You are not logged in.

#1 2012-11-16 18:56:59

schmidtbag
Member
From: MA, USA
Registered: 2011-02-08
Posts: 296
Website

UT2004 and libts *SOLVED*

I'm trying to play UT2004 (64 bit) which works fine in Debian but in Arch I get the error:

./ut2004-bin-linux-amd64: error while loading shared libraries: libts-0.0.so.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

The weird thing is, my Debian setup doesn't have that library either, at least not in /lib, /usr/lib, or /usr/lib32.  What's more weird is this is a touchscreen library, and I'm not sure why UT would want such a thing in the first place.

I tried installing tslib from yaourt but it fails to install due to some compile error - I get the impression such a library isn't maintained often.  Any ideas?  I've considered just "faking" the library but I'm not sure if that'll fool the game or if it might cause problems.

Last edited by schmidtbag (2012-11-17 16:18:01)


My Arch Setup:
4.5GHz FX-6300 (on an AM3 board), 6GB of RAM, R9 290, ADATA SP900 64GB SSD

Offline

#2 2012-11-16 19:30:43

brebs
Member
Registered: 2007-04-03
Posts: 3,414

Re: UT2004 and libts *SOLVED*

That's new. I recommend you run findbrokenpkgs, to check your system. Something weird is pulling in that lib.

Offline

#3 2012-11-16 20:23:33

schmidtbag
Member
From: MA, USA
Registered: 2011-02-08
Posts: 296
Website

Re: UT2004 and libts *SOLVED*

I'm not sure that program is going to help solve this problem, it says I need to reinstall "avahi boost-libs flac gimp hplip hpoj iproute2 jack kdenetwork-krdc libcanberra libreoffice-common libreoffice-writer librsvg lm_sensors opera-next python2-pyqt qt systemd telepathy-qt vlc" and they're all working fine.  In fact some of them (such as hplip and hpoj) were the last things I installed.


My Arch Setup:
4.5GHz FX-6300 (on an AM3 board), 6GB of RAM, R9 290, ADATA SP900 64GB SSD

Offline

#4 2012-11-16 20:30:35

brebs
Member
Registered: 2007-04-03
Posts: 3,414

Re: UT2004 and libts *SOLVED*

Check jack and libcanberra - sound-related, and UT2004 uses sound.

Offline

#5 2012-11-16 21:28:41

schmidtbag
Member
From: MA, USA
Registered: 2011-02-08
Posts: 296
Website

Re: UT2004 and libts *SOLVED*

Still didn't fix the problem, and I didn't expect it would either.  libts is for touchscreens, so this is supposedly an input related problem.  On that note, I get compile errors with tslib and xf86-input-evtouch from the AUR.  xf86-input-elographics can successfully install but it doesn't fix the problem.

Last edited by schmidtbag (2012-11-16 21:31:21)


My Arch Setup:
4.5GHz FX-6300 (on an AM3 board), 6GB of RAM, R9 290, ADATA SP900 64GB SSD

Offline

#6 2012-11-16 21:43:37

brebs
Member
Registered: 2007-04-03
Posts: 3,414

Re: UT2004 and libts *SOLVED*

Didn't findbrokenpkgs mention libts at all, in its output?

You can also try e.g. the quick & dirty:

ldd /usr/lib/* 2>&1 | grep libts

Offline

#7 2012-11-16 21:46:34

schmidtbag
Member
From: MA, USA
Registered: 2011-02-08
Posts: 296
Website

Re: UT2004 and libts *SOLVED*

No, it didn't, and I don't see why it would either.  The command you suggested outputs nothing too.


My Arch Setup:
4.5GHz FX-6300 (on an AM3 board), 6GB of RAM, R9 290, ADATA SP900 64GB SSD

Offline

#8 2012-11-17 16:17:42

schmidtbag
Member
From: MA, USA
Registered: 2011-02-08
Posts: 296
Website

Re: UT2004 and libts *SOLVED*

So I managed to fix the problem.  Here's what I did:

STEP 1:
Download the debian package for libts:
http://packages.debian.org/sid/libts-0.0-0

STEP 2:
Extract the "data.tar.gz" archive inside the .deb package

STEP 3:
Place the contents to the corresponding folders

STEP 4:
Make a symlink of the libts-0.0.so.0.1.1 to /usr/lib
.

And that's it.  I've found the audio doesn't work either but that's just simply because I'm missing openAL, which I'll get to installing right now.


My Arch Setup:
4.5GHz FX-6300 (on an AM3 board), 6GB of RAM, R9 290, ADATA SP900 64GB SSD

Offline

#9 2012-11-17 16:26:24

brebs
Member
Registered: 2007-04-03
Posts: 3,414

Re: UT2004 and libts *SOLVED*

You didn't figure out where that dep comes from? And calling this "solved"? Come on.

Offline

#10 2012-11-17 17:15:55

schmidtbag
Member
From: MA, USA
Registered: 2011-02-08
Posts: 296
Website

Re: UT2004 and libts *SOLVED*

I don't think you understood my initial question - the dep is from the game itself.  When I run the game, it asks for that library - it has nothing to do with any other programs I have installed.  Even if it did relate to other programs, why should I care?  Its only a few KB and the debian version worked fine.

Your reasoning for considering this unsolved doesn't make sense to me.  For example, lets say I got a new car and it won't start up.  The only thing missing from it is the rear seat cupholder, which I don't care about because nobody sits back there.  But for some reason, adding the cupholder makes the ignition work.  It shouldn't affect the car from starting up, but it does.  The cupholder should have nothing to do with a problem outside of the car as well.  So while I don't understand why it works, it does, and that's all I care about for something that has nearly no impact.  The game is largely input based, so while a touchscreen makes no sense for a FPS, maybe the game actually has  a special feature for one that I'm not aware of.  It is one of the only PC FPSs I'm aware of that has gamepad support, with rumble so maybe touchscreen support isn't as crazy as I may think it is.

Last edited by schmidtbag (2012-11-17 17:18:16)


My Arch Setup:
4.5GHz FX-6300 (on an AM3 board), 6GB of RAM, R9 290, ADATA SP900 64GB SSD

Offline

#11 2012-11-17 18:06:40

brebs
Member
Registered: 2007-04-03
Posts: 3,414

Re: UT2004 and libts *SOLVED*

I expect you've got ut2004/System/libSDL-1.2.so.0 which was compiled with tslib. Which is surprising, it's best as a symlink to /usr/lib/libSDL-1.2.so.0

Where did your ut2004/System/libSDL-1.2.so.0 come from?

Instead of thinking up car analogies, just google it.

Offline

#12 2012-11-17 20:54:26

schmidtbag
Member
From: MA, USA
Registered: 2011-02-08
Posts: 296
Website

Re: UT2004 and libts *SOLVED*

I believe UT comes with libSDL, and if not, the libsdl I have didn't come with libts.  Also I did google search it and there's very little info on libts, i basically just got enough info to know what the TS meant.


My Arch Setup:
4.5GHz FX-6300 (on an AM3 board), 6GB of RAM, R9 290, ADATA SP900 64GB SSD

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB