You are not logged in.

#1 2004-01-07 17:54:35

esel
Member
From: Norway
Registered: 2003-11-14
Posts: 20

No modules loaded after upgrade

It seems everytime I use pacman something goes horribly wrong smile

Did a "pacman -Syu" today, which installed module-init-tools (or something like that). Then I ran lilo (don't know why, just did it because that's what I forgot to do last time) and rebooted.

Now no modules are loaded, and modprobe, lsmod, etc. doesn't exist.
This means, of course, no network and sound, which is kind of uncool.

What did I forget this time?

Offline

#2 2004-01-07 20:16:55

dp
Member
From: Zürich, Switzerland
Registered: 2003-05-27
Posts: 3,363
Website

Re: No modules loaded after upgrade

this is the most humourous post i ever read in this forum :-) the funniest thing is: all you say has a certain truth in it  ---  "... is kind of uncool" :-)

... ok: let's help, because you have no network and sound ... what is for sure "uncool"


maybe  module-init-tools are not installed well ... because modprobe lsmod ... are part of it

-> try reinstalling it:

pacman -S module-init-tools

... you will not need network, because it should still be in the cache

this maybe can bring back things working

-> what kernel do you use?

uname -r

for more info

-> run depmod

depmod

to bring modules dependend if somehting's changed

-> look in /etc/modules.conf .. maybe it is a empty one, and your working one is in /etc/modules.conf.pacsave


The impossible missions are the only ones which succeed.

Offline

#3 2004-01-07 20:54:55

esel
Member
From: Norway
Registered: 2003-11-14
Posts: 20

Re: No modules loaded after upgrade

Thank you!

I forgot the "depmod" I guess... I should write a list of things to do after upgrades, to prevent all the screw-ups :?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB