You are not logged in.

#1 2012-11-16 01:23:43

Inseighn
Member
Registered: 2012-11-16
Posts: 13

Trouble installing Arch - Connection Issues(RTL8188CE)

Hi, Just got a new laptop this week and since it doesn't have extremely high-end specs(Intel Pentium CPU, 4g RAM, Integrated GPU) I wanted to install linux onto it. At first I had linux mint 13 but I grew tired of the Cinnamon DE and since I'm somewhat familiar with linux I decided to go with Arch. Anyway, when I was trying to install I cannot for the life of me set up my wireless connection. It either states no device available or it's not set up(even after running iwconfig wlan0 up multiple times) I have even removed and started my wireless module a few times. The wireless card I have is a Realtek 8188CE and it's using the RTL8192CE firmware in arch.

Last edited by Inseighn (2012-11-16 03:09:03)

Offline

#2 2012-11-16 01:33:05

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,412

Re: Trouble installing Arch - Connection Issues(RTL8188CE)

Good luck with that card... its a nighmare to use.  Is the card being hard or soft blocked?  Check with rfkill.

Offline

#3 2012-11-16 01:37:54

Inseighn
Member
Registered: 2012-11-16
Posts: 13

Re: Trouble installing Arch - Connection Issues(RTL8188CE)

no and no

Offline

#4 2012-11-16 01:40:03

Inseighn
Member
Registered: 2012-11-16
Posts: 13

Re: Trouble installing Arch - Connection Issues(RTL8188CE)

Im really loving using linux as my laptop OS but I had a lot of problems with the wireless on Mint too and I'm really going to hate if it I have to switch back to w7. But I got it for school purposes and whatnot so having internet is a MUST.

Offline

#5 2012-11-16 01:43:08

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,412

Re: Trouble installing Arch - Connection Issues(RTL8188CE)

What kind of laptop is it?  I would recommend getting a new card, as the card you have is pretty crappy at its very very best.  In the short term though, you may want to set ips=0 and fwlps=0.  See the man page for modprobe.d

Offline

#6 2012-11-16 01:47:53

Inseighn
Member
Registered: 2012-11-16
Posts: 13

Re: Trouble installing Arch - Connection Issues(RTL8188CE)

Toshiba Satellite C855-S5231

Offline

#7 2012-11-16 01:51:21

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,412

Re: Trouble installing Arch - Connection Issues(RTL8188CE)

I don't think that you should ahve an issue then.  You can get a new wifi card off the internets (ie ebay, amazon, etc) for pretty cheap.  I got an Intel Centrino 6235 Advanced-N for $30, and that is like the lastes and greatest that also has bluetooth 4.0.  You can get a very good card for ~$20.  Intel card are very well supported, as are Atheros.  There are others, but I have used both of those brands with much success.

Edit: The reason I asked about your machine is because there are a couple brands that whitelist their own wifi cards in the bios.  My Thinkpad is one of these machines, this only Lenovo cards are supposed to work.  But I was able to reflash the same bios with the whitelist removed onto my hardware and am now able to run whatever I want.  So you may want to do a quick google search to make sure that your computer is not one of the ones that do this.  I am fairly certain Toshiba doesn't, but I am not 100% sure.

Last edited by WonderWoofy (2012-11-16 01:53:31)

Offline

#8 2012-11-16 02:08:37

Inseighn
Member
Registered: 2012-11-16
Posts: 13

Re: Trouble installing Arch - Connection Issues(RTL8188CE)

Alright It should be fine, Im looking into how to replace the card exactly now. There is no PciE panel underneath it to do so, only one that exposes the HDD and RAM

Offline

#9 2012-11-16 02:45:51

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,412

Re: Trouble installing Arch - Connection Issues(RTL8188CE)

I have seen some machines where the wifi card is below the hard drive.  Typically it is something for which access is provided, but of course this varies from manufacturer to manufacturer.  Like Apple is pretty sh*tty about this.


Not sure what model this is, but this video indicateds you need to remove the keyboard to access the wifi card.  It doesn't look tooo hard though.

Last edited by WonderWoofy (2012-11-16 02:50:05)

Offline

#10 2012-11-16 02:46:54

Inseighn
Member
Registered: 2012-11-16
Posts: 13

Re: Trouble installing Arch - Connection Issues(RTL8188CE)

I honestly cannot find this adapter to save my life... and I have found NO guides whatsoever regarding this laptop.

Offline

#11 2012-11-16 02:50:28

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,412

Re: Trouble installing Arch - Connection Issues(RTL8188CE)

See my above post, I just edited it.

Edit: BTW, you probably want to have a more descriptive title than you do.  Something that generic probably won't get much attention.  I actually only ended up in your thread beause I use dwb with keyboard hints for links, and my left hand was not on the home row.

Last edited by WonderWoofy (2012-11-16 02:53:11)

Offline

#12 2012-11-16 03:00:40

2ManyDogs
Member
Registered: 2012-01-15
Posts: 1,691

Re: Trouble installing Arch - Connection Issues(RTL8188CE)

You could just buy a USB wifi dongle and use that instead of replacing the internal wifi card. You don't even need to remove the card.

Offline

#13 2012-11-16 03:09:56

Inseighn
Member
Registered: 2012-11-16
Posts: 13

Re: Trouble installing Arch - Connection Issues(RTL8188CE)

That video helped me get the keyboard off, but instead of my pci slot being exposed like his, its covered by another layer of plastic that seem to not have any screws or latches.

Offline

#14 2012-11-16 03:53:05

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,412

Re: Trouble installing Arch - Connection Issues(RTL8188CE)

How terribly frusturating.  I am sorry to hear that.  I am sure that there has to be some kind of manual to indicate how to get to what you want.  2ManyDogs is certainly right, that a usb dongle would do just fine, but personally I just like having what I need within my machine.  Though I would certainly recommend considering it.  If for nothing else, as a stopgap measure. 

Did you try using the modprobe options?  It certainly doesn't fix the issues, but for me it made it so that I could at least connect.  The latency was still pretty terrible, but if I just pinged the gateway constantly, it would get a bit better.

Offline

#15 2012-11-16 03:59:22

Inseighn
Member
Registered: 2012-11-16
Posts: 13

Re: Trouble installing Arch - Connection Issues(RTL8188CE)

I found it finally. I had to remove the entire bottom frame and it was right in in front of me. Will be ordering that card now, Thanks!

Offline

#16 2012-11-16 04:17:34

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,412

Re: Trouble installing Arch - Connection Issues(RTL8188CE)

No problem, I hope it all works out for you.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB