You are not logged in.

#1 2012-11-15 20:50:01

zcdziura
Member
From: Plymouth, NH
Registered: 2011-08-10
Posts: 8

During Installation, System Won't "Boot the kernel"

Not too long ago, I built a PC and I would like to put Arch on it. I downloaded the latest release (archlinux-2012.11.01), burned it onto a CD, threw it into the CD drive, and booted up. Unfortunately, my system seems to hang at the "Booting the kernel." line. Could someone provide a suggestion? If I left out any information, please let me know and I'll provide whatever you need.

Offline

#2 2012-11-15 21:41:54

hunterthomson
Member
Registered: 2008-06-22
Posts: 794
Website

Re: During Installation, System Won't "Boot the kernel"

Have you tried both the x86_64 and 32bit? I'm guessing a new PC is x86_64, but if it is a bad brun maybe the other files would work. I'd basicaly check the hash, reburn, try USB.... or maybe someone ellse will have a better suggestion.


OpenBSD-current Thinkpad X230, i7-3520M, 16GB CL9 Kingston, Samsung 830 256GB
Contributor: linux-grsec

Offline

#3 2012-11-15 23:01:33

cfr
Member
From: Cymru
Registered: 2011-11-27
Posts: 5,670

Re: During Installation, System Won't "Boot the kernel"

zcdziura wrote:

If I left out any information, please let me know and I'll provide whatever you need.

Well, some information would be good. You haven't actually told us anything whatsoever about what you are trying to install it on.


How To Ask Questions The Smart Way | Help Vampires

Arch Linux | x86_64 | GPT | EFI boot | grub2 | systemd | LVM2 on LUKS
Lenovo x121e | Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-2367M CPU @ 1.40GHz GenuineIntel | Intel Centrino Wireless-N 1000 | US keyboard with Euro | 320G 7200 RPM Seagate HDD

Offline

#4 2012-11-16 00:28:11

zcdziura
Member
From: Plymouth, NH
Registered: 2011-08-10
Posts: 8

Re: During Installation, System Won't "Boot the kernel"

cfr wrote:

Well, some information would be good. You haven't actually told us anything whatsoever about what you are trying to install it on.

Right...

As I've said, I built the computer myself. It's running an AMD quad core CPU, nVidia GTX 560 GPU, SSD + HDD secondary storage, 10GB of RAM, and a Gigabyte motherboard. Apologies for no specifics, I'm away from my desktop and can't remember the exact hardware I purchased.

Offline

#5 2012-11-16 00:34:19

cfr
Member
From: Cymru
Registered: 2011-11-27
Posts: 5,670

Re: During Installation, System Won't "Boot the kernel"

How did you prepare the media? Did you verify the download?

Are you booting BIOS or EFI?


How To Ask Questions The Smart Way | Help Vampires

Arch Linux | x86_64 | GPT | EFI boot | grub2 | systemd | LVM2 on LUKS
Lenovo x121e | Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-2367M CPU @ 1.40GHz GenuineIntel | Intel Centrino Wireless-N 1000 | US keyboard with Euro | 320G 7200 RPM Seagate HDD

Offline

#6 2012-11-17 02:42:14

joelsauce
Member
Registered: 2012-11-17
Posts: 4

Re: During Installation, System Won't "Boot the kernel"

Same problem.

I downloaded archlinux-2012.11.01-dual.iso with MD5 1ceb835d6b3c8e390d0ec4b6c913dc27.

The 64-bit kernel doesn't boot (stuck at "Booting the kernel.").  32-bit boots just fine.

USB & CD have same problem.  I used 'dd' to put the iso onto the USB stick.

Hardware:
AMD FX-8350 (8x4.0GHz)
ASRock Extreme3 970
32 GB RAM

Will post again if I figure out problem. Was hoping to give Arch a whirl on this machine.

Edit: I should add that Ubuntu installed just fine on this machine, 64-bit version.

Last edited by joelsauce (2012-11-17 02:56:28)

Offline

#7 2012-11-17 02:50:38

cfr
Member
From: Cymru
Registered: 2011-11-27
Posts: 5,670

Re: During Installation, System Won't "Boot the kernel"

I think you need to restrict it to 4G of RAM. (Or use the previous iso or wait for the next one.) If you search, there's at least one thread on this which explains there's a problem in the current iso. At least, I think so - have a search.


How To Ask Questions The Smart Way | Help Vampires

Arch Linux | x86_64 | GPT | EFI boot | grub2 | systemd | LVM2 on LUKS
Lenovo x121e | Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-2367M CPU @ 1.40GHz GenuineIntel | Intel Centrino Wireless-N 1000 | US keyboard with Euro | 320G 7200 RPM Seagate HDD

Offline

#8 2012-11-17 03:02:37

joelsauce
Member
Registered: 2012-11-17
Posts: 4

Re: During Installation, System Won't "Boot the kernel"

I searched google and found this and another thread.

Thank you for the information. I boot the 64-bit kernel with adding "mem=2048M" to the command line (as per: http://www.tldp.org/HOWTO/BootPrompt-HOWTO-3.html) and it boot all the way to a prompt. Great success!

Obviously I want to use the other 30 gigabytes of RAM I have in this system.  Is this just an installer problem, or am I going to bump into this again when I boot this thing for the first time after installing Arch?

Last edited by joelsauce (2012-11-17 03:03:12)

Offline

#9 2012-11-17 03:06:20

cfr
Member
From: Cymru
Registered: 2011-11-27
Posts: 5,670

Re: During Installation, System Won't "Boot the kernel"

Just found the post for anybody else looking: https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php … 2#p1186542

It's a problem with a particular kernel. My understanding is that once you upgrade everything after you've installed, it should be fixed (b/c that will give you the current kernel). I think it was 3.6.4-something which had the problem, 3.6.5-something resolved it and we're now using 3.6.6-1 so you should be fine. You just can't use more than 4G during the install. (Unless you use an earlier iso or wait for the next one.)


How To Ask Questions The Smart Way | Help Vampires

Arch Linux | x86_64 | GPT | EFI boot | grub2 | systemd | LVM2 on LUKS
Lenovo x121e | Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-2367M CPU @ 1.40GHz GenuineIntel | Intel Centrino Wireless-N 1000 | US keyboard with Euro | 320G 7200 RPM Seagate HDD

Offline

#10 2012-11-17 03:15:20

joelsauce
Member
Registered: 2012-11-17
Posts: 4

Re: During Installation, System Won't "Boot the kernel"

Awesome. Thank you for the good information, cfr.

I'm doing the install now off of the CD I burned.  I just finished dd'ing an older iso of Arch to the USB drive I was using - that was going to be my next step!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB