You are not logged in.

#1 2012-11-12 22:34:20

odin89
Member
Registered: 2011-09-23
Posts: 20

Freeze Wallpaper Change Gnome3.6/Cinnamon

Hello,
i have a new installed archlinux system and installed cinnamon from the AUR. With ubuntu i used a script for changing my wallpaper every 10 minutes and everything was fine. Now with Archlinux the Computer freezes for 2-3 seconds when the wallpaper is changing. I tried it with gnome 3.6 and cinnamon. I also tried the Programm "wallch" but its the same.
My Script looks like this:

#!/usr/bin/perl -w
use strict;
use warnings;
my $searchPath = '~/Wallpaper/';   # Set to the directory you want to have searched for photos
my $switchTime = 600;               # Edit to the number of seconds between photo switches
my @photos = `find $searchPath -type f | grep [jJ][pP][eE]*[gG]`;              
chomp(@photos);
my $photo;
while(1)
{
    $photo = $photos[rand($#photos)];
    `gsettings set org.gnome.desktop.background picture-uri "file:///$photo"`;
    sleep($switchTime);
}

Does someone have the same issue and know how to fix it?

greets

odin89

Offline

#2 2012-11-16 21:22:20

stefkee
Member
From: Serbia
Registered: 2012-11-09
Posts: 32
Website

Re: Freeze Wallpaper Change Gnome3.6/Cinnamon

bump.... anyone?


[img]http://img97.imageshack.us/img97/8027/15735.png[/img]

Offline

#3 2013-03-19 11:04:36

mwil7034
Member
Registered: 2013-03-19
Posts: 2

Re: Freeze Wallpaper Change Gnome3.6/Cinnamon

I get the same slight pause you are referring to when I use a similar gsettings wallpaper change in Fedora 18

Havent figured out exactly what is causing it and how to rectify yet but I will hopefully track it down shortly and let you know!

Offline

#4 2013-04-17 16:24:44

Cthulhu82
Member
From: Angers, France
Registered: 2013-04-01
Posts: 149

Re: Freeze Wallpaper Change Gnome3.6/Cinnamon

I had the same problem too.
With gnome-tweak-tool, activate the control of the desktop by the file manager (not sure of the name, I have it in french, it should be the first one of the list).
You can also do it with dconf-editor, activate the "show-desktop-icons" in org.gnome.desktop.background

This solved the problem for me (even if I don't understand why…).


« En essayant continuellement, on finit par réussir.
Donc plus ça rate, plus ça a de chance de marcher. »
Devise Shadock

Offline

#5 2013-04-19 15:53:08

Cthulhu82
Member
From: Angers, France
Registered: 2013-04-01
Posts: 149

Re: Freeze Wallpaper Change Gnome3.6/Cinnamon

OK, I confirm it works, but leads to another problem : when I activate the dash, my background becomes entirely black and I don't see my wallpaper anymore, when it should only become darker…
Does anyone have a solution to these problems ? Does it still happens in Gnome 3.8 ?


« En essayant continuellement, on finit par réussir.
Donc plus ça rate, plus ça a de chance de marcher. »
Devise Shadock

Offline

#6 2013-04-20 02:17:42

mwil7034
Member
Registered: 2013-03-19
Posts: 2

Re: Freeze Wallpaper Change Gnome3.6/Cinnamon

Ya, enabling "Have filemanager handle the desktop" eliminates the pause but it then overrides the activities page to a solid black background sad Switched back for now but its super annoying

I cant comment on 3.8 im still on 3.6 atm

Offline

#7 2013-04-22 10:45:40

Cthulhu82
Member
From: Angers, France
Registered: 2013-04-01
Posts: 149

Re: Freeze Wallpaper Change Gnome3.6/Cinnamon

OK, I just update to 3.8 and the problem seems to have disapear !


« En essayant continuellement, on finit par réussir.
Donc plus ça rate, plus ça a de chance de marcher. »
Devise Shadock

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB