You are not logged in.

#1 2012-11-12 10:59:13

theta
Member
From: India
Registered: 2010-01-16
Posts: 129

[SOLVED] - Changing to Lower Resolution

Hi, My default screen resolution is 1680x1050 and I have been trying to lower it for getting better visibility in firefox.
I have tried instructions at https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=144545 and https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=145671
I'm not familiar with the way Xorg configuration is and seem not to be able to understand it.
I even tried using nvidia-settings but that to refuses to show up any other resolution than 1680x1050.
Current nvidia version is 304.64

xrandr --q1 gives:

 SZ:    Pixels          Physical       Refresh
*0   1680 x 1050   ( 330mm x 210mm )  *50   52   53   54  
 1   1280 x 1024   ( 252mm x 204mm )   51  
 2   1280 x 720    ( 252mm x 144mm )   55  
 3   1024 x 768    ( 201mm x 153mm )   56  
 4    800 x 600    ( 157mm x 120mm )   57  
 5    640 x 480    ( 126mm x  96mm )   58  
 6   1680 x 945    ( 330mm x 189mm )   59  
Current rotation - normal
Current reflection - none
Rotations possible - normal left inverted right 
Reflections possible - X Axis Y Axis

So I tried for 1280x1024:

$ cvt 1280 1024
# 1280x1024 59.89 Hz (CVT 1.31M4) hsync: 63.67 kHz; pclk: 109.00 MHz
Modeline "1280x1024_60.00"  109.00  1280 1368 1496 1712  1024 1027 1034 1063 -hsync +vsync
$ xrandr --newmode "1280x1024_60.00"  109.00  1280 1368 1496 1712  1024 1027 1034 1063 -hsync +vsyn
$ xrandr --addmode LVDS-0 1280x1024_60.00
X Error of failed request:  BadMatch (invalid parameter attributes)
  Major opcode of failed request:  140 (RANDR)
  Minor opcode of failed request:  18 (RRAddOutputMode)
  Serial number of failed request:  27
  Current serial number in output stream:  28

I tried putting the metamode in /etc/X11/xorg.conf and repeating the above steps.

Option         "MetaModes"  "LVDS-0: nvidia-auto-select {ViewPortIn=1680x1050}; LVDS-0: nvidia-auto-select {ViewPortIn=1280x1024}"

Is this option correct or do I need to use some other format?

Last edited by theta (2012-11-19 08:17:24)

Offline

#2 2012-11-12 13:10:48

DSpider
Member
From: Romania
Registered: 2009-08-23
Posts: 2,273

Re: [SOLVED] - Changing to Lower Resolution

If you're using the proprietary drivers, then why not just use nvidia-settings to set a lower resolution?


"How to Succeed with Linux"

I have made a personal commitment not to reply in topics that start with a lowercase letter. Proper grammar and punctuation is a sign of respect, and if you do not show any, you will NOT receive any help (at least not from me).

Offline

#3 2012-11-12 14:36:32

teateawhy
Member
From: GER
Registered: 2012-03-05
Posts: 1,060
Website

Re: [SOLVED] - Changing to Lower Resolution

ϑ wrote:

My default screen resolution is 1680x1050 and I have been trying to lower it for getting better visibility in firefox.

May i ask why you want to lower your screen resolution? Usually the higher the resolution is , the better fonts display. To make websites appear bigger in firefox press ctrl and + or - to make them smaller.
ϑ

Last edited by teateawhy (2012-11-12 14:37:07)

Offline

#4 2012-11-12 15:04:34

theta
Member
From: India
Registered: 2010-01-16
Posts: 129

Re: [SOLVED] - Changing to Lower Resolution

DSpider wrote:

If you're using the proprietary drivers, then why not just use nvidia-settings to set a lower resolution?

nvidia-settings doesn't display any options other than 1680x1050
If it would have, why would I have gone to the trouble of using  xrandr big_smile

Offline

#5 2012-11-12 15:08:27

theta
Member
From: India
Registered: 2010-01-16
Posts: 129

Re: [SOLVED] - Changing to Lower Resolution

teateawhy wrote:
ϑ wrote:

My default screen resolution is 1680x1050 and I have been trying to lower it for getting better visibility in firefox.

May i ask why you want to lower your screen resolution? Usually the higher the resolution is , the better fonts display. To make websites appear bigger in firefox press ctrl and + or - to make them smaller.
ϑ

In my case, I find that higher resolution implies tiny size fonts. If I increase the default font size then the text in many websites tends to overflow. Plus I also wanted a lower resolution to play some old legacy game.

Offline

#6 2012-11-12 17:42:17

teateawhy
Member
From: GER
Registered: 2012-03-05
Posts: 1,060
Website

Re: [SOLVED] - Changing to Lower Resolution

ϑ wrote:

If I increase the default font size then the text in many websites tends to overflow.

Sorry. I still do not understand your point. You can resize everything on the page with firefox, that means nothing will overflow within text fields. Also you can specify a minimum font size and keep font sizes above the minimum unchanged. Some browsers allow you to change font size and overall size independently, too.
EDIT: Was meant as a recommendation, not giving you a hard time ...

Last edited by teateawhy (2012-11-12 19:03:27)

Offline

#7 2012-11-12 17:54:17

flipper T
Member
Registered: 2012-09-14
Posts: 419

Re: [SOLVED] - Changing to Lower Resolution

Why give OP a hard time? He/She would like to change their screen resolution.


If I'm curt with you it's because time is a factor. I think fast, I talk fast and I need you guys to act fast if you wanna get out of this. So, pretty please... with sugar on top. Clean the [censored] car. -The Wolf

Offline

#8 2012-11-13 10:00:58

theta
Member
From: India
Registered: 2010-01-16
Posts: 129

Re: [SOLVED] - Changing to Lower Resolution

teateawhy wrote:

that means nothing will overflow within text fields.

Unfortunately, this isn't true. Sometimes on certaing webpages, certain widgets/text (1 of the 2) do overflow and are visible partially only. I have encountered this sometimes while filling web forms. To workaround, I temporarily reduce the Minimum Font Size to 12.
Also I require to use the lower resolution for certain games.

Offline

#9 2012-11-13 15:08:48

Mr.Elendig
#archlinux@freenode channel op
From: The intertubes
Registered: 2004-11-07
Posts: 3,740

Re: [SOLVED] - Changing to Lower Resolution

theta wrote:

Hi, My default screen resolution is 1680x1050 and I have been trying to lower it for getting better visibility in firefox.

Don't do this. Using a non-native res on a lcd will make it much harder to read. (and hur your eyes)

Simply increase the font and icon sizes instead.


Evil #archlinux@freenode channel op and general support dude.
. files on github, Screenshots, Random pics and the rest

Offline

#10 2012-11-13 16:45:04

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 13,415

Re: [SOLVED] - Changing to Lower Resolution

Mr.Elendig wrote:
theta wrote:

Hi, My default screen resolution is 1680x1050 and I have been trying to lower it for getting better visibility in firefox.

Don't do this. Using a non-native res on a lcd will make it much harder to read. (and hur your eyes)

Simply increase the font and icon sizes instead.

This ^^^

I was about to ask whether this is an LCD or a CRT;  it was not stated in the OP.   Changing resolutions on a CRT is not an unreasonable thing to do.  Running an LCD display at anything other than its native resolution is not really possible; instead you end up with ugly scaling in which every image pixel with a non-integer ratio has to move off center to align with the displays pixels.  Some clever scalers will split a logical pixel across a couple physical pixels and fiddle with the intensity of each of those physical pixels; but this is always a bad compromise.

Having issued that advise, coupled with the suggestions on changing font size, let us let the OP choose smile


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
You assume people are rational and influenced by evidence.  You must not work with the public much. -- Trilby
----
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

#11 2012-11-13 20:29:10

InFerYes
Member
Registered: 2012-11-13
Posts: 8

Re: [SOLVED] - Changing to Lower Resolution

I registered specially for this and I don't see why you guys aren't simply helping him rather than telling him to make icons larger or scale the webpage in the browser.. This could help other people in other situations as well.

Maybe this situation will make you help look for solutions instead of workarounds:
I have a 1440*900 screen on my laptop. I use this to stream games by attaching it to my PC which has a capture card. The input of the capture card is 1024*768. When I connect to this capture card, the laptop will automatically detect it as a secondary monitor at 1024*768.
Now, what I did in the past, which is no longer possible, is that I lowered the resolution of the laptop screen to 1024*768 and clone the screens. I can't always see the screen during the stream so I need to be able to control the laptop without seeing the screen on the PC.

If anyone knows how I can change to a lower resolution using nvidia-settings, that would be great. Currently, the only resolution listed is the native resolution, just like the OP.

Last edited by InFerYes (2012-11-13 20:29:57)

Offline

#12 2012-11-13 20:42:13

Gusar
Member
Registered: 2009-08-25
Posts: 3,472

Re: [SOLVED] - Changing to Lower Resolution

InFerYes wrote:

I don't see why you guys aren't simply helping him rather than telling him to make icons larger or scale the webpage in the browser.

Because that's the better solution. An LCD only has one, native resolution. A smaller resolution will be scaled to this native resolution anyway, but such scaling means blur. I can't look at the blur of a non-native resolution for more than five minutes without getting dizzy. So I totally agree with others when they suggest to use other methods to make things bigger while the LCD stays at native resolution.

Offline

#13 2012-11-13 20:45:50

InFerYes
Member
Registered: 2012-11-13
Posts: 8

Re: [SOLVED] - Changing to Lower Resolution

I thought the Linux philosophy was: "Why do you want to do something? Because you can."
Or something in the line of "This is the solution, however we all suggest that it's better to.."

Offline

#14 2012-11-13 20:49:34

flipper T
Member
Registered: 2012-09-14
Posts: 419

Re: [SOLVED] - Changing to Lower Resolution

While the "increase font size" solution is right for the "font size problem", but OP also wants to lower resolution in order that his / her games will appear larger on their screen. This has not been addressed.


If I'm curt with you it's because time is a factor. I think fast, I talk fast and I need you guys to act fast if you wanna get out of this. So, pretty please... with sugar on top. Clean the [censored] car. -The Wolf

Offline

#15 2012-11-15 05:53:01

theta
Member
From: India
Registered: 2010-01-16
Posts: 129

Re: [SOLVED] - Changing to Lower Resolution

InFerYes wrote:

I thought the Linux philosophy was: "Why do you want to do something? Because you can."

I don't know what you all believe in, but I agree to this.
Although I agree that the best solution for the firefox problem might be just increasing the font size as you all suggested ( and what I have been doing since the past year or 2) , but there's no harm in trying something else, is it? And it would be cool if nvidia-setting gave an option of selecting screen resolution.
Plus as flipper T said, I also wanted that to address a small problem related to running Commandos (A old windows game), on arch in full screen. That game only supports 640x480, if I remember correctly. I had tried running it a couple of months back, but couldn't get a full screen view on it. Will try again and provide some details.

Regards,
Apoorv

Offline

#16 2012-11-15 06:50:56

Max-P
Member
Registered: 2011-06-11
Posts: 164

Re: [SOLVED] - Changing to Lower Resolution

Doesn't

xrandr -s 1280x1024

Work?

The 3xx series of nvidia drivers has a bug that makes it only see one resolution for LCD screens, mainly laptops.

I put that in my xorg.conf (you can make one from nvidia-settings), it makes virtual viewports and allows me to play games at lower resolutions:

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen0"
    Device         "Device0"
    Monitor        "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth    24
    Option         "Stereo" "0"

    Option    "Metamodes" "DFP-0: nvidia-auto-select; nvidia-auto-select {ViewPortIn=1280x720}; nvidia-auto-select {ViewPortIn=800x600}; nvidia-auto-select {ViewPortIn=640x480}"
 
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       24
    EndSubSection
EndSection

This is documented in the nvidia manual. A bit poorly documented, but it is.

It's also possible to force it to detect invalid modes with this option

Option "ModeValidation" "NoDFPNativeResolutionCheck, NoVirtualSizeCheck,NoMaxPClkCheck,NoHorizSyncCheck ,NoVertRefreshCheck,NoWidthAlignmentCheck,AllowNonEdidModes,NoTotalSizeCheck"

Combined with usual Xorg modes and the ModeLine. I never got that working thought, and I usually change the resolution for games (My laptop's card barely support 1920x1080, so I have to help it a bit by lowering the game's resolution)

Offline

#17 2012-11-15 11:54:50

InFerYes
Member
Registered: 2012-11-13
Posts: 8

Re: [SOLVED] - Changing to Lower Resolution

xrandr -s 1280x1024

This works like a charm for me! However, I have to add that I have just updated the drivers to 304.48 just now.
At least my issue is resolve, I hope this works for theta as well.

Thanks again.

Offline

#18 2012-11-15 18:36:46

Mr.Elendig
#archlinux@freenode channel op
From: The intertubes
Registered: 2004-11-07
Posts: 3,740

Re: [SOLVED] - Changing to Lower Resolution

flipper T wrote:

While the "increase font size" solution is right for the "font size problem", but OP also wants to lower resolution in order that his / her games will appear larger on their screen. This has not been addressed.

OP only mentioned firefox.  (also lowering the rest in many games only makes them harder to see, due to pixelation etc.)


Evil #archlinux@freenode channel op and general support dude.
. files on github, Screenshots, Random pics and the rest

Offline

#19 2012-11-15 21:47:53

flipper T
Member
Registered: 2012-09-14
Posts: 419

Re: [SOLVED] - Changing to Lower Resolution

Not that it matters , but I was using OP to refer to OPoster, not Opost:

"Plus I also wanted a lower resolution to play some old legacy game."....post #5.


If I'm curt with you it's because time is a factor. I think fast, I talk fast and I need you guys to act fast if you wanna get out of this. So, pretty please... with sugar on top. Clean the [censored] car. -The Wolf

Offline

#20 2012-11-19 07:59:56

theta
Member
From: India
Registered: 2010-01-16
Posts: 129

Re: [SOLVED] - Changing to Lower Resolution

InFerYes wrote:
xrandr -s 1280x1024

This works like a charm for me! However, I have to add that I have just updated the drivers to 304.48 just now.
At least my issue is resolve, I hope this works for theta as well.

Thanks again.

Thanks that works. Somehow its not mentioned specifically anywhere and is kindoff an indirect method to change resolution.

Offline

#21 2012-11-19 08:41:01

DSpider
Member
From: Romania
Registered: 2009-08-23
Posts: 2,273

Re: [SOLVED] - Changing to Lower Resolution

I'm sure it can be done from xorg.conf (or better yet, "/etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/10-monitor.conf") with something like:

Option         "PreferredMode"   blablabla

Google it.


Why? Because after Xorg has started with the native resolution (or whatever resolution thinks is native to the monitor), having it run at boot will flicker for a second or so, until it changes. This way it starts in that resolution right away.


"How to Succeed with Linux"

I have made a personal commitment not to reply in topics that start with a lowercase letter. Proper grammar and punctuation is a sign of respect, and if you do not show any, you will NOT receive any help (at least not from me).

Offline

#22 2012-11-19 08:55:58

Max-P
Member
Registered: 2011-06-11
Posts: 164

Re: [SOLVED] - Changing to Lower Resolution

Also, with the 310.19 update, nvidia added the viewPortIn and viewPortOut stuff directly in nvidia-settings, so it's way easier to configure now.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB