimes no
mostly yes

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB