You are not logged in.

#1 2012-11-13 23:19:59

ninjaprawn
Member
From: Manchester, UK
Registered: 2008-01-26
Posts: 453

[solved]systemd migration.... cant remove dbus or networkmanage...

Hi, brief and I imagine quick question as I think everyone is going though or has recently made the switch to systemd. I have done a lot of reading about systemd and have got all the correct files in place and no longer have rc.local and my rc.conf is bare..... just a couple of items left in it which I cant remove! namely DAEMONS=(dbus networkmanager)

#
# /etc/rc.conf - Main Configuration for Arch Linux
DAEMONS=(dbus networkmanager)

I have done;
systemctl enable NetworkManager.service
systemctl enable NetworkManager-wait-online.service

and i believe dbus does not need "enabling" however, neither come up on system boot unless specified in dbus

EDIT:
hmmm just noticed, i can not mount USB's anymore with pcmanfm... get the error "Not authorized to perform operation"

Last edited by ninjaprawn (2012-11-14 00:35:21)


Arch Linux on 4 machines - all vnc'ed and samba'ed - Asus 1001px
- P4 2.8GHz, 1Gb ram, GeForce6200, 290Gb (media centre)(no keyboard or mouse)
- HP Pavilion G6 Dual core 2.2GHz, 4Gb ram, 750Gb
- Samsung Series 3, i5, 6g ram, 750gb

Offline

#2 2012-11-14 00:11:16

tomk
Forum Fellow
From: Ireland
Registered: 2004-07-21
Posts: 9,835

Re: [solved]systemd migration.... cant remove dbus or networkmanage...

Are you sure you're actually booting with systemd?

ps -p 1

will tell you.

Offline

#3 2012-11-14 00:22:07

ninjaprawn
Member
From: Manchester, UK
Registered: 2008-01-26
Posts: 453

Re: [solved]systemd migration.... cant remove dbus or networkmanage...

id assume so.... i thought it was part of the system now? not sure what the result means...

[danny@HPmachine ~]$ ps -p 1
  PID TTY          TIME CMD
    1 ?        00:00:00 init
[danny@HPmachine ~]$

nope.... systemd wasnt running........ it is now.... fixed everything mentioned.... thanks for pointing out my stupid mistake..... the wiki is as clear as mud on systemd

Last edited by ninjaprawn (2012-11-14 00:34:54)


Arch Linux on 4 machines - all vnc'ed and samba'ed - Asus 1001px
- P4 2.8GHz, 1Gb ram, GeForce6200, 290Gb (media centre)(no keyboard or mouse)
- HP Pavilion G6 Dual core 2.2GHz, 4Gb ram, 750Gb
- Samsung Series 3, i5, 6g ram, 750gb

Offline

#4 2012-11-14 06:56:37

tomk
Forum Fellow
From: Ireland
Registered: 2004-07-21
Posts: 9,835

Re: [solved]systemd migration.... cant remove dbus or networkmanage...

Really? I found it fine. Either way, it's a wiki - make any changes you think necessary.

Offline

#5 2012-11-14 07:00:15

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,412

Re: [solved]systemd migration.... cant remove dbus or networkmanage...

I too found the systemd page incredibly easy to follow.  Though I converted a couple months ago, so the last time I checked I noticed that it has grown quite a bit since I referenced it.  Maybe this is why you find it less than clear?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB