You are not logged in.

#1 2012-11-16 18:45:19

r0b0t
Member
From: /tmp
Registered: 2009-05-24
Posts: 345

[Solved] Not able to start any GUI application after a while

Hi,

I have this crazy issue which never happened before,

[ssss@localhost]$ opera
No protocol specified
opera: cannot connect to X server :0. Error: Resource temporarily unavailable
[ssss@localhost]$ firefox
No protocol specified
No protocol specified
Error: cannot open display: :0
[ssss@localhost]$ chromium 
No protocol specified

(chromium:2576): Gtk-WARNING **: cannot open display: :0
[ssss@localhost]$ terminator
No protocol specified
/usr/lib/python2.7/site-packages/gtk-2.0/gtk/__init__.py:57: GtkWarning: could not open display
  warnings.warn(str(e), _gtk.Warning)
You need to run terminator in an X environment. Make sure $DISPLAY is properly set
[ssss@localhost]$ claws-mail 
No protocol specified

(claws-mail:2592): Gtk-WARNING **: cannot open display: :0

Now I'm currently on firefox and the graphical programs which I opened before they work as they should but I cannot open a new one, and if I close the open they are not able to connect to X.

sssss   1529  0.0  0.0  15872   880 tty1     S+   20:27   0:00 xinit /home/sssss/.xinitrc -- /etc/X11/xinit/xserverrc :0 -auth /tmp/serverauth.tuHk8KdrmB

a bit from my tail -f  (currently)

$ tail -f /var/log/Xorg.0.log
[    24.198] (**) HP WMI hotkeys: always reports core events
[    24.198] (**) evdev: HP WMI hotkeys: Device: "/dev/input/event7"
[    24.198] (--) evdev: HP WMI hotkeys: Vendor 0 Product 0
[    24.198] (--) evdev: HP WMI hotkeys: Found keys
[    24.198] (II) evdev: HP WMI hotkeys: Configuring as keyboard
[    24.198] (**) Option "config_info" "udev:/sys/devices/virtual/input/input7/event7"
[    24.198] (II) XINPUT: Adding extended input device "HP WMI hotkeys" (type: KEYBOARD, id 13)
[    24.198] (**) Option "xkb_rules" "evdev"
[    24.199] (**) Option "xkb_model" "hpzt11xx"

From pstree -ap

  |-gvfsd-trash,1798 --spawner :1.4 /org/gtk/gvfs/exec_spaw/0
  |       `-startx,1512 /usr/bin/startx
  |           `-xinit,1529 /home/sssss/.xinitrc -- /etc/X11/xinit/xserverrc :0 -auth /tmp/serverauth.tuHk8KdrmB
  |               |-.xinitrc,1534 /home/sssss/.xinitrc
  |               |   |-.xinitrc,1552 /home/sssss/.xinitrc
  |               |   |-lxpanel,1551
  |               |   |   `-{lxpanel},1642
  |               |   |-openbox,1545 --startup /usr/lib/openbox/openbox-autostart OPENBOX
  |               |   `-qxkb,1549
  |               |       `-{qxkb},1561

after restart I see however :
  |               `-X,1543 -nolisten tcp :0 -auth /tmp/serverauth.4nwwrf1wMz vt1
until it goes way again.

Any idea of what is happening or how to sovle this?

Last edited by r0b0t (2012-11-24 02:29:39)

Offline

#2 2012-11-17 10:16:31

r0b0t
Member
From: /tmp
Registered: 2009-05-24
Posts: 345

Re: [Solved] Not able to start any GUI application after a while

So after the problem X is not really running but everything else (the lock file, etc) are just as it is running, so I suppose that it's crashing for some reason, but the log doesn't say anything, how can I understand why it is crashing, can I put any debugger listening on it? I suppose yes, but how?

Please help,

thanks


EDIT:

happening again ,
but I see the process is running;
root      1621  5.6  0.5 134940 21708 ?        S<s  13:12   6:04 /usr/bin/X -nolisten tcp :0 -auth /tmp/serverauth.a4kXWggLKv vt1
anybody? what's happening?

Last edited by r0b0t (2012-11-17 12:01:46)

Offline

#3 2012-11-17 19:08:29

moetunes
Member
From: A comfortable couch
Registered: 2010-10-09
Posts: 1,024

Re: [Solved] Not able to start any GUI application after a while

Seems like a weird thing to be happening.

Why is localhost in your PS1 ?
Is your issue related to something you're doing over the network?
When the apps you are starting can't find the display what does

echo $DISPLAY

return?


You're just jealous because the voices only talk to me.

Offline

#4 2012-11-19 12:25:51

r0b0t
Member
From: /tmp
Registered: 2009-05-24
Posts: 345

Re: [Solved] Not able to start any GUI application after a while

Why is localhost in your PS1 ?

Don't understand, however this is my PS1:
$ echo $PS1
[\u@\h \W]\$
it's user@hostname (which is standard no)?

$ echo $DISPLAY
:0

this didn't change during and before the issue.


The problem happens really randomly, until now I didn't understand on what is connected, however I use allot the network, VPN / voip, mail, browsing, etc..
Is there anything not normal with PS1?

Searching on google I found that normally this happens when you are logged in to another box and are trying to execute graphical application on the remote place but in this case I'm in my laptop.

Offline

#5 2012-11-21 02:25:09

moetunes
Member
From: A comfortable couch
Registered: 2010-10-09
Posts: 1,024

Re: [Solved] Not able to start any GUI application after a while

I asked about localhost in your PS1 because you show localhost in your PS1

r0b0t wrote:

[ssss@localhost]$ opera

Is localhost the hostname for that computer?

If you aren't trying to open applications over the network and $DISPLAY is always :0 it is a strange problem for sure.


You're just jealous because the voices only talk to me.

Offline

#6 2012-11-21 09:25:37

r0b0t
Member
From: /tmp
Registered: 2009-05-24
Posts: 345

Re: [Solved] Not able to start any GUI application after a while

moetunes wrote:

I asked about localhost in your PS1 because you show localhost in your PS1

r0b0t wrote:

[ssss@localhost]$ opera

Is localhost the hostname for that computer?

If you aren't trying to open applications over the network and $DISPLAY is always :0 it is a strange problem for sure.


yes it's localhost

$ cat /etc/hostname
localhost

and no, I just open the applications normally as always did before without any problem, is it as after some "thing" happens the applications cannot detect any X server running but the X is indeed running.
I notice however that I'm on tty1 with the graphic, and normally I remember running on tty7 , maybe have something to do with it?

Offline

#7 2012-11-21 18:42:07

moetunes
Member
From: A comfortable couch
Registered: 2010-10-09
Posts: 1,024

Re: [Solved] Not able to start any GUI application after a while

I'm pretty sure the problem happens because you have localhost as the hostname for the computer. Change it to something different and see if the issue happens again.
You can check this the next time it happens if your terminal has tabs, open a new tab and the hostname will be different in your PS1.

Edit: X starting on tty1 is standard now with systemd and logind so it won't be that.

Last edited by moetunes (2012-11-21 18:51:02)


You're just jealous because the voices only talk to me.

Offline

#8 2012-11-23 10:24:25

r0b0t
Member
From: /tmp
Registered: 2009-05-24
Posts: 345

Re: [Solved] Not able to start any GUI application after a while

I set it with hostnamectl set-hostname "myhostname" after setting it also on /etc/hostname and yes it changed , I also hope this will fix it as I'ts quite a pain rebooting everytime this happens..
thanks for yor help.

Offline

#9 2012-11-23 19:14:25

r0b0t
Member
From: /tmp
Registered: 2009-05-24
Posts: 345

Re: [Solved] Not able to start any GUI application after a while

Until now didn't happen, I will wait some more days and will set this a solved if it is, but only one thing, I'm not understanding how the hostname could conflict this?

Offline

#10 2012-11-24 00:06:13

moetunes
Member
From: A comfortable couch
Registered: 2010-10-09
Posts: 1,024

Re: [Solved] Not able to start any GUI application after a while

Short answer :
If you have a look at /etc/hosts you should see localhost already defined. Some app that you use connects to that localhost and you lose the connection between the xserver and your localhost, which means new apps can't connect.

HTH


You're just jealous because the voices only talk to me.

Offline

#11 2012-11-24 02:31:27

r0b0t
Member
From: /tmp
Registered: 2009-05-24
Posts: 345

Re: [Solved] Not able to start any GUI application after a while

Thanks for the help, I marked the thread as solved.

Offline

#12 2012-12-03 01:47:41

ike
Member
Registered: 2012-10-08
Posts: 6

Re: [Solved] Not able to start any GUI application after a while

Hi there!

Is this issue really resolved for you? I'm experiencing the exact same problem, and it get's worse when I run
xscreensaver. When I resume from suspend I can see my screensaver and apparently it's trying to spawn the
screenlock prompt box, but failing, so it justs turns black... after that I'm stuck doing a hard reset.
Sometimes I just get the problem of not beeing able to spawn new windows in which case I have to kill X
(or quit my window manager so slim can restart).
I have set up my hostname correctly and I'm running out of ideas what could be the problem.

Should I create a new thread concerning this is one is marked as [SOLVED]?

cheers

Offline

#13 2012-12-04 03:20:27

moetunes
Member
From: A comfortable couch
Registered: 2010-10-09
Posts: 1,024

Re: [Solved] Not able to start any GUI application after a while

You should start a new thread as it seems your issue is resuming from suspend not a changing hostname.
My guess is you have two things trying to do suspend/resume, systemd and the screensaver.


You're just jealous because the voices only talk to me.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB