You are not logged in.

#1 2005-08-20 02:42:19

tuxman
Member
From: Ensenada Mexico
Registered: 2005-08-12
Posts: 51

hotplug daemon wont load pciehp

hi,
I have installed arch on 2 different box, a laptop and a PC.
in both cases when it loads the kernel i get a message like:
starting hoplug daemon
unable to load pciehp
missing kernel or user mode drive

the loading hangs for a few seconds and follows normally.
it just bothers me the hanging time so Id like to know how to fix this problem.

thanks


thanks

tuxman

Offline

#2 2005-08-20 02:49:30

Snowman
Developer/Forum Fellow
From: Montreal, Canada
Registered: 2004-08-20
Posts: 5,212

Re: hotplug daemon wont load pciehp

You can add
pciehp
to /etc/hotplug/blacklist
Hotplug won't try to load it so it won't hang anymore.

Offline

#3 2005-08-20 02:52:17

T-Dawg
Forum Fellow
From: Wilmington, NC
Registered: 2005-01-29
Posts: 2,734

Re: hotplug daemon wont load pciehp

pciehp is for pci hotpluging (changing cards when comp is running). Most motherboards don't support it.
You can bypass it by adding that module to /etc/hotplug/blacklist.

Offline

#4 2005-08-20 02:54:53

tuxman
Member
From: Ensenada Mexico
Registered: 2005-08-12
Posts: 51

Re: hotplug daemon wont load pciehp

done, thanks, that was FAST!


thanks

tuxman

Offline

#5 2005-10-21 00:13:47

RaLX
Member
Registered: 2005-10-17
Posts: 54

Re: hotplug daemon wont load pciehp

I've noticed that in my case this problem happens only when I install Arch with ReiserFS and not when I install it with ext3. Someone knows why this happens if that module doesn't have any relation with filesystem (at least in appearance).

PS: By the way, I noticed that after updating (just after installing) the problem has gone without blacklistin the module.

Offline

#6 2005-10-21 11:37:04

tony
Member
Registered: 2004-10-11
Posts: 108

Re: hotplug daemon wont load pciehp

No - filesystem  doesn't have any influence on this(at least in my computer). I tried to install with many different filesystems during the last month and had always the same pciehp bug. Didn't matter ftp or ISO install - was same.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB