You are not logged in.

#1 2012-11-19 03:25:50

jiig
Member
Registered: 2012-11-19
Posts: 6

dhcpcd@eth1 fails to load half the time.

Setting an install on my desktop having problems with systemd

I ran systemctl enable dhcpcp@eth1.service and I can connect to the internet just fine.
Then I installed SLiM and ran systemctl enable slim.service
After rebooting i couldn't connect to the network
I disabled slim.service and rebooted, connected with out a problem.

Let me know if there is any information i need to provide.

EDIT: Figure out the problem. Router was acting up, no problem with systemd

EDIT 2: Not a router problem apparently. If I login using SLiM I lose my connection but if I go directly to console using 'console' in the slim username field I have a connection.

EDIT 3: Changed title to remove the slim stuff, not part of the problem.

Last edited by jiig (2012-11-20 18:15:20)

Offline

#2 2012-11-19 04:17:14

David Batson
Member
Registered: 2011-10-13
Posts: 640

Re: dhcpcd@eth1 fails to load half the time.

No problem here using SLiM and XFCE.

What do you get after logging into SLiM with the following command in terminal? [substitute your user id for youruserid]

$ loginctl show-user youruserid
UID=1000
GID=100
Name=youruserid
Timestamp=Sun, 2012-11-18 18:18:50 MST
TimestampMonotonic=22044482
RuntimePath=/run/user/1000
DefaultControlGroup=name=systemd:/user/youruserid
Display=1
State=active
Sessions=2 1
IdleHint=no
IdleSinceHint=0
IdleSinceHintMonotonic=0 

Offline

#3 2012-11-19 04:29:08

jiig
Member
Registered: 2012-11-19
Posts: 6

Re: dhcpcd@eth1 fails to load half the time.

UID=1000
GID=100
Name=jiig
Timestamp=Sun, 2012-11-18 14:20:51 MST
TimestampMonotonic=17541872
RuntimePath=/run/user/1000
DefaultControlGroup=name=systemd:/user/jiig
Display=1
State=active
Sessions=1
IdleHint=no
IdleSinceHint=0
IdleSinceHintMonotonic=0

I am connected now though. Not sure why. Since the OP I removed the propreitary AMD drivers and installed the open source ones and switched from using awesomewm to dwm. Not sure if any of those would affect it.

Im gonna reboot and see if the problem persists after this post.
EDIT: Able to connect after reboot. Not sure what the problem was.

Last edited by jiig (2012-11-19 04:30:34)

Offline

#4 2012-11-19 07:40:44

kinleyd
Member
From: Thimphu, Bhutan
Registered: 2012-09-21
Posts: 112

Re: dhcpcd@eth1 fails to load half the time.

No problem here either - using slim and i3, on a pure systemd set up.

Offline

#5 2012-11-19 17:56:44

jiig
Member
Registered: 2012-11-19
Posts: 6

Re: dhcpcd@eth1 fails to load half the time.

I think I might've just messed up the install somewhere, cause my system-clock is off as well.
Ill do a reinstall and see if it fixes it.

Offline

#6 2012-11-19 21:17:21

root
Member
From: 127.0.0.1
Registered: 2012-04-13
Posts: 297

Re: dhcpcd@eth1 fails to load half the time.

Remember to take a look at the journal as it may offer valuable information.


\(o_X)/
                        'Cause I wanna be an Archy - An Archy in the UK // Sex Pistols

Offline

#7 2012-11-19 21:52:54

jiig
Member
Registered: 2012-11-19
Posts: 6

Re: dhcpcd@eth1 fails to load half the time.

systemctl enable dhcpcd@eth1.service was enabling dhcpcd@eth0
After chaning the alias in the dhcpcd@.service file to use eth1 the problem persists however it only appears some of the time after boot. Slim hasnt beein installed yet.

Disabled dhcpcd and am going to install and enable wicd and see if that works.

EDIT: Wicd couldn't find my wired network. Disabled it and restarted dhcpcd@eth1 it failed to start.
Wicd worked before restarting, enabling the service after disabling dhcpcd.
Haven't been able to get a connection since.

systemctl status dhcpcd@eth1.service:

dhcpcd@eth1.service - dhcpcd on eth1
   Loaded: loaded (/usr/lib/systemd/system/dhcpcd@.serive; enabled)
    Active: failed (Result: exit-code) since mon, 2012-11-19 07:56:29 MST; 59s ago
 Process: 470 ExecStart=/sbin/dhcpcd -A -q -w %I (code=exited, status=1/FAILURE)
  CGroup: name=systemd:/system/dhcpcd@.service/eth1

And here it is when it works on startup

dhcpcd@eth1.service - dhcpcd on eth1
	  Loaded: loaded (/usr/lib/systemd/system/dhcpcd@.service; enabled)
	  Active: active (running) since Mon, 2012-11-19 09:24:42 MST; 16min ago
	 Process: 263 ExecStart=/sbin/dhcpcd -A -q -w %I (code=exited, status=0/SUCCESS)
	Main PID: 303 (dhcpcd)
	  CGroup: name=systemd:/system/dhcpcd@.service/eth1
		  └ 303 n/a

Last edited by jiig (2012-11-19 23:42:41)

Offline

#8 2012-11-20 04:03:42

weirddan455
Member
Registered: 2012-04-15
Posts: 192

Re: dhcpcd@eth1 fails to load half the time.

I had a problem with dhcpcd sometimes starting before my network card module got loaded so about half the time it would work on boot and half the time not.

I fixed it by making a .conf file in /etc/modules-load.d with the name of the module.  In my case, it was r8169 and that's all that needs to go in there so for example:

echo r8169 > /etc/modules-load.d/realtek.conf

It doesn't matter what you call the file either.  It just has to end in .conf

Offline

#9 2012-11-20 05:20:24

jiig
Member
Registered: 2012-11-19
Posts: 6

Re: dhcpcd@eth1 fails to load half the time.

ran

echo 8139too > /etc/modules-load.d/realtek.conf

Problem still persists.

dmesg | grep 8139too:

[     5.844189] 8139too: 8139too Fast Ethernet driver 0.9.28
[     5.844783] 8193too 000:06:0a: eth0: RealTek RTL8139 at 0xffffc9000067e000, 74:ea:3a:a3:ed:33, IRQ 18

Im assuming its still trying to use eth0, but that port has been broken for a long time.

Offline

#10 2012-11-20 06:31:28

weirddan455
Member
Registered: 2012-04-15
Posts: 192

Re: dhcpcd@eth1 fails to load half the time.

So 8139too = eth0 =broken?  Then blacklist 8139too in /etc/modprobe.d/whateverfileyouwant.conf and put the good card in /etc/modules-load.d/realtek.conf

Offline

#11 2012-11-20 17:44:30

jiig
Member
Registered: 2012-11-19
Posts: 6

Re: dhcpcd@eth1 fails to load half the time.

eth1 uses 8139too, my eth0 uses forcedeth.
At least according to

lscpi -v

I'm not sure why 8139too is trying to load eth0

EDIT: I'll blacklist forcedeth and see if that works
EDIT 2: Didn't work. But 8139too is still taking about eth0 in dmesg

EDIT 3:
Retried using wicd which wasn't detecting my eth1 port. Plugged the network cable into eth0 and changed the preference in wicd to eth0 and it can detect that its there, just not connect.

EDIT 4: I swear this thing is switching the names of the ports on me. With the cable plugged into (what i assume is) eth1 I get a connection on wicd and 8139too saying that the eth0 link is up.

Last edited by jiig (2012-11-20 18:30:14)

Offline

#12 2012-11-21 01:53:26

mrawfull
Member
Registered: 2011-11-26
Posts: 24

Re: dhcpcd@eth1 fails to load half the time.

Yeah, sometimes my dhcpcd does not request IP address from the router during bootup. So I have to run:

sudo dhcpcd wlan0

It's kind of annoying.

Offline

#13 2012-11-21 04:12:28

kinleyd
Member
From: Thimphu, Bhutan
Registered: 2012-09-21
Posts: 112

Re: dhcpcd@eth1 fails to load half the time.

I've disabled dhcpcd but have a similar problem with netcfg - once in a while it doesn't load my profile and I have to manually do a 'sudo netcfg myprofile'. Not sure why that is, and  am guessing that it's got something to do with timing issues when booting up.

Offline

#14 2012-11-21 17:18:21

Radioactiveman
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2010-05-13
Posts: 376

Re: dhcpcd@eth1 fails to load half the time.

@kinleyd: I have had the same problem.
DCHP_TIMEOUT='30' in the netcfg profile seems to fix it for me.

Offline

#15 2012-11-21 19:37:41

techstone
Member
Registered: 2011-10-04
Posts: 2

Re: dhcpcd@eth1 fails to load half the time.

Had a similar issue on a new systemd-enabled install with dhcpcp@eth1.service. Searched the forum and found a reference to FS#30235 (https://bugs.archlinux.org/task/30235). A comment by a user at the bottom of the report indicates a workaround that worked for me.

Offline

#16 2012-11-22 05:17:48

kinleyd
Member
From: Thimphu, Bhutan
Registered: 2012-09-21
Posts: 112

Re: dhcpcd@eth1 fails to load half the time.

@Radioactiveman & @techstone, thanks, will try that out. Funny thing is that I've set mine to a static address (with an appropriate reservation for that address on the router), so I'm not sure what netcfg is looking for.

Last edited by kinleyd (2012-11-22 05:56:55)

Offline

#17 2012-11-22 12:26:26

Archer777
Member
Registered: 2012-06-12
Posts: 13

Re: dhcpcd@eth1 fails to load half the time.

kinleyd wrote:

I've disabled dhcpcd but have a similar problem with netcfg - once in a while it doesn't load my profile and I have to manually do a 'sudo netcfg myprofile'. Not sure why that is, and  am guessing that it's got something to do with timing issues when booting up.

Had a same problem, solved it by copying /lib/systemd/system/netcfg@.service to /etc/systemd/system/netcfg@.service and adding these two lines under [Service] section:

Restart=on-failure
RestartSec=5

For details:

man systemd.service

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB