You are not logged in.

#1 2012-11-17 23:13:57

someone69
Member
Registered: 2012-11-07
Posts: 24

Problem with D-bus not working [SOLVED]

Hi,
I just installed arch on a computer with gnome and X11 but when I type in "startx" the computer starts X11, loads the files(the HDD activity LED is on) but nothing comes up on the screen. I think it has something to do with the D-bus not being started because when I installed the gnome-extra package there was an error message saying ; "GConf-WARNIG **:Client failed to connect to D-BUS daemon: Unable to autolaunch a dbus daemon without a $DISPLAY for X11" . I checked the ".xinitrc" file and it looks to be identical to the one in the article in D-bus on the archwiki. please help!

Last edited by someone69 (2013-06-13 19:41:54)

Offline

#2 2012-11-18 01:18:40

cfr
Member
From: Cymru
Registered: 2011-11-27
Posts: 5,662

Re: Problem with D-bus not working [SOLVED]

Did you follow the Beginners' Guide?

If so, I assume you tested X and it worked with twm?


How To Ask Questions The Smart Way | Help Vampires

Arch Linux | x86_64 | GPT | EFI boot | grub2 | systemd | LVM2 on LUKS
Lenovo x121e | Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-2367M CPU @ 1.40GHz GenuineIntel | Intel Centrino Wireless-N 1000 | US keyboard with Euro | 320G 7200 RPM Seagate HDD

Offline

#3 2012-11-18 07:57:40

someone69
Member
Registered: 2012-11-07
Posts: 24

Re: Problem with D-bus not working [SOLVED]

I did follow the beginners' guide and I did use twm but X doesn't work. when i start X it makes the HDD go crazy but nothing comes up on the screen.
when I type "reboot" at that screen the computer simply reboots.

Last edited by someone69 (2012-11-18 08:07:06)

Offline

#4 2012-11-18 08:13:30

someone69
Member
Registered: 2012-11-07
Posts: 24

Re: Problem with D-bus not working [SOLVED]

what does xterm do? I didn't manage to install it at first so I started X without it. Is it why X doesn't work? I installed it afterwards and X didn't do anything differently.

Offline

#5 2012-11-18 08:51:54

Jean
Member
Registered: 2012-11-17
Posts: 24

Re: Problem with D-bus not working [SOLVED]

someone69 wrote:

when i start X it makes the HDD go crazy but nothing comes up on the screen.

What you mean?
post the output of

cat /var/log/Xorg.0.log

Offline

#6 2012-11-18 09:41:02

someone69
Member
Registered: 2012-11-07
Posts: 24

Re: Problem with D-bus not working [SOLVED]

I mean that when I start X, the HDD starts loading files, the console disappears and the screen stays black.

the cat /var/log/Xorg.0.log displays an incredible huge amount of stuff that zips through the screen. It says at the end " [ 789.402] (WW) xf86CloseConsole: Input/output error
                                                                                                                                                                           [ 789.403] (WW) xf86CloseConsole: VT_GETMODE failed: Input/output error"
Farther down it says : "Fatal server error:
                                  [ 789.403] xf86CloseConsole: VT_ACTIVATE failed: Input/output error

Last edited by someone69 (2012-11-18 09:53:49)

Offline

#7 2012-11-18 10:14:52

Jean
Member
Registered: 2012-11-17
Posts: 24

Re: Problem with D-bus not working [SOLVED]

What says:

lspci | grep VGA

?

Last edited by Jean (2012-11-18 10:16:55)

Offline

#8 2012-11-18 10:20:48

someone69
Member
Registered: 2012-11-07
Posts: 24

Re: Problem with D-bus not working [SOLVED]

It says "00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Atom Processer D4xx/D5xx/N4xx/N5xx Integrated Graphics Controller (rev02)"

Offline

#9 2012-11-18 10:32:43

Jean
Member
Registered: 2012-11-17
Posts: 24

Re: Problem with D-bus not working [SOLVED]

Do you installed your video driver? Something like this

pacman -S xf86-video-intel

Last edited by Jean (2012-11-18 10:34:57)

Offline

#10 2012-11-18 10:38:22

someone69
Member
Registered: 2012-11-07
Posts: 24

Re: Problem with D-bus not working [SOLVED]

I installed the xf86-video-vesa dirver

Offline

#11 2012-11-18 10:41:39

Jean
Member
Registered: 2012-11-17
Posts: 24

Re: Problem with D-bus not working [SOLVED]

Ok, try install

pacman -S xf86-video-intel

Offline

#12 2012-11-18 10:47:07

someone69
Member
Registered: 2012-11-07
Posts: 24

Re: Problem with D-bus not working [SOLVED]

Installed it. should I change any configuration file to make it work?

Last edited by someone69 (2012-11-18 10:47:21)

Offline

#13 2012-11-18 10:49:24

Jean
Member
Registered: 2012-11-17
Posts: 24

Re: Problem with D-bus not working [SOLVED]

No.
Post output of

lspci -k |grep VGA -A 2

Offline

#14 2012-11-18 10:53:46

someone69
Member
Registered: 2012-11-07
Posts: 24

Re: Problem with D-bus not working [SOLVED]

It outputs : "00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Atom Processer D4xx/D5xx/N4xx/N5xx Integrated Graphics Controller (rev02)
                  Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Device 0349
                  Kernel driver in use: i915"

Offline

#15 2012-11-18 10:55:16

someone69
Member
Registered: 2012-11-07
Posts: 24

Re: Problem with D-bus not working [SOLVED]

Can I launch X now?

Offline

#16 2012-11-18 10:57:43

Jean
Member
Registered: 2012-11-17
Posts: 24

Re: Problem with D-bus not working [SOLVED]

Yes, you can try

Offline

#17 2012-11-18 11:03:27

someone69
Member
Registered: 2012-11-07
Posts: 24

Re: Problem with D-bus not working [SOLVED]

It works!!! thank you very much!
ça marche!! Merci infiniment!!

Offline

#18 2012-11-18 11:19:44

someone69
Member
Registered: 2012-11-07
Posts: 24

Re: Problem with D-bus not working [SOLVED]

X works now, but gnome doesn't. It boots up, asks you to log in, but then, when you press enter, the computer goes back to console mode with a blinking "_" that doesn't let you do anything. the only way to get out of this is to press ctr

when I type in gdm it starts displaying these error messages again :  " [ 789.402] (WW) xf86CloseConsole: Input/output error
                                                                                                      [ 789.403] (WW) xf86CloseConsole: VT_GETMODE failed: Input/output error"
                                                                     
                                                                                                      Fatal server error:
                                                                                                      [ 789.403] xf86CloseConsole: VT_ACTIVATE failed: Input/output error

Offline

#19 2012-11-18 11:38:23

Jean
Member
Registered: 2012-11-17
Posts: 24

Re: Problem with D-bus not working [SOLVED]

Try to remove video driver using 

pacman -R xf86-video-intel

and install this driver

pacman -S xf86-video-i740

After this, you can try start gnome, if it doesn't work - please, post output of

lspci -k |grep VGA -A 2

Offline

#20 2012-11-18 12:00:11

someone69
Member
Registered: 2012-11-07
Posts: 24

Re: Problem with D-bus not working [SOLVED]

it outputs :   00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Atom Processer D4xx/D5xx/N4xx/N5xx Integrated Graphics Controller (rev02)
                  Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Device 0349
                  Kernel driver in use: i915

Offline

#21 2012-11-18 12:16:35

Jean
Member
Registered: 2012-11-17
Posts: 24

Re: Problem with D-bus not working [SOLVED]

Are you restarted before tried run gdm? Try, if not. After this - 

lspci -k |grep VGA -A 2

Offline

#22 2012-11-18 13:12:52

someone69
Member
Registered: 2012-11-07
Posts: 24

Re: Problem with D-bus not working [SOLVED]

yes I did restart and the message above was done after a restart.

Offline

#23 2012-11-18 17:17:56

someone69
Member
Registered: 2012-11-07
Posts: 24

Re: Problem with D-bus not working [SOLVED]

I just uninstalled xf86-video-i740 and reinstalled xg86-video-intel and gnome seems to work. but when I try to install the gnome-extra package, I get the "GConf-WARNIG **:Client failed to connect to D-BUS daemon: Unable to autolaunch a dbus daemon without a $DISPLAY for X11" error. I think there's still something wrong with d-bus.

Offline

#24 2012-11-18 20:04:11

cfr
Member
From: Cymru
Registered: 2011-11-27
Posts: 5,662

Re: Problem with D-bus not working [SOLVED]

Did you follow the wiki instructions for:
(1) intel
(2) gnome?

What does

systemctl status dbus.service

give?

EDIT: I just realised you get the error when you try to install a package. Why would pacman want X? Can you give the exact command you use to try to install the package? Does the install succeed?

Last edited by cfr (2012-11-18 20:05:53)


How To Ask Questions The Smart Way | Help Vampires

Arch Linux | x86_64 | GPT | EFI boot | grub2 | systemd | LVM2 on LUKS
Lenovo x121e | Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-2367M CPU @ 1.40GHz GenuineIntel | Intel Centrino Wireless-N 1000 | US keyboard with Euro | 320G 7200 RPM Seagate HDD

Offline

#25 2012-11-18 21:01:13

someone69
Member
Registered: 2012-11-07
Posts: 24

Re: Problem with D-bus not working [SOLVED]

I didn't follow the wiki instruction for either intel or gnome and the command you gave outputs : Loaded: loaded (/usr/lib/systemd/dbus.service; static)
                                                                                                                                         Active: active (running) since Sun, 2012-11-18 21:40:13; 4min 1s ago
                                                                                                                                    Main PID: 242 (dbus-daemon)
                                                                                                                                         CGroup: name=systemd:/system/dbus.service
                                                                                                                                                      └ 242 /usr/bin/dbus-daemon --system --address=systemd: --nofork --nopidfile --systemd-activation


the exact command I used to install the package is : "pacman -S gnome-extra". The installation does complete and at the end, it gives no error messages. I have a feeling that my screen isn't configured properly in the X11 config file.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB