You are not logged in.

#1 2012-11-17 18:22:28

agent_smith
Member
Registered: 2012-11-10
Posts: 13

NetworkManager isn't working properly in E17 [SOLVED]

I know NetworkManager is functional and it works perfectly in LXDE, but in E17 it doesn't seem to have any graphical environment.  The only one it shows is the one for Econnman which I can't switch to because some of the package build dependencies failed.  I've already installed the gnome icons and networkmanager applet.  Any advisories on how to have a functional user interface for NetworkManager?

Thanks!

Last edited by agent_smith (2012-11-18 18:00:02)

Offline

#2 2012-11-17 19:20:10

bgc1954
Member
From: Edmonton, AB, Canada
Registered: 2006-03-14
Posts: 1,119

Re: NetworkManager isn't working properly in E17 [SOLVED]

You might try making a personal application launcher for networkmanager.  Go to settings-> Apps->Personal Application Launcher.  That will create a .desktop file in ~/.local/share/applications and you'll then be able to add it to your favorites, startup, or whatever.


Time is a great teacher, but unfortunately it kills all its pupils ... - Louis Hector Berlioz

Offline

#3 2012-11-17 19:34:16

Scimmia
Bug Wrangler
Registered: 2012-09-01
Posts: 4,797

Re: NetworkManager isn't working properly in E17 [SOLVED]

You'll also need to add a systray to one of your shelves to see the applet icon.

Offline

#4 2012-11-17 19:40:17

Scimmia
Bug Wrangler
Registered: 2012-09-01
Posts: 4,797

Re: NetworkManager isn't working properly in E17 [SOLVED]

agent_smith, I'm not going to advise you to switch to Econnman, but as the package maintainer for it, what failed? I recently added a missing dep to python2-e_dbus, but if something else is failing, I would like to know about it.

Offline

#5 2012-11-18 03:49:49

agent_smith
Member
Registered: 2012-11-10
Posts: 13

Re: NetworkManager isn't working properly in E17 [SOLVED]

Scimmia wrote:

agent_smith, I'm not going to advise you to switch to Econnman, but as the package maintainer for it, what failed? I recently added a missing dep to python2-e_dbus, but if something else is failing, I would like to know about it.

I had problems with python2-evas-svn.  When I was making the package, it seemed tobe working fine until I got to a certain part when it lists python-evas 1.7.0 and gives me a configuration options summary.  It proceded to generate evas/evas.c_evas.c, it enters the directory, it gives me

error: 'EVAS_CALLBACK_DEVICE_CHANGED' undeclared

A few lines similar to that above, and then it says

make[1]: *** [c_evas_la-evas.c_evas.lo] Error 1
make: *** [all] Error 2
==> ERROR: A failure occured in build().
         Aborting...

Offline

#6 2012-11-18 04:31:57

agent_smith
Member
Registered: 2012-11-10
Posts: 13

Re: NetworkManager isn't working properly in E17 [SOLVED]

bgc1954 wrote:

You might try making a personal application launcher for networkmanager.  Go to settings-> Apps->Personal Application Launcher.  That will create a .desktop file in ~/.local/share/applications and you'll then be able to add it to your favorites, startup, or whatever.

Sorry for the dumb question, but which file/application would I link it to?

Offline

#7 2012-11-18 06:13:28

Scimmia
Bug Wrangler
Registered: 2012-09-01
Posts: 4,797

Re: NetworkManager isn't working properly in E17 [SOLVED]

agent_smith, all I can think of for that error is that Evas needed updated. The binary packages from Community are pretty out of date and I haven't tried it with that build, only with 1.7.1 and the latest SVN.

As far as starting nm-applet, you shouldn't need to make a personal application launcher, just go to Setting -> Apps -> Startup Applications and enable "Network" on the System tab.

Offline

#8 2012-11-18 16:32:50

agent_smith
Member
Registered: 2012-11-10
Posts: 13

Re: NetworkManager isn't working properly in E17 [SOLVED]

It turns out I already have.  It works great with ethernet, but it doesn't allow me to search wifi networks.

Offline

#9 2012-11-18 16:37:29

bgc1954
Member
From: Edmonton, AB, Canada
Registered: 2006-03-14
Posts: 1,119

Re: NetworkManager isn't working properly in E17 [SOLVED]

like I said, I don't use e17 anymore but you might still need to make a personal app launcher and link it to nm-applet or try something else like wicd.  I'm not sure what "Network" for e17 uses or if nm-applet works the same in e17--it should.  If you're trying to go lightweight--ie. using e17 as de--then I'm wondering why you'd choose NetworkManager as it pulls in alot of gnome deps.

Last edited by bgc1954 (2012-11-18 16:43:33)


Time is a great teacher, but unfortunately it kills all its pupils ... - Louis Hector Berlioz

Offline

#10 2012-11-18 17:52:30

agent_smith
Member
Registered: 2012-11-10
Posts: 13

Re: NetworkManager isn't working properly in E17 [SOLVED]

Wicd works in E17.  I'm going to make the switch.  Thanks for all the help.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB